Postmen, Gordon Douglas Bassett (Sutton), George Brown Christie (Liverpool), Albert Charles Field (St. Albans), John Fisher (Slough), George Leonard Jennings (Torquay), Thomas Henry Longshaw (Urmston, Manchester), Edward Lucas (Derby), Peter Maher (Halifax), Wilfred Pearce (Worthing), Reginald Price (Hull), Thomas Robinson (Rickmansworth, Watford), John Sayers (Hebburn, Newcastle-on-Tyne), William Arthur Taylor (Barnsley), Arthur Weston Tyrrell (Newcastle-on-Tyne), James Nelson Wraight (Margate), William Yates (Wigan).

Under Clause 3 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Night Telephonist and Call Office Attendant, Birmingham, Terence Samuel Hawkins Cottrell.

Under Clause 3 of the General Regulations and under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Postman, Birmingham, Michael Kelly.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Postman or Mail Porter, London, John Macdonald.

Postman, Croydon, Albert Victor Harvie.

Under Clause 10 (c) of the General Regulations.

Clerical Class (to take up duty in the Post Office), Ernest Edwin Barton, Kenneth William Cross, Leonard Benjamin Page, Joseph Taylor.

October 3, 1938.

· AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Executive Class, Stanley Mason Davies, Arthur Frederick Newson.

Shorthand Typists, Mary Elizabeth Burgess, Margaret Calder Carnegie, Margaret Dorothy Henderson, Renée Gwendoline Jones, Margaret Kirby, Irene Joyce Lattimer, Mary Florence Newby.

Clerical Assistants, Grade I, Winifred Jean Hopkin, Eileen Hunt, Joan Sambrook Morgan, Joan Yvonne Shoppee, Margaret Phoebe Treglown, Kathleen Megan Wilson, Christine Seymour Wyeth.

Typists, Edith Maud Clarke, Constance Cecelia Dale, Maureen Marcella Devenney, Kathleen Harvey Fryer, Ada Frances Gardiner, Doreen Greene, Martha Elizabeth Grace Gregg, Hilda Grounds, Dorothy Frances Hall, Dorothy Madge Hall, Elsie Jane Hutchinson, Doris Johnstone, Lilian Anne Kingdom, Nora Anne O'Connor, Elizabeth Anne Patricia O'Hanlon, Hilda May Richards, Beatrice Dorothy Sawtell.

Consular Service, Edward Thomas Biggs, John Rawson Boyce, Alastair George Maitland, Hubert Norman Pullar, Geoffrey Marsh Tingle.

Customs and Excise Department: Departmental Clerical Class, Edward Maltby.

Inland Revenue Department: Clerical Assistants in Offices of Inspectors of Taxes, Mary Sydney Butterworth, Beryl Mary Forrest. War Office: Ex-Soldier Clerk, Grade B, Herbert Hotine.

Post Office: Female Sorting Assistants, London, Gwendoline Clara Coughin, Winifred Bessie Woodhams.

Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist (Postal), Crewe, John Chesters Simpson.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Home Office: Inspector of Factories, Charles Francis Carr.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: H.M. Dockyards and Naval Establishments, Edward Henry Biddle (Coppersmith), Harold Wilfred Cole (Coppersmith), Francis James Allen Knight (Smith).

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Kendal, Douglas Thompson.

Skilled Workmen, John Stewart Caldwell, Herbert Cummings, Albert Leslie Deighton, Robert Frederick Friebus, George Alfred Benjamin Hill, William Lindlay Horwood, William Edward Martin, James Purdon, John Rowatt, Albert James Watkins.

Night Telephonist and Call Office Attendant, London, Charles Richard Gibbs.

Telephonists, Doreen Mary Allen (Brentwood), Yvonne Attlesey (Farnborough, Bromley and Beckenham), Margaret Patricia Boyle (Liverpool), Agnes Forsyth McKenzie (Glasgow), Isabella Mitchell Morrison (Glasgow).

Postmen or Mail Porters, London, Wilfred Thomas Bailey, Sydney Delescluze, George Alfred Edwards, Joseph Samuel William Fryatt, Frederick Charles Swaby, Frederick William Ward, Richard George Devereux Ward.

Postmen, Arthur Beresford (Macclesfield), Richard Boulton (Caterham, Croydon), William Baden Bowen (Birmingham), John Britton (Leeds), John George Callaghan (Manchester), George Albert (Evesham), run-Drinkwater Hubert John Hogden (Chisledon, George (Birmingham), Edwin Johnson David Owen Jones (Llandudno and Colwyn Bay), Frederick Henry Lewis (Pinner, Harrow and Wembley), Ernest McGowan (Liverpool), John Somerville McLean (Carlisle), John McPherson (Glasgow), John Mearns Scott (Aberdeen).

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Postman, Ramsbottom, Bury, Francis Allanson.

Under Clause 8 of the General Regulations.

H.M. Stationery Office: Duplicator Operator, Hilda Ruby Ceadel.

Ministry of Transport: Civil Engineering Assistant, Samuel Maclean.

Traffic Examiner, John Clark Macpherson.

Under Clause 10 (B) of the General Regulations.

Admiralty: Second Class Draughtsman, Benjamin Gerard Palmer.