Piers Alexander Currie, Esq., Chief Clerk, Legal Division, Ministry of Health.

The Reverend Edmund Dale, M.A., D.Litt., Headmaster, Latymer Upper School, Hammersmith.

Alderman William John Esmond, J.P., President of the Carmarthen Divisional Labour Party. For public and political services.

Walter Pearson Fuller, Esq., M.A., Chairman of the London Headmasters' Employment Committee.

Atherton Gray, Esq., J.P., Chairman of the Clackmannan County Education Committee.

Harold Hadden, Esq., F.C.S.I., Chief Property Adviser, Office of the Public Trustee. John Hathorn Hall, Esq., D.S.O., M.C., Principal, Colonial Office.

Peter Kydd Hanton, Esq., M.B.E., A.R.I.B.A., Senior Architect, H.M. Office of Works.

The Very Reverend Joseph Brewer Jobberns, M.A., Dean of Brechin, Chairman of the Angus War Pensions Committee.

John Clague Joughin, Esq., M.B.E., Manager, Constructive Department, H.M. Dockyard, Portsmouth.

Thomas Kelly Liddell, Esq., Chief Conciliation Officer, North Western Division, Ministry of Labour.

William Thomas Matthews, Esq.; M.B.E., Principal, H.M. Treasury.

Charles Middleton, Esq., Chief Constable of Stirlingshire.

Captain Ernest William O'Connor, D.S.C., Senior Captain, Sea Transport Service of the Board of Trade.

Miss Grace Owen, M.Ed., Joint Honorary Secretary of the Nursery School Association of Great Britain.

Miss Evelyn Maud Pennefather. For public services in Kensington. Chairman of the House Committee of the Princess Louise Kensington Hospital for Children.

Thomas Rogers, Esq., J.P., first President of the Wednesbury, Tipton and Darlaston Labour Party in 1918. For public, political and social services.

John Ashwell Stirling, Esq., Secretary, Export Credits Guarantee Department.

Miss Julia Varley, a member of the Work-people's Panel of the Birmingham Court of Referees and a member of the Birmingham Employment Committee. For public services.

Harold Decimus Vigor, Esq., M.B.E., Principal, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

William James Ward, Esq., Deputy Commissioner of Valuation, Ministry of Finance, Northern Ireland.

George Herbert Whybrow, Esq., Principal Clerk, Board of Inland Revenue.

Thomas Marley Wood, Esq., Assistant Controller, Post Office Savings Bank Department.

To be Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Miss Gladys Martin Allen, Chief Superintendent of Typists, H.M. Office of Works.

Miss Lucy Sarah Begg, lately Matron of the Home for Incurables, Putney. Previously Matron of the Cancer Wing, Middlesex Hospital.

ohn Berry, Esq., Superintendo Messengers, Prime Minister's Office. .. John Superintendent

James Walter Blyth, Esq., Superintendent, London Postal Service.

James Brames, Esq., Waterguard Superintendent, First Class, Board of Customs and Excise.

William Fred Brown, Esq., Superintendent, Metropolitan Police (Criminal Investigation

Department).

Captain Cornelius Carmody, Honorary Secretary of the National Association for the Employment of Ex-Soldiers, Sailors and Airmen, Manchester.

Norman John Wilding Cole, Esq., Chairman of the Folkestone, Ashford and District War

Pensions Committee.

Frederick John Coleman, Esq., Staff Officer, Mines Department, Board of Trade.

Miss Annie Mary Davies, Honorary Secretary to the North Wales Nursing Association.

Alys Mary, Mrs. Ealand, M.A., J.P., Chairman of the Bath Juvenile Advisory Committee.

James Forrester, Esq., Commander, Metropolitan Special Constabulary.

Alexander Fraser, Esq., Superintendent and Deputy Chief Constable, Dumbartonshire Constabulary.

Esq., Superintendent and John George, Deputy Chief Constable, Berwickshire Constabulary.

Cecil William Goldsmith, Esq., Staff Clerk, War Office.

Henry William Hobbs, Esq., Examiner, Estate Duty Office, Board of Inland Revenue.

Alderman Luke Hogan, J.P., Vice-Chairman of the Liverpool Employment Committee.

Joseph Paxton Humphery, Esq., F.S.I.A., Chief Sanitary Inspector Borough of Reigate and Honorary Secretary of the Sanitary Inspectors' Association.

John Preston Hytch, Esq., Chief Clerk of the

Birmingham County Court.

William Edward Jones, Esq., Auditor of Accounts, County Courts Branch, Lord Chancellor's Department.

Harry Edwin Joyce, Esq., Engineering Clerk of Works to the Prison Commission, Home Office.

William Wilson Kelso, Esq., Chief Sanitary Inspector for Paisley, and the Senior Chief Inspector in Scotland.

Gertrude, Mrs. Leeson, Chairman of the Children's Sub-Committee of the Birkenhead, Wallasey, Wirrall and District War Pensions Committee.

David McNally, Esq., lately Director of the Information Bureau of the Edinburgh Education Committee.

John Dunbar McQuiston, Esq., Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Labour, Northern Ireland.

Miss Maude Leslie Martin, R.R.C., Matron, Queen Alexandra Hospital (Ministry of Pensions), Cosham, Hampshire.

Miss Emily Louise Mason, Supervisor, London Postal Service.

Miss Sarah Ellen Morris, Superintendent of the Lincolnshire County Nursing Association, and Inspector of Midwives.

Walter Philip Kerr Neale, Esq., Private Secretary to the Permanent Secretary to the Ministry of Transport.

John Elliott Nichols, Esq., Accountant, Board of Trade.

Miss Janet Campbell Papple, formerly Teacher of Domestic Subjects, Hampshire.