Under the Second Proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Night Telephonists and Call Office Attendants, Alfred Metcalf (Leeds) 4th, Ernest Bailey (Shoreham-by-Sea, Brighton) 5th, Thomas Mark Blowes (Bishop's Stortford) 12th.

Postmen or Mail Porters, London, Thomas George Lancaster, Frederick Arthur Wilson 4th, James Montagu Ayling, Reginald William Henry Miles 5th, Ernest Reuben Tees 8th, Mark Woolf 9th, Edward Doyle 10th, Bernard Frank Lovell, Albert Victor Savill 18th, Frank Maynell 21st, Reginald Walter Gardner 24th.

Postmen, Robert William Bayles (Gainsborough), William Hughes (Chester) 4th, John Wiliam Down (Sale, Manchester) 8th, Albert Julius Christian Janks (Brighton) 9th, Albert Edward Featherstone (Langley Moor, Durham) 12th, Eric West (Gleadless, Sheffield) 15th, Charles Francis Day (Birmingham) 17th, Harry Albert Digby Major (Cleethorpes, Grimsby) 23rd, William McConville (Manchester) 24th, Thomas Harding (Stevenage, Hitchin and Letchworth), Walter Marriott (Doncaster) 31st.

- UNDER THE SECOND PROVISO OF CLAUSE 4 OF THE GENERAL REGULATIONS AND UNDER CLAUSE 10 (B) OF THE GENERAL REGULA-TIONS.
- War Office: Departmental Clerk (Grade IV) in War Department Outstation Offices, William John Vincent 16th.

UNDER CLAUSE 8 OF THE GENERAL REGULATIONS.

Admiralty: Assistants II in the Scientific and Technical Pools, William Clifford Glanfield 17th, Basil Oliver Brailsford Gamble 26th, William James McCarthy 28th, Frank Arthur Betts, Maurice Richard Burwood, Farnworth Hartup 31st.

Assistants III in the Scientific and Technical Pools, William Arthur Day 23rd, George Edward Cousins, Ralph Unwin Linsell 24th, John Wiliam Gordon Clarke 28th, Robert Vivian Forrest 31st.

Assistant III in the Chemical Pool, William Goodall 25th.

Probationer in the Royal Corps of Naval Constructors, Derek Barton Kimber 10th.

Junior Chart Depot Assistants, William Sidney Charles Deacon 4th, Norman Douglas Grant 25th.

Artificer in the Scientific Research and Experiment Department, William James Holman 10th.

Air Ministry: Inspector, Grade II, in the Accidents Branch, Raymond Curteis Warren 23rd.

Assistant Inspectors II, Aeronautical Inspection Directorate, Alan Sidney Lane 9th, Edward George Lambert Russell 24th.

Examiners, Aeronautical Inspection Directorate, Leonard James 3rd, Horace Charles Luttman 16th.

Watchkeeper, Henry Stanley Noble 4th. Translators, Dorothy Joan Sumner 12th, Jean Helena Barnes 28th.

- Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries: Economist, Charles Arthur le Mesurier Irving 1st.
- Ecclesiastical Commission: Assistant Architect, Hugh Stanley Braun 23rd.
- Ministry of Health: Laboratory Assistants, Marjorie Ethel Maryon 2nd, Margaret Louise Dedman 10th.
- Welsh Board of Health: Member, John Glynn-Jones 3rd.
- Procurator Fiscal Service: Depute, John Gray 10th.
- Stationery Office: Assistant Bookseller, Ada Margaret Read 10th.

Overseer, Grade V, in H.M. Stationery Office Press, Christopher Bishop 31st.

- Board of Trade: Launchman, Thomas William John Mills 19th.
- Unemployment Assistance Board: Investigating Clerk, William Campbell 23rd, Harry Swift 30th.

Investigating Clerks (Unestablished), Herbert Bellas Bolt 3rd, Tom Squire Halkyard 12th.

War Office: Deputy Chief Instructor at the Army School of Cookery, Aldershot, Douglas Lee 28th.

Assistants III on the War Department Staff for Scientific Research, Arthur Essam 1st, Thomas Henry Britton 2nd, George Henry Senger 16th, Robert Arthur Williams 22nd.

Office of Works: Technical Assistants in the Furniture Branch of the Supplies Division, Ernest Bugler 12th, Basil Charles Light 15th.

Under Clause 10 (b) of the General Regulations.

Admiralty: Departmental Clerical Assistant, Grade II, Marjorie Maud Rowe 24th.

Typists, Dorothy Eileen Barham, Sylvia Ensoll Budd, Mary Dooley, Frances Margaret King, Kathleen Langton, Margaret Marie Therèse McFadyen, Emilie Agnes Nevin, May Eva Reames, Grace Brock Reid, Peggy Sylvia Constance Scadding, Joan Kathleen Fielding Smith, Muriel May Stacey 24th.

- Air Ministry: Air Service Clerks (Special Class), Leslie Iliffe Bonner 1st, Reginald James Sorrell 9th, John Leavesley Poole 10th, Charles Edward Ulrick 22nd.
- Foreign Office: Typists, Noreen Ursula Daley, Rosemary Winifred Fry 24th.
- Department of Health for Scotland: Clerk-Typist, Isabella Ethel Jeffrey 24th.
- Inland Revenue Department: Typists, Ethel Endersbee, Gladys Mathilde Yolande James, Dorothy Lilian Wall, Eleanor Freda Withinshaw, Doris Louise Wooderson 24th. *Clerk-Typists*, Annie Mary Alldridge, Hilda Muriel Bangham, Grace Winifred Seymour 24th.
- H.M. Land Registry: Typists, Dorothy Evelyn Barber, Kathleen Purser 28th, Moira Celia Truman 30th.
- Land Registry of Northern Ireland: Typist, Elizabeth McKeown 24th.

6592