and appointments to the Most Honourable Order of the Bath:—

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Honourable Order:

George William Chrystal, Esq., C.B. Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Pen-

Walter Frederick Nicholson, Esq., C.B. Secretary to the Air Ministry.

James Arthur Salter, Esq., C.B. Secretary, Reparation Commission. Robert Russell Scott, Esq., C.B., C.S.I.

Controller of Establishments, Treasury.

Thomas Lonsdale Webster, Esq., C.B. Clerk of the House of Commons.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:—

Frank Ashley Barrett, Esq.

Commissioner and Secretary, Board of Inland Revenue.

George Alexander Calder, Esq. Ex-Secretary, Public Works Loan Board. Sir Frederick William Alfred Clarke.

Accountant-General, Board of Customs and Excise.

Joseph Beardsell Crosland, Esq. Senior Director of Finance, War Office.

Arthur Lewis Dixon, Esq., C.B.E.
Assistant Scoretary, Home Office.
William James Evans, Esq., C.B.E.

Director of Establishments, Admiralty.

Egerton Spencer Grey, Esq.

Senior Official Receiver in Bankruptcy in 1919. Appointed in that year to be Controller of the Enemy Debts Clearing Office. Honourable Ronald Charles Lindsay,

Minister Plenipotentiary in the Diplo-Assistant Under Secretary matic Service. for Foreign Affairs since January, 1921.

John Rowland, Esq., C.B.E.
Commissioner, Welsh Board of Health. Oswald Richard Arthur Simpkin, Esq.,

Public Trustee.

C.B.E

Brigadier-General Frederic Herbert Williamson, C.B.E.

Assistant Secretary, General Post Office.

## CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

St. James's Palace, S.W. 1, 3rd June, 1922.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotion in and appointments to the Most Exalted Order of the Star of India:-

To be Knights Commanders of the said Most Exalted Order:

Raja Sir Muhammad Ali Muhammad Khan, Khan Bahadur, K.C.I.E., C.S.I., of Mahmudabad, Member of the Governor's Executive Council, United Provinces.

Sir Jamsetjee Jejeebhoy, Bart., Bombay. Sir Sassoon Jacob David, Bart., President, Bombay Municipality.

Sir William Mitchell Acworth, M.A.

To be Companions of the said Most Exalted Order :-

Major-General Walter Clarence Black, C.I.E., Indian Army, Military Secretary to His Excellency the Commander-in-Chief.

Leslie Harry Saunders, Esq., Indian Civil Service, Judicial Commissioner, Upper Burma.

George Bancroft Lambert, Esq., Indian Civil Service, Chief. Secretary to Government, United Provinces.

Basil Copleston Allen, Esq., Indian Civil Service, Commissioner, Assam Valley Division.

John Edward Webster, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, Commissioner, Surma Valley and Hill Districts, Assam.

Thomas Eyebron Moir, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, Secretary to Government, Finance Department, Madras.

M. R. Ry. Diwan Bahadur Raghunatha Rao Ramachandra Rao Avargal, Secretary Government, Law Department, Madras.

Major Cyril Charles Johnson Barrett, C.I.E., Bombay Political Service, First Assistant Resident, Aden.

Sirdar Bahadur Nawab Mehrab Khan, Chief of the Bugti tribe, Baluchistan.

## Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George,

Downing Street, 3rd June, 1922.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of His Majesty's Birthday, to give directions for the following promotion in and appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

The Honourable Henry Newman Barwell, LL.B., Premier and Attorney-General of the State of South Australia.

Lieutenant-Colonel Edward Charles Frederick Garraway, C.M.G., Resident Commissioner, Basutoland.

John Shuckburgh Risley, Esq., K.C., C.B., Legal Adviser, Colonial Office

To be an Honorary Member of the Second Class, or Knight's Commanders, of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

His Highness Suleiman ibni almerhum Sultan Zainalabidin, Sultan of Trengganu.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Distinguished Order:

William Herbert Barrett, Esq., an Assistant General Manager of Railways and Harbours, Union of South Africa.

Albert Ruskin Cook, Esq., M.D., O.B.E., in recognition of services to the Uganda Protectorate.

James Corbett Davis, Esq., Treasurer to the Zanzibar Government.

Carl de Verteuil, Esq., lately a Member of the Legislative Council of the Colony of Trinidad and Tobago, in recognition of services to agriculture.