#### UNIVERSITY OF OXFORD.

STATUTE APPROVED BY CONGREGATION ON Tuesday, June 7, 1927.

WHEREAS it is expedient to amend Sectio 1 of Titulus IV of the Statutes of the University of Oxford so as to provide for the payment of special allowances to certain Professors in respect of their duties as Heads of Departments: NOW the said University, in exercise of the powers in that behalf conferred upon it by the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge Act, 1923, and of all other powers enabling it, ENACTS, SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF HIS MAJESTY IN COUNCIL, AS FOLLOWS.

In Statt. Tit. IV. Sect. 1, after § 4 (Statuta, ed. 1926, p. 65) the following new sub-section shall be inserted:-

- " § 5. Concerning special allowances to certain Heads of Departments.
- 1. In addition to the emoluments provided under the previous sub-section each Professor in the Schedule annexed to this sub-section shall receive from the Government Grant a sum of £200 a year by way of special allowance in respect of his duties as Head of the Department of which he is in charge, provided that he shall undertake not to receive any direct or indirect payment from any funds of, or at the disposal of, his Department or Laboratory.
- 2. Any question arising as to the interpretation of the provisions of this sub-section may be referred to the Visitatorial Board and the decision of that Board shall be final

# Temporary Provision.

3. No Professor who possesses a right to retain a portion of the fees received from Students working in his Department under the provisions of the Statute Concerning fees payable to certain Professors', as that Statute stood in 1914, shall be entitled to receive any emoluments under the provisions of this subsection unless he shall agree to renounce such right for so long as his name appears in the Schedule annexed hereto.

### SCHEDULE.

Savilian Professor of Astronomy.

Wykeham Professor of Physics.

Waynflete Professor of Chemistry.

Professor of Geology.

Sibthorpian Professor of Rural Economy.

Linacre Professor of Zoology and Comparative . Anatomy.

Waynflete Professor of Physiology.

Whitley Professor of Biochemistry.

Professor of Pathology.

Sherardian Professor of Botany.

Professor of Engineering Science.

Dr. Lee's Professor of Anatomy.

Dr. Lee's Professor of Chemistry.

Experimental Lee's Professor of Philosophy.

Professor of Forestry.

Professor of Pharmacology."

THE GRAND PRIORY IN THE BRITISH REALM OF THE VENERABLE ORDER OF THE HOSPITAL OF ST. JOHN OF JERUSALEM.

> Chancery of the Order, St. John's Gate, Clerkenwell, London, E.C. 1. 21st June, 1927.

The KING has been graciously pleased to sanction the following promotions in and appointments to the Venerable Order of the Hospital of St. John of Jerusalem:—

## as Knights of Grace.

Field Marshal Sir William Riddell Birdwood, Bt., G.C.B., G.C.M.G., K.C.S.I., C.I.E., D.S.O., LL.D.

H.E. General Sir John Philip Du Cane, K.C.B., A.D.C., R.A.

#### as Chaplains.

The Rt. Rev. Rollestone Sterritt Fyffe, D.D., Bishop of Rangoon.

The Rev. Alfred Charles Eustace Jarvis, C.M.G., M.C., D.D.

The Most Rev. Alfred George Edwards, D.D., Archbishop of Wales.

### as Commanders.

George Locke, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P. Ed. Lieut.-Colonel William Baron Cockill, T.D., M.D.

Major John Orton, M.D.

Sir Berkeley George Andrew Moynihan, Bt., K.C.M.G., C.B., P.R.C.S. Colonel Sir Joseph Alfred Bradney, C.B.,

T.D., F.S.A.

Urban Marks, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P.

Edwin Dawes (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).

Frederick Lomax, M.B.E. (promotion to date

from 12th June, 1926).
Anthony Douglas MacTier (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).

William Doig Robb (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926). Cecil John Read MacFadden, O.B.E., M.D.

(promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).

James Page, M.B.E. (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).

Isaac Gibson Modlin, O.B.E., M.D. (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).
Colonel George Easton, C.B.E. (promotion to

date from 12th June, 1926).

John James Cockshott, O.B.E. (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).

William George Smith (promotion to date from

12th June, 1926). Major Henry Alexander Balbi, M.B.E. (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).

Boles Reeves Rainsford (promotion to date

from 12th June, 1926).

Herbery Langley Jones (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).

Charles Gordon Ewart (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).

William Henry Mann, M.B.E. (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).

Dudley Evelyn Bruce McCorkell, M.B.E. (promotion to date from 12th June, 1926).
Sir John Wyndham Beynon, Bt., C.B.E.

(promotion to date from 12th June, 1926). Aneurin Gomer Emlyn Jones Fudge (pro-

motion to date from 12th June, 1926).