Charles Vernon Boys, Esq., A.R.S.M., LL.D., F.R.S. For services to physics. A past President of the Physical Society of London.

Charles Herbert Bressey, Esq., C.B., C.B.E., F.S.I., Chief Engineer, Roads Department,

Ministry of Transport. Professor Walter Langdon-Brown, M.A., M.D., F.R.C.P., Regius Professor of Physic, University of Cambridge.

Bunnell Henry Burton, Esq., J.P. I political and public services in Ipswich.

For political and Albert Clavering, Esq. public services.

Edmund Frank Crane, Esq. For political and public services in Birmingham.

Edwin Deller, Esq., LL.D., Principal of the

University of London.

Walter Forrest, Esq., J.P., Member of Parliament for Pontefract, 1919-1922, and for Batley and Morley, 1924-1929. For political and public services.

Cyril Fred Fox, Esq., Ph.D., F.S.A., Director of the National Museum of Wales.

Henry Holman Gregory, Esq., K.C., Recorder

of the City of London.

Ernest Sidney Walter Hart, Esq., M.B.E., Chairman of the Society of Clerks of the Peace. Clerk of the Peace for Middlesex and Clerk to the Middlesex County Council.

Major Samuel Emile Harvey, J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for Totnes, 1922-1923, and since 1924. For political and public services

Captain Evan Jones. For political and public services in North Wales.

Alderman Sidney Guy Kimber, J.P.

public services to Southampton.
Wilfred Creyke King, Esq., Chairman and
Managing Director of the Exchange Tele-

graph Company Limited. William Martineau, Esq., Chairman of Ross and Cromarty Unionist Association. For political and public services.

Fred Denby Moore, Esq., J.P. For political

and public services in Yorkshire.

John Boyd Orr, Esq., D.S.O., M.C., M.A., M.D., D.Sc., F.R.S., Director, Rowett Insti-tute for Research in Animal Nutrition, Aberdeen. For services to agriculture.

Lieutenant-Colonel Thomas Gibson Poole, V.D., J.P. For public services to Middlesbrough.

Edward Bagnall Poulton, Esq., D.Sc., LL.D., F.R.S., Honorary Life President of the Royal Entomological Society of London. Emeritus Professor of Zoology in the University of Oxford.

Colonel John Joseph Shute, C.M.G., D.S.O. T.D., J.P., D.L., M.P. For public, social and political services in Lancashire, par-

ticularly in Liverpool.

John Donald Sutherland, Esq., C.B.E., LL.D., F.R.S.E. (lately Colonel, R.E.), lately Assistant Forestry Commissioner for Scotland. Member of the Forestry Commission.

Alexander Brown Swan, Esq., Lord Provost of Glasgow.

William John Talbot, Esq. For political and public services in Walsall.

Donald Francis Tovey, Esq., M.Mus., Mus. Doc., F.R.S.E., Reid Professor of Music, University of Edinburgh.

John Wallace, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for Dunfermline District of Burghs, 1918-1922, and since 1931. For political and public services.

DOMINIONS.

Major-General Thomas Albert Blamey, C.B., Chief Commissioner of C.M.G., D.S.O. Police, State of Victoria. For services in connection with the Centenary Celebrations.

Henry Sinclair Campbell Budge, Esq., C.M.G. Official Secretary to the Governor of the

State of New South Wales.

The Honourable Joseph Andrew Chisholm, Chief Justice of Nova Scotia, Dominion of

Raphael West Cilento, Esq., M.D., Senior Medical Officer, Department of Health, Commonwealth of Australia.

Colin Fraser, Esq. For public services in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Brigadier Carl Herman Jess, C.M.G., C.B.E., D.S.O. For services in connection with the organisation of the Centenary Celebrations of the State of Victoria.

Clutha Nantes Mackenzie, Esq., Director of the Institute for the Blind, Dominion of New

Ernest Cooper Riddle, Esq., Governor of the Commonwealth Bank, Commonwealth Australia.

Percy Rolfe Sargood, Esq. For public services in the Dominion of New Zealand.

Colin Campbell Stephen, Esq., of Sydney, State of New South Wales, Chairman of the Australian Jockey Club.

INDIA.

Mr. Justice John Douglas Young, Barristerat-Law, Chief Justice of the High Court of Judicature at Lahore, Punjab.

Gokul Chand Narang, Esq., Ph.D., Minister for Local Self-Government to the Governor of the Punjab.

Lieutenant - Colonel Clendon Turberville Daukes, C.I.E., of the Political Department, His Majesty's Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary at the Court of Nepal.

Mr. Justice Manmatha Nath Mukerji, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Fort William, Calcutta, Bengal.

Mr. Justice Charles Henry Bayley Kendall, Indian Civil Service, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad, United Provinces.

Nawab Malik Muhammad Hayat Khan Noon, C.S.I., lately Commissioner in the Punjab.

Khan Bahadur Muhammad Bazl-ul-Lah Sahib Bahadur, C.I.E., O.B.E., Chairman, Madras Services Commission, Madras.

James Williamson, Esq., Agent, Bengal and North-Western Railway, Gorakhpur, United Provinces.

William Leonard Stampe, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Service of Engineers, Chief Engineer, Irrigation Branch, Public Works Department, United Provinces.

Lieutenant-Colonel Jamshedji Nasarvanji Duggan, C.I.E., O.B.E., L. M. and S., F.C.P.S. (Bombay), D.O. (Oxon.), Professor of Ophthalmic Medicine and Surgery, Grant Medical College, Bombay, and Superintendent, C.J. Ophthalmic Hospital, Bombay.

Patrick Robert Cadell, Esq., C.S.I., C.I.E., V.D., Indian Civil Service (retired), Prime Minister of Junagadh State, Western India States Agency.