R.M. Forces.

Col. Comdt. (tempy. Brig.-Gen.) Gunning M. Campbell, C.B., A.d.C., R.M.A., to be Adjutant-General of the Royal Marine Forces. 2nd July 1920.

Admiralty, 16th July, 1920. R.M.

Lionel Louis Loewe to be tempy. Hon. Capt., Unattached List, R.M. 15th July 1920.

Admiralty, 17th July, 1920.

Payr. Sub-Lieut. Bernard O. S. Savage placed on Retired List at own request. 12th July 1920.

Divisional Chief Officer of Coast Guard John Pratt granted rank of Lieut. on retirement. 18th July 1920.

R.N.R.

- Lieut.-Cdr. John Robertson placed on Retired List with rank of Cdr. 2nd July 1920. Lieut. (actg. Lieut.-Cdr.) George M. Mercer,
- D.S.C., to be Lieut.-Cdr. 1st July 1920.
- Sub-Lieut. (actg. Lieut.) Gilbert Stevens to be Lieut. 15th Sept. 1919.

Admiralty, 19th July, 1920.

Lieut. Cdr. Alfred M. Winser placed on Retd. List. 19th June 1920. Lieut. Vincent H. P. Molteno, D.S.C., placed

Lieut. Vincent H. P. Molteno, D.S.C., placed on the Retired List, medically unfit. 5th July 1920.

Admiralty, 20th July, 1920.

Rev. Robert R. Churchill, M.A., transferred to the Permanent List of Chaplains, with original seniority. 1st Sept. 1915.

Lieut.-Cdr. Chas. H. Rolleston placed on the Retd. List at own request. 20th July 1920.

Engr. Cdr. Frank S. Moss placed on Retd. List at own request, with rank of Engr. Capt. 17th July 1920.

The following officers have been placed on Retired List at own request: ---

Lieut.-Cdr. Harold N. Key. 16th July 1920.

Lieut. Frederick A. Tollemache. 17th July 1920.

Engr. Lieut. Richard W. Cogger. 20th July 1920.

Lieut. Jack D. Walters. 16th July 1920. Engr. Comdr. William S. Torrance, D.S.O. 20th July 1920.

Commissions signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of London.

- Colonel Sidney Wishart, V.D., to be a Deputy Lieutenant of the County of London. Dated 20th July, 1920.
- Major Oswald Cecil Magniac, to be a Deputy Lieutenant of the County of London. Dated 20th July, 1920.

James Daniel Gilbert, J.P., M.P., to be a Deputy Lieutenant of the County of London. Dated 20th July, 1920.

Commissions signed by the Lord Lieutenant of the County of Wilts.

The Most Honourable The Marquess of Ailesbury, D.S.O.,

Sir Vincent Henry Penalver Caillard,

Admiral Sir Richard Poore, Baronet, K.C.B., C.V.O.,

to be Deputy Lieutenants.

Dated the 19th day of July, 1920.

Air Ministry.

23rd July, 1920.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

PERMANENT COMMISSIONS.

The notification in the Gazette of the 1st Aug. 1919 appointing Lieut. F. Everett (T.) to a permanent commission is cancelled.

The surnames of the following officers are as now described, and not as shown in the Gazette of the 1st Aug. 1919:---

Maj. John Kilner Wells (T.).

Lt. Gilbert Henry Elliot (O.).

Lt. Frederick Frank Garraway (A.).

The name of Flight Lt. James Anderson Slater, M.C., D.F.C. (A.), is as now described, and not as shown in the Gazette of the 28th Oct. 1919.

SHORT SERVICE COMMISSIONS.

The following officers are granted short service commissions in the ranks stated, with effect from the dates indicated, retaining their seniority in the substantive rank last held by them prior to the grant of this commission, except where otherwise stated : —

Flight Lieutenants.

Walter Fraser Anderson, D.S.O., D.F.C. (A.). 21st July 1920.

`John Osborn Groves (A.). 14th July 1920.

Gerard Robert Hill (Ad.). 1st Apr. 1920 (for duration of present appointment).

Flying Officer (from Flight Lieutenant).

Norman Herford Dimmock, A.F.C. (A.). 19th July 1920.

Flying Officers.

21st July 1920.

Joseph Henry Hargroves (A.). Maitland Hyslop (A.).

19th July 1920.

Charles William Bragg (A.). Arthur Michael George Cosgrave (A.). Clifton Gordon Ferrell (A.).

14th July 1920.

Francis Joseph Fogarty (A.). Leslie Hamilton, D.F.C. (A.). Samuel Lewis Hope Potter (A.).

7776