Sir John Denison-Pender, K.C.M.G.

Managing Director of Eastern Telegraph Company.

Edward Aurelian Ridsdale, Esq.

Vice-Chairman of Executive Committee, British Red Cross Society:

Arthur Everett Shipley, Esq., F.R.S., LL.D., D.Sc.

Vice-Chancellor of Cambridge University. Sir Henry Babington Smith, C.H., K.C.B., C.S.I.

Acted as Deputy to the Earl of Reading in the United States of America.

To be Dames Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Alice, Mrs. Chisholm, C.B.E.

Voluntary worker, Soldiers' Club and Rest Camp, Kantara West.

Janet Lucretia, Dowager Countess of Eglinton and Winton, LL.D

President, Ayrshire Branch, British Red Cross Society.

Louise Beatrice Augusta, Countess of Gosford. President of the Central Workrooms, British Red Cross Society.

Una Constance, Mrs. Pope-Hennessy.

Central Prisoners of War Committee, British Red Cross Society.

Catherine Reeve, Mrs. Hunt. Chairman of the Sailors' and Soldiers' Families' Association and Honorary Secretary of the Local War Pensions Committee, Colchester.

Alice Emily, Countess of Leicester.

President, Norfolk Branch, British Red Cross Society.

Isabel Charlotte, Baroness Talbot de Malahide.

President, County of Dublin Branch of the British Red Cross Society, and of the Irish Joint Red Cross and St. John Executive Committee.

Beryl Carnegy, Lady Oliver, C.B E., R.R.C. Head of the Naval and Military V.A.D. Department, Devonshire House.

Margaret, Viscountess Dowager Rhondda.

Chairman of Women's Advisory Committee of National War Savings Committee. Clara, Mrs. Butt-Rumford.

For ungrudging and patriotic service during the war.

Louise Victoria, Mrs. Samuel, O.B.E.

One of the founders of the War Refugees Committee in August, 1914.

Ethel Mary Reader, Mrs. Shakespear, M.B.E., D.Sc.

Honorary Secretary, Birmingham War Pensions Committee.

Miss Meriel Lucy Talbot, C.B.E.
Director of Women's Branch, Board of Agriculture.

Miss Sophia Gertrude Wintz.

Superintendent of the Royal Sailors' Rests.

To be Knights Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Westcott Stile Abell, Esq.
Chief Surveyor to Lloyd's Register of Shipping.

Martin Arnold Abrahamson, Esq.

Vice-President and Chairman of the British Red Cross Society, Copenhagen Bureau; Commissioner for Repatriation of British Prisoners of War.

Patrick Dalreagle Agnew, Esq., C.B.E.

Vice-Chairman and Managing Director. Central Prisoners of War Committee.

Brigadier-General William Alexander, C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O., T.D.

Director-General of Purchases, Ministry of Munitions, and Controller of Aircraft Supply.

George Henry Ashdown, Esq., C.B.E., I.S.O. of Stores, Director Admiralty, Admiralty Representative on International Petroleum Committee.

Henry Walter Badock, Esq., C.S.I. Accountant-General, India Office. Thomas Baker, Esq., J.P.

Ex-Mayor of Plymouth; for valuable war work.

Isaac Bayley Balfour, Esq., LL.D., M.D., D.Sc., F.R.S.

Professor of Botany, University of Edinburgh, Regius Keeper of Koyal Botanic Gardens, Edinburgh.

Captain Walter de Mouchet Baynham, R.D. Master, S.S. "Ormonde."

Lieutenant-Colonel Samuel Henry Egerton Barraclough, C.B.E.

In charge of Australian Munition Workers.

James Beattie, Esq.

In charge of Jute Goods Depôt and Honorary Director of Flax Office at Dundee, Department of the Surveyor-General of Supply, War Office; Managing Director, Messrs. A. & S. Henry & Co. Limited.

Mayson Moss Beeton, Esq.

For services in connection with the Newfoundland Forestry Corps.

Sir Thomas Henry Devereux Berridge.

Walter Wheeler Berry, Esq., J.P.

Development Commissioner; representative of Board of Agriculture on the Hop Control Committee and on various other Committees; Member of Agricultural Advisory Council, etc.

Arthur Ernest Blake, Esq., J.P.

For work, in connection with War Loan, Savings Banks and services on the Nottingham Parliamentary Recruiting Committee and Tribunal.

William Henry Bragg, Esq., C.B.E., D Sc.,

F.R.S.

Quain Professor of Physics, University of Admiralty London; Superintendent of Experimental Station at Parkston.

Harry Samuel Bickerton Brindley, Esq.

Ministry of Munitions. Herbert Brown, Esq.

Organiser of the British Farmers' Red Cross Fund.

Joseph Burn, Esq., C.B.E.

Member of National War Savings Com-

Cyril Kendall Butler, Ecq., J.P.

Chief British Representative, Inter-Allied Food and Relief Mission, Vienna. Gordon Huntly Campbell, Esq.

Chairman, Collections Committee, British Red Cross Society and Order of St. John. Frederick William Chance, Esq , J.P., D.L.

Chairman of Committee for State Purchase undertakings in the Carlisle Area.

Captain James Thomas Walter Charles, C.B.,

Ĉ.B.E., R.D., R.N.R. Master, S.S. "Aquitania."

Captain Benjamin Chave.
Master, S.S. "Carisbrooke Castle." Robert Waley Cohen, Esq.

Petroleum Adviser to the War Office.