St. James's Palace, March 28, 1929.

This day had Audience of The Prince of Wales, acting on behalf of The KING:—

Señor Doctor Don Leopoldo Ortiz, to present the letters of recall of his predecessor, Señor Doctor Don Gilberto Valenzuela, and his own letters of credence, as Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary from the United States of Mexico.

. Whitehall, April 3, 1929.

The KING has been pleased, by Royal Warrant bearing date the 22nd ultimo, to appoint George Cecil Whiteley, Esq., K.C., to be Recorder of the Borough of West Ham.

Whitehall, April 3, 1929.

The KING has been pleased, by Royal Warrant bearing date the 23rd ultimo, to appoint Gervais Squire Chittick Rentoul, Esq., to be Recorder of the Borough of Sandwich.

Whitehall, April 3, 1929.

The KING has been pleased, by Royal Warrant bearing date the 23rd ultimo, to appoint Stephen Riou Benson, Esq., to be Recorder of the Borough of Abingdon.

WORKMEN'S COMPENSATION ACT, 1925.

The Secretary of State for the Home Department has appointed John Charles Galloway, Esq., M.D., of Castle Street, Banff, to be one of the Medical Referees under the above Act, for Banff County (Sheriffdom of Aberdeen, Kincardine, and Banff), in place of Dr. W. Fergusson (resigned).

Whitehall, 3rd April, 1929.

The Home Secretary gives notice that in pursuance of Section 2 (1) of the Employment of Women, Young Persons and Children Act, 1920, he has made an Order authorising the employment on two day-shifts, of women of 18 and young persons of 16 years of age and over in winding light transformer coils at the works of The British Thomson-Houston Company Limited, Rugby, subject to the conditions that a worker shall not be employed in the afternoon shift in consecutive weeks and that suitable accommodation for clothing put off during working hours, washing facilities and adequate means of warming food and boiling water shall be provided.

Whitehall, 3rd April, 1929.

COUNTY OF DERBY.

THE CORONERS (AMENDMENT) ACT, 1926.

ORDER FOR THE CONSTITUTION OF CORONERS' DISTRICTS.

Whereas on the first day of April 1929, a vacancy occurred in the office of Franchise Coroner for the Hundred of Scarsdale;

And whereas by the operation of Section 4 of the Coroners (Amendment) Act, 1926, the area over which the Franchise Coroner for the said Hundred of Scarsdale had jurisdiction thereupon became merged in the County of Derby for all purposes relating to Coroners;

And whereas the County of Derby is not at present divided into Coroners' Districts;

And whereas the Derbyshire County Council have pursuant to Section 12 of the said Act and to the Coroners (Orders as to Districts) Rules, 1927, submitted to the Secretary of State a draft Order providing for the division of the County of Derby into two Coroners' districts;

Now, therefore, I, the undersigned, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, in pursuance of the power vested in me by Section 12 of the Coroners (Amendment) Act, 1926, do hereby Order that the County of Derby shall be divided into two Coroners' Districts, and that the said Districts shall be named and constituted as set out in the Schedule hereto.

This Order shall come into operation on the second day of April, 1929.

(Signed) W. Joynson-Hicks,
One of His Majesty's Principal
Secretaries of State.

533850/5 Home Office, Whitehall. 2nd April, 1929.

SCHEDULE.

No. 1.—The Scarsdale Coroner's District, comprising:—

The Parish and Borough of Chesterfield, and the Civil Parishes of:—

Alfreton, Ashover, Blackwell, Brackenfield, Clay Lane, Morton, Pilsley, Pinxton, Shirland and Higham, South Normanton, South Wingfield, Stretton, Tibshelf, and Wessington, within the Alfreton Petty Sessional Division.

Ault Hucknall, Barlow, Bolsover, Brampton, Brimington, Calow, Egstow, Glapwell, Hasland, Heath, North Wingfield, Pleasley, Scarcliffe, Shirebrook, Staveley, Sutton-cum-Duckmanton, Temple Normanton, Tupton, Upper Langwith, Walton, Wingerworth, and Woodthorpe, within the Chesterfield Petty Sessional Division.

Barlborough, Beauchief, Beighton, Clowne, Coal Aston, Dore, Dronfield, Dronfield Woodhouse, Eckington, Elmton-with-Creswell, Holmesfield, Killamarsh, Norton, Totley, Unstone, and Whitwell, within the Eckington Petty Sessional Division.