Hut and the Soldiers and Sailors Institute, Durban

Mrs. Maude Ellen Kleinenberg, Mayoress of Pietersburg.

James Lamont, Esq., Mayor of Queenstown.

Mrs. Jessie Orr Lennox, Matron in Charge of South African Vocational Training Hostels.

John Percy Long, Esq., Honorary Secretary of the Gifts and Comforts Committee, Johannesburg.

Mrs. Blanch Kate Beere-Miles, for services 112 connection with the Comforts Committee.

John Sime Neave, Esq., Honorary Secretary of the Recruiting Committee and the Local Committee of the Governor-General's Fund, Port Elizabeth.

Mrs. Lily Beatrice Parkes, for services in connection with War Funds, Graaff Reinet.

William Dyke Poynter, Esq., for services in connection with the Governor-General's Fund, Heidelberg and Pilgrims Rest.

Mrs. Harriet Sarah Reynolds, for services in connection with the Witwatersrand Soldiers Institute, Johannesburg.

Mrs. Beatrice Evelyn Eugenie Robinson, Honorary Secretary, Red Cross Committee, Ladybrand.

brand.
David Shearer, Esq., Mayor of Ladysmith,

Natal.

Robert Strachan, Esq., M.B., Mayor of Germiston.

Colonel Sydney Richard Style, Mayor of King Williams Town.

Herbert Urquhart, Esq., Mayor of Graaff Reinet.

Miss Nellie Marie Willson, Honorary Secretary of the Patriotic League, Dundee.

Mrs. Maria Elizabeth Wylie, Honorary Treasurer of the Women's Patriotic League, Durban.

## NEWFOUNDLAND.

To be a Knight Commander of the said Most Excellent Order.

The Honourable Michael Patrick Cashin, Minister of Finance, for services in War matters and particularly finance.

To be Commanders of the said Most Excellent Order.

Mrs. Adeline Elizabeth Browning, O.B.E. Walter Baine Grieve, Esq., O.B.E.

To be Officers of the said Most Excellent Order.

Mrs. Mary Chisholm Brehm, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

Mrs. Sophy Oke, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

Mrs. Margaret Mary Power, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

To be Members of the said Most Excellent Order.

Frederick William Angel, Esq., for general Patriotic services.

Mrs. Edith Mary Facey, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

Mrs. Mary Goodison, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

Mrs. Christina Harvey, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

Miss Sara Knox, Secretary, The Newfoundland War Contingent Association in London.

Miss Violette Macpherson, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association. John William Morris, Esq., for services as Musketry Instructor.

Mrs. Isabella O'Reilly, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

Mrs. Isabel Ryan, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

Mrs. Eliza Sclater, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

Mrs. Katherine Scott, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

Mrs. Jemima Wilton, for work for the Women's Patriotic Association.

## CROWN COLONIES, PROTECTORATES, &c.

To be a Knight Grand Cross of the said Most Excellent Order.

Lieutenant-General Sir Herbert Scott Gould Miles, G.C.B., G.C.M.G., C.V.O., lately Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the City and Garrison of Gibraltar.

## To be Knights Commanders of the said Most Excellent Order.

Lieutenant-Colonel Arthur Robert Adams, V.D., Unofficial Member of the Legislative Council of the Straits Settlements, and Officer Commanding the troops in Penang.

Honorary Lieutenant-Colonel Hector Livingstone Duff, C.M.G., Chief Secretary, Nyasaland Protectorate, for services as Chief Political Officer in the South-Western Area of German East Africa.

## To be Commanders of the said Most Excellent Order.

Margaret Seton, Lady Chaplin, for services in connection with War Funds in Rhodesia.

Honorary Major Christian Purefoy Chesnaye, Magistrate and District Commissioner, Northern Rhodesia, for services as Political Officer in German East Africa.

Robert Crompton, Esq., Elected Member of the Legislative Council of the Colony of Fiji, for services in connection with the Fiji Contingents.

Lieutenant-Colonel George Alexander Derrick, V.D., Commandant, Singapore Volunteer Corps.

Lieutenant-Colonel Thomas Spry Masterman, Controller, Southern Rhodesia Defence Force.

Mrs. Elizabeth Middleton Ord Marshall, Honorary Secretary, League of the Empire, for services to the Overseas Contingents and to the cause of Imperial education.

Michel Angelo Refalo, Esq., LL.D., Crown Advocate and Member of the Control Board, Malta.

Lieutenant-Colonel Percy Arthur Baxter Silburn, D.S.O., for services in salving the Steamship "Hermann von Wissmann" at Sphinx-haven, Lake Nyasa.

Sphinx-haven, Lake Nyasa.
Lucie MacDuff, Lady Smith, for services in connection with the Nyasaland Relief Fund and other charitable funds in the Nyasaland Protectorate.

Henry Richard Wallis, Esq., C.M.G., lately Chief Secretary to the Government of Uganda.

Honorary Major John Stuart Kerr Wells, District Resident, Nyasaland Protectorate, for services as Political Officer in German East Africa.