Post Office: Male Sorters, London, or Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists (Postal), London Postal Region, Ernest Charles Barnes, William Ronald Bateson, William John Callanan, John Andrew Cattini, Edwin Robert Chapman, Albert George Clarke, William Henry John Conen, Frederick John Elliott, Henry Robert France Hall, Arthur Herbert Haynes, William Alfred Heaver, Henry John Holden, Frank Hunter, Ernest Frederick Reuben Kiff, Charles Bertram Knight, Charles Langley, Charles Stuart McBrayne, William James McClaren, Gerald George MacDonald, Patrick Murphy, Edwin Victor Searle, Arthur Smith, William John Gray Smith.

Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Scottish Region, Margaret Crawford.

Female Telegraphist, London, and Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, London Postal Region, Kathleen McGrath.

#### WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: H.M. Dockyards and Naval Establishments, Walter Henry Adams (Bricklayer), George Alfred Knowles (Smith), Herbert Walter Frederick Batten Statton (Smith).

Inland Revenue Department: Clerk, Special Class, Donald Thomson.

Ministry of Labour: Clerks, Special Class, David Macmartin, Albert Rich.

Principal Probate Registry: Messenger, Thomas Dawson.

Prison Service, England and Wales: Housemaster, Class II, in the Borstal Institution Service, David Grainville Waddilove.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Harold Brookes (Gainsborough), James Frederick Dickens (East Kirkby, Nottingham), Harry Heath (Kilmarnock), John Mackay Holliday (Wigton, Carlisle), Herbert John Foxwell Loasby (Kettering), Vernon Horace Henry Moore (Stanmore, Edgware), Kenneth Swift (Wakefield), Charles Thompson (Hull), Jack Charles Wheeler (Brockenhurst, Lymington), Ronald George White (Rotherham).

Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist (Postal), Hull, Jack Eccles Warn.

Female Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Southport, Bessie Burrows Anderton.

Telephonists, London, Brenda Susan Elizabeth Farmer, Laurie Eileen Jordan, Beryl Kathleen Joyce.

Telephonists, Mary Ayton (Middlesbrough and Stockton-on-Tees), Edith Fielding (Middlesbrough and Stockton-on-Tees), Marjorie Hutchinson (Middlesbrough and Stockton-on-Tees), Edna Mansfield (Stoke-on-Trent), Ethel Molly Phillips (Exeter), Muriel Margaret Emma Radford (Portsmouth and Gosport).

Mechanics-in-Charge, James Robert Brown, Alexander Kinninmonth.

Postmen or Mail Porters, London, Thomas William Bull, Reginald Stephen Rice, Charles Solomon Schleich. Postmen, Thomas Allan (Bearsden, Glasgow), Thomas Bradley (Stockport), Stanley Cookson (Colne), Cyril Edmondson (Liverpool), William Henry Goodman (Birmingham), William Henry Grantham (Stirchley, Birmingham), Percy Jones (Birmingham), William Alexander Moore (Douglas), James William Monk (West Bromwich), James Thomas Rickus (Barrowin-Furness), Alfred George Smith (Rickmansworth, Watford), George John Harris Tapp (Horwich, Bolton).

Temporary Postman-Messengers, Edward John Gough, Vincent Herman Phillips, Stanley Pollard.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Postman or Mail Porter, London, James Goldsmith.

Postman, Aberdeen, Walter Dalgleish.

H.M. Treasury: Messenger, William James Percy Last.

## Under Clause 3 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Night Telephonist and Call Office Attendant, Manchester, John Thomas Jackson.

# Under Clause 8 of the General Regulations.

Procurator Fiscal Service: Deputes, Henry Herron, Thomas Moffat Lees.

Unemployment Assistance Board: Investigating Clerk, René Jean Le Gouais.

Under Clause 10 (c) of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Assistant Traffic Superintendents in the Telephone Service, Christopher Richard Lane, Samuel Price Nelmes, Charles Godfrey Preshaw.

### May 26, 1938.

### AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Clerical Class, Edward George Chibnall, Mavis Ellen Hewison, Peter Ernest Jones, John Francis Nockles, Roy Pizzey, Alfonsus Gerard Reay, Frederick George Rea, Robert Alfred Styan, Lawrence Francis Tivey, Robert Walter Troughton.

Shorthand Typists, Ethel Florence Clarke, Mary Hilda Gardner, Dorothy Lottie Louise Howe, Athlea Sylvia McNabb.

Clerical Assistants, Grade 1, Mary Frances Carroll, Doreen Cook, Marjorie Newton, Catherine Williamson Robertson, Gladys Sarah Tait, Margaret Joan Wilby.

Admiralty: Departmental Clerical Class, Duncan John Clark.

Customs and Excise Department: Departmental Clerical Class, Peter Edward Robinson.

Ministry of Health: Audit Clerk, Ernest Patrick O'Beirne.

Home Office: Clerk to Inspector of Factories, Olive Beatrice Fox.

Inland Revenue Department: Assistant Collector, Jack Parkes.