Previously served as an unestablished Inspector after recommendation by a Selection Board. Long experience of agricultural and horticultural conditions.

May 11, 1938.

Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries: Junior Legal Assistant (£315—£625), Raymond Spencer Boden (age 29).

M.A. (Cantab.), First Class Classical Tripos, Part I; Second Class (division 2), Law Tripos, Part I; First Class Moral Science Tripos, Part II. Admitted Solicitor. Temporary Legal Assistant, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries

June 30, 1938.

Clerical Class (to take up duty in the Department of Overseas Trade) (£95—£350), John Hamling Underhill (age 55).

Promoted from unestablished service having reached the age of 55.

Post Office: Female Sorting Assistant, Edinburgh (22s. to 57s. per week), Lucy Vera Erskine Hames (age 18).

Qualified but unsuccessful candidate at Open Competition for Clerical Assistants, Edinburgh.

IV.—ASSIGNMENTS TO THE EXECUTIVE CLASS.

Inland Revenue Department, Lorna Margaret Rose Anderson, Stanley George Ash, Stanley William Banyard, Leonard John Brooks, Marion Jeanne Cork, Timothy Everett Cork, Stanley Mason Davies, Ronald Kenyon Ewan, Jean Mackay Falconer, Margaret Rennie Gibson, Arthur Charles Johns, George Henry Sidney Jordan, Muriel Edith Joyce, Edward John King, Roger Ernest Milburn Kirkman, Dennis Rowe Laver, Margaret Isobel Macdonald, Walter Jack Maddren, Edna Grace Minshull, Arthur Frederick Newson, George David Piper, Ronald John Rayer, Yvonne Reynolds, Trevor Noel Simpson, William John Hinde Smith, Norman Walter Sydee, Roderick Anthony Watson, Beatrice Mary Wilson.

Post Office, John Higson, Robert Frederick Louis Martin, Clifford Pagdin, Kenneth Pearson, Peter Edward Plummer, Arthur Leon Pullen, Douglas John Richman, John Peter Wilde.

Trade, Board of, David John Raalte Hack.

V.—ASSIGNMENTS TO THE CLERICAL CLASS.

Admiralty, Eric Victor Bugden, John William Cranstone White.

Air Ministry, Ruth Aldersley, Ronald Frederick Bannister, Margaret Barnes, Eric John William Beaumont, Irene Bettina Blanchard, Peter James Blanchard, Margaret Eadie Brechin, Olive Brown, Dorothy Constance Bruton, Roy Bushnell, Margaret June Murray Carnon, John Willmott Carr, Walter John Cornick, Monica Hazel Cruse, John Pentreath Curnow, Raymond John Richard Dalton, Leonard Davis, Harold Lewis Dawson, Maurice Albert Deed, Joyce Winifred Fisher, Thomas Inglis Geddes, Edna Mary Gerrish, Jessie Gray, Joan Kathleen Hart, Gerald Thomas Herbert, Joy Pansy May Hibbitt, Geoffrey Bramwell Holding, Dennis Charles Hole, Kenneth Gordon Holloway, Kathleen Muriel Howick, Nora Irvine, Derek Walter Jones, Ernest Lowe, Olive Lowrison, Eric Raymond Michie, Irene Morris, Thelma Elyse Norris, Peggy Irene Page, Philip John Parish, Muriel Florence Pearman, Jean Audrey Pemsel, Roy Reddaway, Wilfred Harold Reed, Fred Dilwyn Roberts, John Alan Scott, Leslie John Slatter, Jack Trevor Stevens, Howard Philip Stowell, Norman Waln Wharton, Ernest Henry Wilkinson.

Cabinet, Offices of the, Reginald Anderson, Raymond Walter Smith.

Colonial Office and Dominions Office, James Frank Mann, Pauline Margaret Nunn.

Crown Lands, Office of Commissioners of, Stanley Arthur Allwood.

Customs and Excise Department, Maurice Ernest Robert Comte, Margaret Lillian Medcalf.

Education, Board of, John Norman Burden, Kathleen Eversden, Douglas Roland Hill, Peter Stafford Litton, Julia Agnes Marney, Winifred May Morrison, Graham Morgan Rogers, Joyce Lilian Strongman, Hilda Beatrice Ward.

Health, Ministry of, Alan Edmond Catherall, Kevin Francis Donegan, Cyril Emerson.

Home Office, Harold Alexander Rans.

Import Duties Advisory Committee, Sydney Alfred Neale.

India Office, Gordon William George Stretch.

Mines Department, Douglas Edgar Vant.

Overseas Trade, Department of, Alfred Fred Collings, Joyce Daphne Muriel Davey, Betty Mollie Emmeline Glover, Robert Charles Reeder, Dorothy Walesby, Margaret Young.

Post Office, Mary Margaret Muir Anderson, Bertrand James Batchelor, Annie Bishop, Norah Careless, Freda Crooks, Hannah Eiluned Davies, Phyllis Margaret Davies, James Dorrian, John Francis Hanson, Ellen Jeanette Hill, George Gordon Jeffrey, George Roderick Johnston, Enid Lilian Lloyd, Brian Morgan, Dorothy Mary Notley, Harold Overfield, Freda Redcliffe, Margaret Dunn Stewart, Kathleen Audrey Straw, Mabel Sulman, Gwilym Thomas, Ada Watson.

Prison Commission, Home Office, William Lansely Godfrey, William John Oliver Utting.

Public Trustee Office, Peggy James.

Scottish Office, John Utterson.

H.M. Stationery Office, John Cresswell, Frank Edward Davey, James Holden, William Frank Papworth, William Ross.

Tithe Redemption Commission, Mary Chesterfield Baker, Peter Vernon Bridgman, Arthur Edward Briggs, Mary Buxton, Peggy Doris Daniel, Kathleen Mona Gill, Thomas Barclay Hastie, Thomas William Hill, Ellen Elizabeth Hooper, Norman Horner, Patricia Mary