ELECTRICITY COMMISSION. ELECTRICITY (SUPPLY) ACT, 1919.

EAST MIDLANDS ELECTRICITY DISTRICT.

REORGANISATION OF ELECTRICITY SUPPLY IN PARTS OF THE COUNTIES OF DERBY, LEICESTER, NOTTINGHAM AND STAFFORD.

Notice is hereby given, that the Electricity Commissioners have provisionally determined that the undermentioned area shall be constituted a separate Electricity District for the purposes of the Electricity (Supply) Act, 1919, that is to say:—

So much of the county of Derby as is included in:—

The county borough of Derby:

The municipal borough of Ilkeston:

The urban districts of Alfreton, Alvaston and Boulton, Ashbourne, Belper, Heage, Heanor, Long Eaton, Ripley, Swadlincote District and Wirksworth:

The rural districts of Ashbourne, Belper, Hartshorne and Seals, Repton, Shardlow and Sudbury.

So much of the county of Leicester as :s included in:-

The county borough of Leicester:

The municipal borough of Loughborough:
The urban districts of Ashby-de-la-Zouch,
Ashby Woulds, Coalville, Melton Mowbray,
Oadby, Quorndon, Shepshed, Thurmaston
and Wigston Magna:

The rural districts of Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Barrow-upon-Soar, Belvoir, Billesdon, Blaby, Castle Donington, Loughborough, Market Bosworth and Melton Mowbray:

So much of the county of Nottingham as is included in:—

The city and county borough of Notting-

The municipal boroughs of Mansfield and Newark

The urban districts of Arnold, Beeston, Carlton, Eastwood, Hucknall Torkard, Huthwaite, Kirkby-in-Ashfield, Mansfield Woodhouse, Sutton-in-Ashfield, Warsop and West Bridgford:

The rural districts of Basford, Bingham, Leake, Newark, Skegby, Southwell and Stapleford:

So much of the county of Stafford as is included in:-

The county borough of Burton-upon-Trent:

The rural district of Tutbury, except the portions known as Tutbury Rural District detached No. 1 and Tutbury Rural District detached No. 2:

which area is more particularly delineated on a map which is available for public inspection at the County Offices, Derby; the County Offices, Leicester; the Shire Hall, Nottingham; the County Buildings, Stafford; the Guildhall, Nottingham; the Town Hall, Leicester; the Town Hall, Derby; the Town Hall, Burton-upon-Trent; the Town Hall, Ilkeston; the Municipal Offices, Loughborough; the Town Hall, Newark; the Town Hall, Mansfield; the Urban District Council Offices, Ashbourne; the Urban District Council Offices, Belper; the

Urban District Council Offices, Alfreton; the Urban District Council Offices, Heanor; the Urban District Council Offices, Long Eaton, the Urban District Council Offices, Swadlincote; the Urban District Council Offices, Wirksworth; the Urban District Council Offices, Coalville; the Urban District Council Offices, Ashby-de-la-Zouch; the Urban District Council Offices, Melton Mowbray; the Urban District Council Offices, Warsop; the Urban District Council Offices, East Kirkby; the Urban District Council Offices, Sutton-in-Ashfield; and the Urban District Council Offices, Eastwood.

Objections or representations may be made on account of the inclusion of any area in, or the exclusion of any area from, the district so provisionally determined, and all such objections or representations must be made in writing addressed to The Secretary, Electricity Commission, Gwydyr House, Whitehall, London, S.W. 1, and must reach the said offices of the Commissioners not later than the 31st day of March, 1921; any such objection or representation should state:—(a) The area or part of the area in respect of which the objection or representation is made, described in terms of the Local Government boundaries, and shown on an ordnance map on a scale of one inch to the mile; (b) the omission or addition desired, and the specific grounds for exclusion or inclusion; and, in the case of any area proposed to be excluded from the district, should specify any alternative proposal for an improvement in the organisation of the supply of electricity in such area.

It being apparent to the Electricity Commissioners that the existing organisation for the supply of electricity in the district so provisionally determined should be improved, notice is hereby further given, that they intend to hold a local inquiry into the matter, and any authorised undertakers as defined in the Electricity (Supply) Act, 1919, any county council, any local authority, any railway company using or proposing to use electricity for traction purposes, any large consumer of electricity, and any association or body directly concerned with the production or use of electrical energy within the district may, on or before the said 31st day of March, 1921, submit in writing a scheme for effecting such improvement in organisation, including the formation of a joint electricity authority for the district, and any proposals for altering or adjusting the boundaries of the district so provisionally determined. Any such body or person can obtain from the Secretary, Electricity Commission, a memorandum as to the heads under which any such scheme should be prepared, and of the particulars (administrative, technical and financial) which should be forwarded to the Commissioners in support thereof, together with information as to steps to be taken in connection with the submission of the scheme.

Notice will be given of the date of the proposed inquiry.

R. T. G. French,
Secretary to the
Electricity Commissioners.

Electricity Commission,
Gwydyr House,
Whitehall,
London, S.W. 1.
20th October, 1920.