Helen Edith, Mrs. Howard, for general war I services at Barberton.

Lancelot Hugh Dowman Hale, Esq., Honorary Secretary, Governor-General's Fund and Secretary, Governor-General's Fund and Returned Soldiers Labour Bureau, Middelburg, Transvaal.

Christine Louise, Mrs. Herbert-Smith, of the South African Comforts Committee in

London.

Edward Wykeham Lydall, Esq., for work in supervising accounts for internment camps and relief of distress expenditure.

John George Laing, Esq, for general war

services at Elliott.

Donald Arderne McIntyre, Esq., Honorary Secretary of the Royal Automobile Club of South Africa.

2nd Lieutenant Leonard Bertram Naggs, Officer in charge of Comforts Committee, Overseas depot of South African Hospital and Comforts Fund.

George Frederick MacDonogh, Esq., South

African Railways Agent, Lourenco Marques. Thomas Maskew Miller, Esq., for general war

Harrison Ralph Nethersole, Esq., Director, Chamber of Mines Central Buying Depart-

William Nivison, Esq., Honorary Treasurer, Governor General's Fund.

Captain Charles Paul Leonard Nel, for services in connection with recruiting; Secretary, Returning Soldiers Committee, Oudtshoorn.

Miss Constance Perrott Prince, Honorary

Assistant Secretary, Red Cross, Durban. Hannah Mary, Mrs. Poritt, for general war

services at Grey Town.
Imuel Redbill, Fsq., Honorary
Governor-General's Fund, Springs. Samuel Rednill, Honorary Secretary,

Miss Dorothy Heyward Rogers, Honorary Secretary, Non-Contingent Committee of the South African Hospital and Comforts Funds. Fergus. Carstairs Rogers, Esq., for services in connection with recruiting.

Major Alfred Ernest Trigger, Assistant Provost

Marshal.

Lilian Elizabeth, Mrs. Tatham, for general war work at Grey Town.

Minnie Elena Scott, Mrs. Taylor, Quartermaster at the V.A.D. Hespice, Congella.

George Batching Thompson, Esq., for general war services, Pondoland.

Џаггу Reverend  $\mathbf{Ernest}$ Thompson, Secretary of the Governor-General's Fund Committee, Bloemfontein.

Gilbert Watson, Esq., Member of the Central Wool Committee, Port Elizabeth.

Miss Margaret Janet Wallace, Matron of the V.A.D. Hospice, Congella.

Effie, Mrs. Way, for general war services at Grahamstown.

## NEWFOUNDLAND.

To be Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :-

The Honourable John Chalker Crosbie, Minister of Shipping, Chairman of the Tonnage Committee.

To be Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :--

Thomas Andrew Hall, Esq., Secretary to the Tonnage Committee and Ministry of Shipping and the Board of Coal Control.

Edward Robert Morris, Esq., Member of the Newfoundland War Contingent Association in London.

Pitts, a Vice-President of the Mary, Mrs. Women's Patriotic Association.

Robert George Rendell, Esq., O.B.E., Chairman

of the Military Service Committee.

The Honourable Marmaduke George Winter, for services in connection with the Patriotic Association and as Chairman of the Committee dealing with Waterford Hall Convalescent Home.

To be Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most. Excellent Order :-

Charles Henry Hutchings, Esq., K.C., Inspector-General of Constabulary.

Francis Joseph Morris, Esq., K.C., for services

as Chairman of the Recruiting Committee.
Rachael Fannie, Mrs. Parsons, for services on behalf of the Women's Patriotic Association.

Ann, Mrs. Roper, for services on behalf of the Women's Patriotic Association.

Robert Thomas Squarey, Esq., for services in connection with recruiting and the care of returning parties of soldiers.

Patrick Joseph Summers, Esq., K.C., Deputy Minister of Justice, Secretary of the Military

Service Board.

To be Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :-

Charles Pascoe Ayre, Esq., for services in connection with the Women's Patriotic Association. Alfred Charles Blackburn, Esq., for patriotic work.

Agnes, Mrs. Clift, for services in connection with the Women's Patriotic Association.

Miss Mildred Clift, for services in connection with the Women's Patriotic Association.

Lillian Maud, Mrs Facey, for services on behalf of the Women's Patriotic Association.

Janet Aitken, Mrs. Fisher, for services on behalf of the Women's Patriotic Association.

Henry Frederick Fitzgorald, Esq., for services in connection with recruiting.

Ethel, Mrs. Harvey, for Red Cross services.

Emily Hannah, Mrs. Hollands, for services in connection with the Women's Patriotic Association.

Henrietta Palfrey, Mrs. Holloway, for services in collecting and preparing Spagnum Moss.

Reuben Horwood, Esq., for patriotic services. Helen, Mrs. Kennedy, for services in connection with the Women's Patriotic Association.

Miss Elizabeth Shaw Lauder, for services on

behalf of the Women's Patriotic Association.

Flora Emma, Mrs. MacDonald, for services on behalf of the Women's Patriotic Association.

Richard MacDonnell, Esq., Magistrate of Bay St. George, for service, in connection with connection with

Pensions and other matters.

Margaret, Mrs. MacPherson, President of the
Daughters of the Empire and one of the Reception Committee for so'diers.

George Frederick Moore, Esq., Treasurer of the Patriotic Fund at Heart's Content.

Eliza, Mrs. Petten, for services in connection with the Women's Patriotic Association.

John Alexander Robinson, Esq., LL.D. Post master-General; for patriotic services. Organiser of the Tobacco Fund for the Newfoundland Regiment.

Carolina Augusta, Mrs. Somerton, President of the Committee of the Women's Patriotic Association at Trinity.