County of Lancaster to the West Riding of the County of York by the Local Government Act, 1888, 51 & 52 Vict. c. 41; the County of Chester (except that portion which includes the parishes of Church Lawton, Odd Rode and Wildboardough, and the portion situated on the east side of the North Staffordshire Railway from Mow Cop Station to North Rode Station, and south of the North Staffordshire Railway from North Rode Station to Rushton Station); the Counties of Flint, Denbigh, Montgomery, Merioneth, Carnarvon and Anglesey

No. 6 or Cardiff and Newport Division, consisting of the County of Monmouth; so much of the County of Glamorgan as includes the parishes of Aberdare, Rhondda, Llantrisant, Coychurch Higher, Pencoed, Coychurch Lower, Llan-Gan, Colwinston, Llandow and St. Donats, and all parishes to the East thereof; so much of the County of Brecon as includes the parishes of Llyswen, Llandefalle, Llanfilo, Llan-y-wern, Llanhamlach, Llanfrynach, Cantref, Penderyn and all parishes to the East thereof; the Counties of Radnor and Cardigan.

No. 7 or Swansea Division, consisting of the Counties of Carmarthen, Pembroke, West Glamorgan (namely, that part of the County of Glamorgan not included in the Cardiff and Newport Division), and West Brecon (namely, that part of the County of Brecon not included in the Cardiff and New-

port Division)

No. 8 or Midland and Southern Division consisting of so much of the County of Chester as is not included in the Lancashire and North Wales Division, and the Counties Salop, of Stafford, Warwick, Worcester, Hereford, Gloucester, Northampton, Rutland, Huntingdon, Cambridge, Oxford, Oxford, Berks, Buckingham, Bedford, Hertford. Middlesex, Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Somerset, Devon, Cornwall, Dorset, Wilts, Southampton, London, Surrey, Sussex, and Kent.

2. The Mines Inspection Divisions Order of the 23rd April, 1913, is hereby revoked.

3. This Order may be cited as the Mines and Quarries (Inspection Divisions) Order, 1924, and shall come into force on the First day of

September, 1924.

Copies of the above Order can be purchased directly from H.M. Stationery Office, Imperial House, Kingsway, London, W.C. 2; and 28, Abingdon Street, London, S.W. 1; York Street, Manchester; 1, St. Andrew's Crescent, Cardiff; or 120, George Street, Edinburgh; or through any bookseller.

E. Shinwell,

Secretary for Mines.

Mines Department, Dean Stanley Street, Millbank, S.W. 1.

12th August, 1924.

Admiralty, 18th August, 1924.

R.N.

Comdr. C. Pinsent placed on Retd. List. at own request. 11th Aug. 1924.

R.N.R.

Payr. Lieuts. to be Payr. Lieut.-Comdrs. :-

H. J. Poole.E. J. Davies.F. B. Jacob.

24th July 1924.

Admiralty, 19th August, 1924.

R.N.R.

Lieut. (retd.) A. M. K. Saul to be Lieut.-Comdr. (retd.). 4th Aug. 1924.

Lieuts. (retd.) be Lieut.-Comdrs. to (retd.):-

C. A. Panchard.

H. C. Coles.

P. S. Smith.

J. I. Harrison, D.S.C. 1st Aug. 1924.

Lieuts. to be Lieut.-Comdrs.:-

A. Stewart.

E. A. A. Crowley.

H. Elliott.

R. Gowthorpe.

1st Aug. 1924.

R.N.V.R.

Paymr. Sub-Lieut. P. C. Bunney to be Paymr. Lieut. 1st Jan. 1924.

Admiralty, 20th August, 1924.

R.N.

Comd. Gnr. J. S. Linsey to be Lieut. 30thJune 1924

Lieut.-Comdr. F. L. Back, D.S.O. (retd.), to be Comdr. (retd.). 14th Aug. 1924.

R.N.R.

Lieuts. to be Lieut.-Comdrs.:—

C. R. Cowap.

J. R. Stenhouse, D.S.O., O.B.E., D.S.C. 1st Aug. 1924.

Lieuts. (retd.) to be Lieut.-Comdrs. (retd.):—

J. H. Craine.

E. Brown.

1st Aug. 1924.

War Office, 22nd August, 1924.

MEMORANDA.

The promotion to the Brevet rank of Lt.-Col. of Maj. (now Col.) A. S. Cotton, C.M.G., C.B.E., D.S.O., A.M., h.p. list, late R.A., notified in the Gazette of 3rd June 1916, page 5564, bears date 28th Feb. 1916. (Substituted for the notification in the Gazette of 9th June 1916, page 5744.) Capt. W. Anderson, D.S.O., M.C., 6th. Bn. North'd. Fus. (T.A.), to be Bt. Maj.

To be dated 19th May 1920.