Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, George Ernest Le Fevre (Bromley and Beckenham) 2nd, Peter Lye (Kingston-on-Thames) 18th, Jack Day (Halifax) 29th, Jack Burchell Woollven (Woking) 30th.

Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists (Postal), John Tate Smith (Newcastle-on-Tyne) 2nd, John Ashley Owens (Liverpool) 3rd, Ronald Lyth (Leeds) 4th, James Wallace Robertson (Edinburgh) 9th, Reginald Robert Monk (Reading) 15th, Lewis Cursley (Manchester) 16th, Gordon Caines (Leeds) 18th, Robert Arthur Jones (Manchester) 29th.

Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Marion Jane Legg (Bristol) 3rd, Edith Mary Hughes (Birmingham), Joan Margaret Robinson (Stoke-on-Trent) 5th, Phyllis Brown (Bradford), Peggy Farrar (Bradford) 25th, Margaret Mary Higgins (Manchester) 26th, Muriel Smithard (Liverpool) 28th.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITIVE SELECTION.

Air Ministry: Male Assistant Mechanical and Electrical Engineers, Clement Edgar Dew 1st, Gerald William Philpott 22nd.

Male Assistant Civil Engineers, John Halloran 23rd, Richard Alfred Piercy Reade 25th.

Forestry Commission: District Estate Officer, Alexander Pirie Bennett 14th, Gareth Edward Evans 19th.

District Forest Officers, Morley James Penistan 15th, Alexander Paterson 18th, George Ironside Mackenzie 22nd.

Home Office: Inspectors of Factories, Constance Margaret Morgan 15th, Kathleen Marie Constable, Kenneth George Tupling 22nd, Thomas Michael Hoskison 24th, David Morgan Rees 25th, Alexander Mitchell Young 26th, Janet Reid, John Watts Wright 30th.

National Savings Committee: Assistant Commissioners, David Floyd, Cyril Ernest Starling 3rd.

Board of Trade: Assistant Examiners in the Patent Office, Douglas John Hayward Day 10th, Peter Geoffrey Oates 15th.

Ministry of Transport: Assistant Engineer in the Roads Department, John Alfred Harper 15th.

H.M. Office of Works: Assistant Surveyors, Grade II in the Maintenance Surveyors' Division, John Innes Elliott, Norman Cedric Hughes 21st, Ian Frederick Cunliffe, Cyril Frederick Fox, George Irving Hunter 26th.

Post Office: Probationary Assistant Engineers, Thomas Pilling 2nd, Kenneth Blake 11th.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Stationery Office: Technical Clerks (Printing), Robert Herbert Gowen 12th, Bernard John Pearson, Eric Warburton 14th, Edward Preston Croager, Kenneth Ensor Hutchings, Douglas Edward Masson, Maurice Warner 15th, Frederick Arthur George Lonon 19th, Edward James Deller 22nd.

Assistant Warehouse Supervisor, Vincent Wilson 9th.

Board of Trade: Engineer and Ship Surveyor, Wilfrid Goddard 28th. Nautical Surveyor, Stanley Morpeth Jameson 18th.

Post Office: Assistant Traffic Superintendents in the Telephone Service, William McLennan Jack, George Mort 22nd, John Charles Manton 23rd, Bernard Alan Brownbridge, Laurence Crawford Brunning, Sidney Herbert Davenport, Vernon Joseph Habberfield, Denis Edwin Roberts, John Allington Strongman 25th, Ambrose Francis Dowling 28th, Maurice George Bell 30th.

Female Telegraphists, London, or Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, London Postal Region, Janet Coleman 3rd, Joyce Audrey Oakley 12th, Teresa Emmerson 14th, Maureen Clohessy, Kathleen Violet Millbank, Kathleen Slade, Bridget Christina Smyth 16th, Mary Elizabeth Jones, Phyllis Margaret Elizabeth Pearce 25th, Beryl Mary White 29th, Beryl Mercia Ashby 30th.

Male Sorters, London or Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists (Postal), London Postal Region, Clifford Robert Allen, William Geoffrey Cockeran, James Edward O'Dowd 10th, Philip Bennett, Donald Arthur Waters 16th, Wilfred Douglas Johnstone 19th, Horace Edward Ferris, David Nathaniel Hamilton Wilson 21st, Walter Richard Stevens 22nd.

Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists (Postal), Trevor Owen (Liverpool District), Leslie Alfred Henry White (South Wales District) 2nd, Douglas Kevern Pearson (North Midland District), John Romald Dewar Watson (North Eastern Region) 4th, James Simpson (North Wales District) 9th, William Edmund Cross (North Midland District), John Jardalla Glass (North Eastern Region), Edward Arthur Middleton (North Eastern Region), George Denise Nicholls (South Wales District), Arthur John Jellicoe Wade (South Eastern District) 10th, George Stanley Cunliffe (Manchester District) 11th, John Campbell (North Midland District), John Potts (North Wales District), William Roper (Manchester District) 14th, George Alfred Dixon (North Wales District) 15th, John Hardy Hall (Birmingham District), Albert Norris (North Wales District), Horace Edgar Pile (Western District), Glyn Thomas (South Wales District) 17th, Alexander McIntosh (South Midland District) 18th McIntosh (South Midland District) 18th, Vernon Davies (North Wales District), William John Wallman (South Wales District) 22nd, Alexander Ogilvie (Scottish Region) 23rd, Robert Baxendale (Manchester District), Alan Swithin Martin Turner (South Midland District) 25th, Dennis Raymond Baldwin (South Midland District), Eric Edwin Forster (Manchester District), William Louis Hogan (Manchester District), Frederick Jephcott (North Midland District), Denys Ravenscroft (Manchester District) 26th, John Walter Lanman (North Wales District) 30th, David Guthrie Adams (South Midland District), George Neil (Scottish Region) 31st.

Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Leonora Marjorie Baker (North Midland District), Jessie Laing Cruickshank (Scottish Region) 2nd, Ellen MacKellar (Scottish Region), Eileen May Trussel (North Midland District) 4th, Agnes Horne Brown (Edinburgh), Sarah Lee Mackay (Edinburgh), Mary Bourhill Mochrie (Edinburgh), Sophia Stevenson Nichol (Edinburgh), Winifred