appointing the following officers to short service commissions, are cancelled:-

16th Sept. 1919.

Flight Lieut. William Mayes Fry, M.O.

24th Oct. 1919.

Flight Lieut. Harold Hemming, A.F.C. (A.).

Flying Officer Marthinus Theunis Steyn

Papenfus, D.F.C. (A.).
Flying Officer Algernon Cyril Townend,
A.F.C. (A.) (amended by Gazette of 28th Nov. 1919).

5th Dec. 1919.

Flight Lieut. Hywel Ivor Hughes (T.). Flying Officer Vincent Adolph Boulle

12th Dec. 1919.

Flying Officer Simon Jones, D.F.C. (A.). Observer Officer Harold Taylor, M.C.

Flight Lieut. Robert Louis Stephenson-Peach, M.B.E. (T.), is granted a short service commission, with effect from 1st Nov. 1919, not 28th Nov. 1919, as stated in the Gazette of the latter date.

The rank of Observer Officer Archibald William Clayton Bayes is as now described, not Flying Officer (A.), as stated in the Gazette of 28th Nov. 1919.

Air Ministry,

20th January, 1920.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

PERMANENT COMMISSIONS.

The undermentioned officers are granted permanent commissions in the stated:—

1st Aug. 1919.

Flight Lt.-

Victor Albert Watson, A.M. (S.O.).

Flying Officer-

George Henry Harrison, D.F.C. (A.).

The notification in the Gazette of 1st Aug. 1919 appointing Flying Officer W. F. Wood (T.) to a permanent commission is cancelled.

The notification in the Gazette of 28th Oct. 1919 appointing Flying Officer John Wilfrid Mullen (O.) to a permanent commission is cancelled.

· The undermentioned temporary appointment is made: -

Staff Officer, 2nd Class.

(Q.) Flight Lt. E. W. F. Cherry, O.B.E., and to be actg. Squadron Leader whilst so empld. 17th Dec. 1919.

FLYING BRANCH.

Lt. A. M. Lewis, A.F.C., is graded for purposes of pay and 'allowances' as Capt. whilst empld. as Capt. (A.), from 1st May 1919 to 28th Aug. 1919.

The undermentioned 2nd Lts. to be

F. G. Aplin, M.C. 26th Apr. 1918. A. A. Malcolm. 17th May 1918 (since killed). (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 6th May 1919.)

W. D. Brownlee. 1st Mar. 1919.

J. H. H. Brunt. 25th Apr. 1919. T. W. Brockley. 28th May 1919.

20th June 1919.

R. E. M. Milne.

J. A. Seldon.

G. W. Chew. 10th July 1919. C. S. Gray. 20th July 1919.

J. B. Cockin. 30th July 1919.

The undermentioned Pilot Officers to be Flying Officers:-

J. McRobert. 4th Aug. 1919.

Alexander Thomson. 23rd Aug. 1919.

1st Oct. 1919.

A. F. Adams.

J. Bowen.

D. G. Fleming.

P. J. Hayes.

Alexander Lees.

K. C. Mackenzie. A. H. Mitchell. A. Neeson.

A. Page.

J F. H. Stevens.

William Arthur Thompson.

H. J. White.

J. M. Walmsley. 26th Oct. 1919. (Since demobilised.)

P. A. Kingsland. 16th Nov. 1919. J. H. Gibbons. 20th Nov. 1919.

C. Walter. 29th Nov. 1919.

L. W. Aiken. 24th Dec. 1919.

Pilot Officer E. J. Munson to be Pilot Officer (O.), from (Ad.). 1st Oct. 1919.

G. A. Goodman (Lt., L.N. Lan. R.) is granted a temp. commn. as 2nd Lt. (A.), and to be Hon. Lt. 11th July 1918. (Since killed.)

The undermentioned relinquish their temp. R.A.F. commns. on return to Army

Flying Officer W. P. Eastwood (Capt.,

Canadians). 14th Apr. 1919. Flight Lt. E. R. H. Pollak, M.C. (Lt.,

R.F.A.). 20th Apr. 1919. Flying Officer M. J. Nicol (Lt., Canadian

Inf.). 4th May 1919.
Flying Officer G. C. Young (Lt., Seaforth

Highrs.). 7th Nov. 1919.

10th Nov. 1919.

Flight Lt. H. G. Corby, M.B.E. (Lt., R. Munster Fus.). (Substituted for notification in the Gazette of 16th Dec. 1919.)

Pilot Officer (Hon. Flying Officer) R. L. Rice (Lt., R. Dub. Fus.).

Flying Officer S. A. Sharpe (Lt., R.F.A.). 14th Nov. 1919.

Flight Lt. F. X. Russell (Capt., R. Mun. Fus.). 15th Nov. 1919.

Flying Officer A. V. Morton (Lt., Glouc. R.). 17th Nov. 1919.

Flying Officer C. R. O'Brien (Lt., R. Lanc. R.). 21st Nov. 1919.