Basil Neil MacLarty, Esq., Engineer-in-charge of Stations Design and Installation Department, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Alexander Main, Esq., Chief Inspector of Agriculture, Department of Agriculture for Scot-

land.

Arthur Henry Manning, Esq. For po and public Services in West Woolwich. For political

Miss Mary Dorothy Humphreys Melvin, J.P., Principal, Glasgow and West of Scotland College of Domestic Science.

ustace James Missenden, Esq., M.B.E., Traffic Manager, Southern Railway Com-

Robert Mitchell, Esq., Chief Constable of Kincardineshire.

George Stanley Murray Moger, Esq. For political and public services in Saffron Walden.

Arthur Morley, Esq., D.Sc., M.I.Mech.E., lately Staff Inspector, Board of Education.

John David Morris, Esq., Principal, Admiralty. Alexander Munro, Esq For political and public services in the East of Scotland.

John Oscar Nesbitt, Esq., F.S.I., Superintending Valuer, Valuation Office, Board of Inland

Revenue.

Miss Edith Neville, Chairman, St. Pancras Improvement Society, Honorary Secretary of the St. Pancras Council of Social Service.

Augustus Alexander Chaine Nickson, Esq., Secretary, Liverpool Cotton Association.

Charles Parker, Esq., M.B.E., Assistant for Passenger Services to the Chief Operating Manager, London Midland and Scottish Railway Company.

Alderman Jonas Pearson, J.P. For political

and public services in Bradford.

Villiam Perry, Esq., M.B.E., Chief Clerk, Royal Mint.

Frank Waller Rattenbury, Esq., F.S.A.A., County Accountant, Middlesex.

Bernard Joseph Reynolds, Esq., Principal, Home Office.

Frederick Eaton Robinson, Esq., M.Inst.C.E., M.I.Mech.E., Superintendent, Royal Small Arms Factory, Enfield.

Ernest William Room, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in North-West Camberwell.

Alderman Frank Gibbs Rye, Chairman of the

Westminster Savings Committee. Isabella, Mrs. Sharp. For political and public services in Aberdeen.

Magnus Shearer, Esq. For public services in the County of Zetland.

William Henry Fuller-Smith, Esq., Investment Manager, Public Trustee Office.

For political and Miss Hilda Mary Smyth. public services in the Forest of Dean.

James Martin Stagg, Esq., D.Sc., Senior Technical Officer, Meteorological Office, Ministry.

James Guthrie Stewart, Esq., Chief Inspector of Agricultural Education, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

Miss Irene Strevens, M.B.E., Principal Staff Officer, Board of Education.

Frederick Strong, Esq., Assistant Accountant General, General Post Office.

William Henry Tate, Esq., J.P., Member of the Advisory Committee on the Welfare of the Blind.

Charles Ralph Cooke-Taylor, Esq., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P. For political and public services in Dulwich.

Alderman Osborn Taylor. For political and public services in Chatham.

Peter Taylor, Esq., Principal, Department of Health for Scotland.

George Percy Warner Terry, Esq., Secretary of the British Waterworks Association.

George Alfred Titman, Esq., M.V.O., Assistant Secretary, Lord Chamberlain's Department. William Douglas Tomkins, Esq., Principal,

India Office.

Commander Leopold George Darker Way, R.N. (Retired), Insp Board of Trade. Inspector, H.M. Coastguard,

Thomas Welch, Esq., M.C., T.D., M.Sc., lately Headmaster of the Alderman Wraith School,

Spennymoor, Durham.

Katherine Maria, Mrs. Wenger. For political and public services in Newcastle-under-Lyme.

Alderman Charles Edward Westbrook, J.P. For political and public services in Tonbridge.

Major Stewart Montagu de Heriz Whatton, D.S.O., M.C., Staff Officer, Metropolitan Special Constabulary.

Harold Wheeler, Esq., Official Receiver in Bankruptcy, Bristol, Board of Trade. Miss Mary Jeannette Wilde, Chairman of the Houseless Poor Hostel Committee, Clapham

Miss Minnie Agneta Willcox, Sister Matron and Superintendent of the Nursing Staff, King's College Hospital.

William John Woolrich, Esq., Chairman, Hops

Marketing Board.

William Lee Wrightson, Esq., Joint Chairman of the Port of London Registration Committee.

be Additional Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Miss Daisy Gladys Anderson. For services in connection with the Church Army Institutions for delinquent girls.

David Walker-Arnott, Esq., Principal Clerk,

Ministry of Pensions.

Miss Olive Baggallay, Tutor to the International Students in the Department of Social Studies and Economics, Bedford College. Secretary to the Florence Nightingale Foundation.

William Groves Barker, Esq. For services to the National Savings Movement in Yorkshire. Thomas William Beard, Esq., lately Head

of Division, Paymaster General's Office. Evelvn Frances, Mrs. Beaumont, Assistant County Director, British Red Cross Society. Rutland.

ichard Bloore, Esq., Assistant in Librarian's Department, Foreign Office. Richard Bloore,

James Thomas Boorer, Esq. For services to the National Savings Movement in schools. Honorary Secretary of the Letchworth Savings Committee

Alderman Frank Bott, Mayor of Crewe.

Walter Augustus John Boxford, Esq., Clerk to the Committee of Lloyd's.

Mary Eveline, Mrs. Brannam, J.P., Chairman of the Barnstaple Juvenile Advisory Com-

Spencer Harold Bransby, Esq., Superintendent, Lands Records, War Office.

Alderman William Anderton Brigg,

Chairman of the Keighley, Skipton and Dis-: trict War Pensions Committee.