March 5, 1938.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Clerical Class, Charles Henry Cyril Brimblecombe, Thomas Webster Clarkson, Sybil Naomi Cooke, Robert William Edwards, Cyril Hollingsworth Georges, John Gregson Hibbert, John Bethell Hughes, Betty Mary Lott, Elizabeth Eileen McArdle, James Harrison Ormesher, Denis Stapleton, Roland Vivian Warren Walker.

Clerical Assistants, Grade 1, Gladys Marian Richards, Dorothy Caroline Sargent, Betty Kathleen Syrett.

Inland Revenue Department: Clerical Assistants in Offices of Inspectors of Taxes, Mary Everitt, Isa Deans Polwart, Annie Porteous, Margaret Mary Renshaw.

Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Robert Cameron, Elizabeth McMillan, Helen Jeanette Simpson, Margaret Louise Storey, Stanley Wilson.

Lord Chancellor's Department: Clerk-Typist in County Courts, Marion Yardy.

Board of Trade: Clerk-Shorthand-Typist in the Bankruptcy and Companies Ex-Headquarters Service, Lilian Eveline Cameron.

Post Office: Probationary Inspectors in the Engineering Department, Percival John Brice, Walter Chatwin, Eric Powell, Harold Alfred Stiles, Trevor Fortescue Alford Urben.

Female Sorting Assistants, London, Violet May Brown, Vera Ethel Hunt.

Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists (Postal), James Edward Dunleavie (Newport, Mon.), Charles Robert Gillespie (Aberdeen), Robert Greig Goulbourn (Liverpool), Alfred James Jenkyn (Penzance).

Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, William Greenbank Johnston (Blackburn and Accrington), Basil Arthur Lambert (Hereford), Frederic Allan Palmer (Harrow and Wembley).

Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Sylvia May Hall (Leicester), Margaret Steel Jardine (Glasgow), Margaret Edith Lowes (Hull).

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty: Established Storehousemen in H.M. Naval Establishments, Robert Stanley Hardman, Arthur John Partridge.

Board of Control, England: Attendant in the State Institution Service, Bernard Taylor.

Ministry of Labour: Messenger, Charles Edward Brown.

Land Registry: Mapping Assistant, Lewis Edward Cecil Mayo.

War Office: Civil Engineering Assistant, Grade III, Allan Mortimer Trewin.

Established Civilian Employé, Charles Joseph Egan.

Office of Works: Depot Clerk, Horace Douglas Partridge.

Post Office: Male Telegraphist, London, Norman Dennis Smith.

Female Telegraphists, London, Gertrude Louise Griffin, Florence Griffiths, Elizabeth Delphine Noble. Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Peter Russell Carter (Woodbridge), Desmond John Wilton (Bodmin).

Skilled Workmen, John Robert Wilfred Gordon Deag, Reginald Thomas John Lillis, Leonard Edward Pulling, John Henry Rosser.

Night Telephonists and Call Office Attendants, Frederick William Baker (London), Stanley Edward Quelch (Margate).

Telephonists, Sarah Barr Kerr Aitken (Glasgow), Barbara Harrison Gore (Altrincham), Winifred Hirst (Leeds).

Postmen or Mail Porters, London, Mervyn Herbert Draycott, Reginald Charles Teague.

Postmen, William Davey (Hampton, Richmond and Twickenham), John William Featherstone (Bromley and Beckenham), Joseph Goffe (Hayes, Southall), Arthur James Hancock (Richmond and Twickenham), John William Hardman (Brinscall, Chorley), John William Francis Heard (Bishop's Stortford), George Brown Milne (Truro), Albert Ogden (Altrincham), Sidney Charles Pool (Uxbridge), Joseph Stevenson (Whitewell, Belfast), John Thomas Storer (Newark), George Thomas Tillyer (Hounslow), Thomas Slater Wells (Peterborough).

Temporary Postman-Messengers, Kenneth Charles Abrey, Albert Jack Leslie Callard, Benjamin Edwin Jones, Albert Edward Martin, Robert George Neale, Douglas John Pardoe, Douglas Pountney, Maurice Arthur Powell, George Thomas Redpath, George William Solly, John Frederick Arthur Taylor, Blair Alexander Traill.

Under Clause 3 of the General Regulations and under Clause 11 of the General Regulations.

Inland Revenue: Typist, Margaret MacAlevey.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Air Ministry: Messenger, William Harber. Post Office: Postman, Hull, Harold Wray.

Under Clause 8 of the General Regulations.

H.M. Stationery Office: Duplicator Operator, Isabella Jane Williamson Samuel.

Unemployment Assistance Board: Investigating Clerks, Edmund George Aldam, Walter Beckett, Thomas Bertram Burns, Albert Clarke, William Thomas Fitch, William James, Evan Jenkin Jones, Milton Maurice Matthews, Alexander Robertson Millar, Hugh Owens, Leslie Ambrose Parker, John Edward Prax, Robert Griffith Roberts, Charles Robert Sherman, Arthur Sherrad, William Henry Thomas, George Morley Whitelam, Burton Henry Williams.

Investigating Clerks (Unestablished), George John Bowman, Sam Cope, Evan Howells Evans, William Reginald Gay, Percy Hair, William Rogerson, Jacob Rees Thomas.

UNDER CLAUSE 10 (B) OF THE GENERAL REGULATIONS.

H.M. Office of Works: Depot Clerk, Raymond Henry Tyndall.

Post Office: Skilled Workman, George Christopher Drane.