India Office, 8th August, 1941.

The KING has approved the following promotions, appointments, retirements, etc.:—

## INDIAN ARMY.

Col. G. L. S. Hawkins, M.C., is granted the actg. rank of Maj.-Gen. whilst employed at D.O.S.; 5th June 1941.

Majs. to be Lt.-Cols.

Ty. Lt.-Col. L. A. W. Knight, 17th Mar. 1941. P. C. Tudor-Craig, 2nd June 1941. Ty. Lt.-Col. W. S. Furness, M.C., 8th June 1941.

The undermentioned appointments are made: —

Lt. Peter Rutherford Slade, from R.A., 18th Dec. 1940, with seniority from 30th Apr. 1937.

Lt. Peter Aylmer Amyatt Leir, from Hampshire Regt., 3rd Jan. 1941, with seniority from 30th Nov. 1936.

"Special List" of Quartermasters (I.A.).

To be Lt.

Sub-Condr. Andrew Thomas Roulston, from R.I.A.S.C., 4th May 1941.

In the Gazette of the 27th June 1941 for "George Henry Potter" read "Bandmaster George Henry Potter, The Kings R.".

The undermentioned officers retire:

Maj.-Gen. W. A. K. Fraser, C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O., M.V.O., M.C., 1st June 1941. Lt.-Col. S. R. Cockrill, 5th June 1941. Lt.-Col. M. Middleton, 11th June 1941. Col. R. M. Bruce, D.S.O., M.C., 1st May 1941. Col. B. R. Mullaly, 26th June 1941.

Lt. Baghel Singh, Rajkumar, resigns his commn., 12th Apr. 1941.

Capt. H. H. Rose is removed from the service. His Majesty having no further need of his services, 25th July 1941.

The undermentioned officer is dismissed the service by sentence of a General Court Martial:—

2nd Lt. G. G. H. Walden, 6th June 1941.

Emergency Commissions.

The undermentioned appts. are made: —

To be 2nd Lts.

Fergus Reginald Terence Connell, 5th Apr. 1941.
Gerard Thomas Hodge, 17th Apr. 1941.
Geoffrey Whitworth Taylor, 28th Apr. 1941.
Desmond Hunter Baker, 5th May 1941.
R.Q.M.S. Henry Billings, 8th May 1941.
William Arthur Hilton, 9th May 1941.
Gordon Rennick McGowan, 12th May 1941.
R.Q.M.S. Joseph William Maycock, 14th May 1941.
William Duncan Shaw Laird, 14th May 1941.

William Duncan Shaw Laird, 14th May 1941. John Crawford, 15th May 1941.

I6th May 1941.
William Ross Mileham.
Eric Aston Cole.
John Francis Alan Fownes.
Joseph Waine.

R.Q.M.S. Charles John Hopkins, 17th May 1941. Leslie Cyril Chapman, 17th May 1941. George Aubrey Roberts, 18th May 1941. Francis Henry Wilson, 21st May 1941. Herbert Lonsdale Farmer, 22nd May 1941.

27th May 1941. Edward Robert Hugh Boyd, M.C. William Rogers. Walter Donald Audley. Peter Christian Pedersen.

28th May 1941.

Louis Robert Wilson Mackenzie.

Reginald Leslie Wells.

Albert Cyril Beynon.

Norman William Innes, 29th May 1941.

Harold Graham Fector Robinson, 29th May 1941.

30th May 1941. Arthur Patrick Nicol. Charles Ernest Stone. Thomas John Stuart Thomson.

31st May 1941.

Gilbert Lachlan Wyatt Crane.

Alan Bowring Rand.

Henry George Smith.

Rupert Eden Hawkins.

Christopher Henry Willink Robertson.

Peter Henry Sykes.

Edward Buchanan Leigh.

Reginald Alexander Ingleby Ball.

Rochford Langley Hunt.

Hugh Richter McDonald.

Valentine Howard Norman.

Oliver Edward Cromwell.

Gregory John Bateman.

R.S.M. George Edward Clarke, 1st June 1941.

2nd June 1941. William Richard Palmer Downing. Herbert Jefford. James Emil Morgenstern, 3rd June 1941.

4th June 1941.
Osric Wilfred Thesiger.
Donald Edward Willis-Fleming.
Henry Malkin Hance, D.S.O., M.C.
Wilbur Seton Merriman.
John William Kenneth Wilson, 5th June 1941.
Kenneth Bates, 8th June 1941.
John Edward McKenzie-Taylor, 8th June 1941.
Richard John Cockburn, 11th June 1941.
Charles Phillip Cornish, 11th June 1941.
Alexander Newton Brewer, 18th June 1941.

12th July 1941. William Francis England. John Brough. Trevor Joseph Barry Hook. Leslie Jarrold Smith. Douglas Howard Maitland Sirrell.

26th July 1941. John Egerton Little-Jones. Philip Edwin Heale Angel. Donald Farr. Norman Stanley Redfern. Thomas Peter Nelson Watkins.

The following officers resign their commns.:—
2nd Lt. W. I. Temple, 25th May 1941.
2nd Lt. M. W. Connor, 19th June 1941.
Lt. T. H. Paterson relinquishes his commn.,
6th May 1941.