Captains to be Majors—

E. G. Ford. 5th Aug. 1921. R. F. Lewis. 17th Aug. 1922.

L. R. Messum. 17th Aug. 1922.

# Lieutenants to be Captains-

12th Sept. 1922.

T. H. F. Le Mesurier, F. J. Matthews, A. E.

Second Lieutenant to be Lieutenant-

R. St. B. Emmott. 10th May 1919.

# INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

The undermentioned temp. Lieuts. who have subsequently been granted permanent Commissions to be temp. Capts., with effect from the dates specified:-

Satyendra Nath Mukerji, F.R.C.S.E. 20th Nov. 1915.

Mohamed Moosa Khan. 26th Nov. 1915.

Hira Singh Anand. 26th Nov. 1915.

I. D. Grant (since resigned). 5th Dec. 1915.

Ambuj Nath Bose. 8th Dec. 1915. Sundar Das Sondhi, M.C., M.B. 20th July 1916.

Rustam Merwan Kharegat, M.B. 11th Sept.

Jelal Moochool Shah, M.B.E. 17th Dec. 1916.

### INDIAN ARMY DEPARTMENTS.

Deputy Commissaries with rank of Captain to be Commissaries with rank of Major-

F. Snook. 29th May 1922.

E. Humphreys. 18th Aug 1922.

E. J. Harrison. 21st Aug. 1922.

Assistant Commissaries with rank of Lieutenant to be Deputy Commissaries with rank of Captain-

E. Ashfield, and to remain seconded. 18th Aug. 1922.

C. Greenford. 18th Aug. 1922.

W. D. Proctor. 21st Aug. 1922.

To be Assistant Commissaries with rank of Lieutenant Conductors-

Patrick Walsh, and to remain seconded. 1st Apr. 1922.

William Thomas Warmington (since retired). 1st Apr. 1922.

Alfred Spooner. 29th May 1922.

Edward Francis Sanderson, and to remain seconded. 16th July 1922. Peter Smith. 16th July 1922.

The KING has approved the appointment of the undermentioned Indian Officers, now holding temp. commns., to permanent commns on the Unattached List for the Ind. Army, and their admission to the Ind. Army, with effect from 17th July 1920, with seniority in the order in which their names are shown below:-

# INDIAN ARMY.

Sher Muhammad Khan, Ajaib Singh, Abdul Rahim Khan, Maung Ba Hpu, Gul Sher Khan, Kodandera Madappa Carriappa, Philip Poonoose, Satyabrata Singh Roy, Visheshar Nauth Sing, Digvijaysinji, Daulat Sen, Muhammad Akhbar Khan, Muhammad Ali Khan, Maung Kin Maung, Jehangir Rustom Hormasji Cama, Chittar Singh, Jai Singh, Cheppulira Biddayya Ponnappa, Autar Singh, Muhammad Munir Khan, Maung Aye, Bakshi Chand, Pritam Singh Bukhshi, Golaknath Chatterji, Hamid Ullah Khan, Ari Sal, Ajit Anil Rudra, Sajjan Singh, Mir Haider, Mahsud Hayat Khan, Muhammad Ayub Khan, Pratap Singhji.

Note.—Lon. Gaz. notifus., dated 8th Aug., 22nd Sept. and 20th Oct. 1922 regarding the above officers are hereby cancelled.

Note.—In Lon. Gaz. notifn., dated 31st Jan. 1919, regarding the admission of Lieut. (now Capt.) Donald James Dow, M.C., for "2nd Mar. 1917" as date of rank, read "2nd April 1917.''

The KING has approved the grant of an honorary commn. to the undermentioned, with effect from the date specified:-

# INDIAN ARMY.

To be Honorary Captain-

Risaldar Major & Hon. Lieut. Prem Singh, Sardar Bahadar. 17th Oct. 1920.

The KING has approved the relinquishment of their temp. commns. by the following officers, with effect from the dates specified, and the grant of rank as shown below:

#### INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Capt. Harendra Nath Bose is permitted to retain the rank of Capt. 19th Sept. 1922.

# INDIAN ARMY RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Capt. E. Edgar. 22nd July 1922.

The KING has approved the resignation of the undermentioned officer, with effect from the date specified:

#### INDIAN MEDICAL SERVICE.

Note.—The resignation of Lieut. H. Donovan, M.B., is postdated from the 4th Aug. 1922 (as notified in the Lon. Gaz. dated 13th Oct. 1922) to 15th Aug. 1922.

# INDIAN ARMY RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Lieut. C. E. Simpson, M.B.E. (now deceased). 13th Aug. 1922.

The KING has approved the retirement of the following officers, with effect from the dates specified: -

#### INDIAN ARMY.

Col. W. J. Ottley. 24th May 1922. Lt.-Col. B. H. Ryves (temp. non-effective list), on account of ill-health. 23rd Aug. 1922.

Lt.-Col. A. F. Stewart. 28th Sept. 1922.

The undermentioned, whose retirement, with effect from 1st Feb. 1921, was notified in the Lon. Gaz. dated 1st Apr. 1921, is granted the rank of Lt.-Col. on retirement:-Maj. J. F. Woodham.

Note.—The retirement of Lt.-Col. T. L. Ormiston is postdated from 30th May 1922 (as