Civil Service Commission.
5th September, 1933.

In pursuance of the Provisions of His Majesty's Order in Council of 22nd July, 1920, the Civil Service Commissioners hereby announce the undermentioned Appointments, Promotions, Transfers, etc. (including Assignments to the Clerical Class, etc.) for the month of August, 1933:—

I.—CERTIFICATES ISSUED.

August 1, 1933.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Typist, Muriel Weaver Smith.

Writing Assistants, Mary Elizabeth Broadhurst, Sarah Parkinson, Eva Watson.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Air Ministry: Air Service Clerk (Special Class), Gerald Walter Slocombe.

Colonial Office: Messenger, Arthur William Orchard.

Department of Overseas Trade: Intelligence Officer, Joseph Lewis Reading.

Ministry of Health: Clerk, Special Class, Bernard Cribb.

Ministry of Labour: Clerks, Special Class, Robert William Wall, Howard Evan Webb.

Prisons Department for Scotland: Male Warder, Alexander Ewen Scott.

H.M. Treasury: Clerk, Special Class, Ernest Henry Jerome.

Post Office: Skilled Workmen, John Campbell Alexander, Alfred John Bailey, Frederick Walter Beazer, Leonard Henry Bliss, Leslie Lionel Cayzer, Percy Aubrey Erswell, Arthur Greenwood, Gilbert Jack Hobbs, Cyril Stephen Hunt, Ernest Gilbert Knight, William Elliot Minto, William John Moon, Harold William Stanley.

Telephonist, London, Doris May Ellwood. Telephonist, Neath, Margaret Elizabeth Wheeler.

Postmen, Adam Barr Gibbon (Glasgow), Arthur Edwin Todd (Dudley and Stourbridge).

Temporary Postman-Messengers, Glen-Zillebeke Frederick Mons Carter, Dennis Maurice Coghlan, James Charnley Craik, Clarence Henry Richards, Francis Walter Stewart.

Under the second proviso of Clause 4 of the General Regulations.

Ministry of Health: Clerks, Special Class, Harold Charles Smith, Ernest Douglas Wilkinson.

Inland Revenue Department: Clerk, Special Class, Percy Meadowcroft Towers.

Ministry of Labour: Clerk, Special Class, William Albert Arthur Watts.

War Office: Mechanical Engineering Draughtsman in War Department Establishments, Henry Arthur Harding Shield.

Established Civilian Employé, George Stanley Ashburner.

Post Office: Postman or Porter, London, William Henry Dakin.

UNDER CLAUSE 10 (B) OF THE GENERAL REGULATIONS.

Ministry of Health: Clerical Class, Reginald Leyshon West.

Typist, Lorna Webber.

Under Clause 11 of the General Regulations.

Post Office: Telephonist, London, Lilian Esther Searle.

August 2, 1933.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Air Ministry: Meteorological Office Clerk, Stanley John Brownridge.

Customs and Excise Department: Male Assistant Preventive Officer, Frederick Charles Bowley.

Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Mary Gregory.

Post Office: Male Assistant Superintendent of Traffic (Class II) in the London Telephone Service or Male Assistant Traffic Superintendent in the Provinces, John Henry Gibson.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Sorters, London, Arthur Miles Read, Frank Albert Rowe, Joseph Reuben Talbot, James Thompson.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Admiralty, H.M. Dockyards and Naval Establishments: Workman, John James Cobb.

Air Ministry: Air Service Clerk (Special Class), John Edward Fullam.

Inland Revenue Department: Clerks, Special Class, Charles Frederick Jenns, George Douglas Morgan.

Ministry of Labour: Clerks, Special Class, Thomas Barry, Austin Edward Healy, John Stewart.

War Office: War Department Clerk (Special), Louis St. Clair Watt.

Post Office: Sales Representative, William Alfred Gronow.

Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist, Skegness, Boston, Noel Arthur George Starmer Barton.

Skilled Workmen, Ernest Alfred William Cooper, Arthur William Noel Garbutt.

Telephonists, London, Vera May Emmins, Constance Lillian Poole, Harriet Ann Radford Sutherland.

Postmen or Porters, London, Alfred Charles Benham, Thomas James Gillett, William Smith.

Postmen, John Ritchie Bolton (Manchester), John William Gooch (Banstead, Epsom), Thomas Arthur Lake (Hull), Charles Peacock (Manchester), Henry Snape (Burnley and Nelson).

Temporary Postman-Messengers, Herbert Frederick Gibbs, Gerald Henry Gooding, Kenneth Lindley, Leonard Macilwaine, Allan Thomson McLaren, George David Parker, George Soave, Robert Alexander Watson.