C. W. Payne. 19th Feb. 1942. A. Erskine. 16th June 1942.

Tempy. Elect. Sub-Lts. to be Tempy. Elect. Lts.

with seny. as stated:—
J. W. Mitchell. 14th June 1942.
F. H. Ashworth. 25th Aug., 1942.

To be Tempy. Paymr. Sub-Lt.:— W. E. Diacono. 24th Aug. 1942.

Tempy. Sub-Lt. A. Greatorex transferred to Spec. Br. in rank of Tempy. Sub-Lt. (Sp.) with seny. of 15th Nov. 1940 and promtd. to Tempy. Lt. (Sp.) with seny. of 24th Aug. 1942.

Re-entered as Tempy. Lt. (Sp.) B. E. Porteous with seny. of 5th Aug. 1941.

Sub-Lt. A. MacC. Collie to be Lt. 23rd Feb. 1942.

Tempy. Actg. Lts. to be Tempy. Lts. with seny. as stated:-

J. R. K. Kingdon. 27th Oct. 1940. W. W. Brown. 8th Mar. 1941. A. C. Grammer. 12th Apr. 1941.

Tempy. Sub-Lts. (Sp.) to be Tempy. Lts. (Sp.) with seny. as stated.—

A. Craig. 19th June 1942.
C. T. Perry. 22nd July 1942.
R. L. Harris, 18th Aug. 1942.
R. H. T. Hockley. 21st Aug. 1942.

Commission Signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Essex.

Major (acting Brigadier) Richard Beale Rous Colvin, Monkhams Hall, Waltham Abbey, Essex, to be a Deputy Lieutenant.—Dated 28th August 1942.

India Office, 4th September, 1942.

The KING has approved the following promotions, appointments, retirements, etc.:

INDIAN ARMY.

Capts. to be Majs.
A. E. Glassco, 15th July 1942.
T. K. Merrett, 18th July 1942.

Emergency . Commissions.

2nd Lt. to be Lt. N. L. Sherlock, 10th June 1942 with seniority from 10th June 1937.

The undermentioned appointments are made: -To be 2nd Lts.

Samuel Roscoe, 15th Oct. 1941.
John Kilvington Olney, 1st Apr. 1942.
Arthur Earl Toombs, 21st Apr. 1942.
Frederick Douglas Ruthven, 3rd June 1942.

11th June 1942.
Francis George Charlesworth. Owen Robert Lincoln.
John Napleton Philip Beaver. Hugh McDill.
Joseph Henry Wilkinson. Gnr. Edward Beadon
Colthurst. Walter Cyril Pitcher.

24th June 1942. Norman Ogilvie Wighton Young. Hedley Olaf Wise. John Muir Hetherington Wright.

John Leslie Baines, 26th June 1942. George Adam Chisholm, 29th June 1942.

5th July 1942. Charles Belg Frater. Ernest Parker.

Charles Belg Frater. Ernest Parker.

22nd Aug. 1942.

Norman Boyde. Andrew Macintyre Binning.
Malcolm William Galloway. James. Loudon
Carrick Kerr. James Lees Black. Geoffrey
Charles Andria Castello. George Beauchamp
Collings. Gordon Cowell. Charles Edward Dudley
Dolden. William Peter Dryhurst. Ian Russell'
Gall. Kenneth Stanley Henson. Claude Eric
Hubbard. Ralph Thompson King. Walter
Kirkpatrick Lacey. Samuel Allan Maclaren.
Patrick John O'Brien Minogue. Osbert Peters.
Cecil George Plumridge. Malcolm John
Ravenscroft. James Craig Rodger. David
Rupert John Shuff. Allan John Woolford.

The undermentioned appts. to emergency com-

The undermentioned appts to emergency commissions in the I.A. for service in the I.A.O.C. as Ordnance Mechanical Engineers are made:— To be Lt.

Ernest Hockley Arnold, 11th Aug. 1942 with seniority from 28th Mar. 1940.

To be 2nd Lts.

Joe Crowther Bolton.

Frank Barwell. Ronald James Grott Stewart. Herbert Baughan. Eric Gordon Arthur. George Day. Noel Henry Pannell.

The notification in the Gazette of the 24th July 1942 relating to John Kilvington Olney is hereby cancelled.

For "2nd Lt. D. F. de J. de Jong" in the Gazette of the 23rd Jan. 1942 read "Lt. D. F. de J. de Jong," and insert next below Lt. H. James.

INDIAN REGULAR RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

The following officers, having attained the age limit of liability to recall, cease to belong to the Reserve:

Lt.-Col. G. M. Hutton, O.B.E., 2nd Aug. 1942. Lt.-Gen. Sir Louis R. Vaughan, K.C.B., K.B.E.,

D.S.O., 7th Aug. 1942.

Maj. C. R. Cave, 10th Aug. 1942.

Col. D. B. Ross, C.S.I., O.B.E., 22nd Aug. 1942.

Col. (Hon. Brig.) P. W. L. Broke-Smith, D.S.O., O.B.E., 27th Aug. 1942.

INDIAN ARMY DEPARTMENTS.

Warrant Officers to be Ty. Lts. (A.O.M.E.). Fred Patterson, 23rd Mar. 1942. Gordon Sydney Mathews, 30th Mar. 1942. Andrew Douglas Taylor, 31st Mar. 1942.

8th Apr. 1942.

8th Apr. 1942.

rthur Brown. Alfred Cecil Foss. John Stanley
Palmer. Thomas Walter George Gilbert. William
Benjamin Hughes. Francis Sydney Crossman.
Frederick Edgar Cecil Lesley. George Robert
L'Enfant. Leonard Mannering Arthur Brown. Norval Anderson, 22nd Apr. 1942.

25th Apr. 1942.

Victor Patrick Pursey. Albert Edward Beal.
Leonard Wilton. Charles Edward Thorne. James
Arnold Hawley.

Reginald John Lewis, 2nd May 1942.
Jesse Nichols, 8th May 1942.
Henry Arthur Rankin, M.B.E., 11th May 1942.

William Henry Gill, 14th May 1942.

Claude Edward William Copsey, 22nd May 1942.

1st June 1942. John James Wilkins. Eric Redvers Jenkins.

10th June 1942. David Wilkie. Harold George Lewis. Alexander Wilson, 17th June 1942.

26th June 1942.
Percival Edward Eldridge Sampson. Gilbert
Patchett. Thomas Kay. David Daniel Lovelock.
Alfred John Boyce.
Lt. (Asst. Comsy.) Ty. Maj. (Comsy.) W. Ashwell
retires, 15th Oct. 1941.

INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Capt. E. C. Hicks to be Maj., 7th June 1942.
Maj. G. Kelly retires on account of ill-health, 29th

Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 to 1937.

Notice is hereby given in pursuance of Section 49 (3) of the Diseases of Animals Act, 1894, that the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries has made the following Orders:

Order No. 6247. (Dated 23rd August, 1942.) Foot-and-Mouth Disease (Infected Areas) Special Order No. 64 of 1942.

Subject. I. Contracts the Foot-and-Mouth Disease Infected Area around Martin, Lincs., on 29th August, 1942, to an area comprising the districts situate within approximately 5 miles of Martin.

II. Releases such contracted Infected Area from restrictions on 5th September, 1942.

Order No. 6248.

(Dated 23rd August, 1942.)

Foot-and-Mouth Disease (Infected Areas) Special Order No. 65 of 1942.

be 2nd Lts.

18th Aug. 1942.

1 Contracts the Foot-and Mouth Disease Infected
Crowther Bolton. Alfred Joseph McNaughton.

Frederick Granville White. Norman Radcliffe. August, 1942, to an area comprising the districts