The KING has approved the grant of the temporary rank of Lieut. in the I.M.S. to the undermentioned gentlemen:-

Lakshminaraynapuram Subramanier Ramier, 2nd Oct. 1916. (Note.—This officer has since been permitted to relinquish his tempy. rank on permanent appt. to the

Ragnupati Banerji. 3rd Dec. 1917. Jotindra Chandre Sinha. 8th Dec. 1917. Saresh Chandra Sarkar. 14th Dec. 1917. Kashinath Ganesh Joshi. 17th Dec. 1917.

The KING has approved the appointment of the undermentioned officers to the Infy. Branch of the I.A.R.O.:

To be Lieuts.
Temp. Lieut. J. R. Blair, T.F. Res., Gen.
List. 10th Sept. 1917, but to rank from

17th Mar. 1916. 2nd Lieut. F. E. A. Hewetson, 1/1st Herts. Yeo. 16th Oct. 1917, but to rank from 1st Nov. 1916.

To be 2nd Lieut. Temp. 2nd Lieut. M. Meehan, Gen. List.

3rdJan. 1918, but to rank from 19th Mar. 1918.

The KING has approved the admission of the undermentioned gentlemen to the Indian Army Reserve of Officers:

To be 2nd Lieuts.

CAVALRY BRANCH.

Harold Douglas Huggins. 25th Dec. 1917. James Birch Brown. 28th Dec. 1917. Everard Digby. 3rd Jan. 1918.

INFANTRY BRANCH.

14th Dec. 1917.

William Edwards, Hugh Abercrombie Childers Saunders.

Robert Treslove Harridence. 16th Dec. 1917. Donel Clemons Eberhardie. 17th Dec. 1917. George Percy Edge. 22nd Dec. 1917. George Symon. 26th Dec. 1917.

28th Dec. 1917

David Alroy Judah, Leonard Kildin Beckwith, Louis Walker.

29th Dec. 1917.

Harold John Sykes, John Fenstone.

Victor Bayley, C.I.E. 1st Jan. 1918. Harold Arthur Lee-Mitchell. 5th Jan. 1918. Norman Henry Martin Bowden. 7th Jan. 1918.

To be temp. 2nd Lieuts. Alan Gerald Russell Henderson. 2nd Jan. 1918.

Joseph Charles French. 10th Jan. 1918.

The KING has approved the grant of temporary rank in the Indian Defence Force to the following gentlemen:-

BOMBAY LIGHT HORSE.

To be Major and to command the Corps. Sir Herbert Stanley Reed, Kt., A.D.C. 1st Apr. 1917.

To be Captain.

Francis Charles Annesley. 1st Apr. 1917.

To be Lieut.

Reginald Arthur Spence. 1st Apr. 1917.

To be 2nd Lieuts.

Edmund George Pearson. 1st Apr. 1917. Henry Francis Pengelly Hearson. 21st Nov.

Charles Henry Partridge. 22nd Nov. 1917.

United Provinces Horse,

1st Southern Regt.

To be Lieut.-Col. and temp. Commdt. Henry Rivers Nevill. 1st Apr. 1917.

3rd (Karachi) Brigade, Mobile Artillery. To be Capt.

Thomas Cuthbert Beaumont. 1st Apr. 1917.

To be Lieut.

Arthur Fitzgerald Shute. 1st Apr. 1917.

To be 2nd Lieut.

Ernest Archbell Pearson. 1st Apr. 1917.

Sind Rifles.

To be Lieut.-Col. and to command the Corps. Charles Stephen Anderson, V.D. 1st Apr. 1917.

To be Major.

Ramsay Hannay Young. 1st Apr. 1917.

To be Capts.

1st Apr. 1917. Edward John Bolus, William Hardcastle Neilson, Henry Tristam Holland, Eustace Edward Gunter, Constantine Constantine Demetriadi.

To be Lieuts.

1st Apr. 1917.

Alfred Axen Leonard Flynn, Godfrey Noel
Richards Morgan, Francis Guy Travers, Walter MacGregor Petri, Fabian Evans Waite.

> To be 2nd Lieuts. 1st Apr. 1917.

Alexander Walter Marshall, William Stanley Roger Davis Marshal, Stanley Deane, Barker.

ADEN RIFLES.

To be Major and to command the Corps. Harold Berridge. 1st Apr. 1917.

To be Capt.

Thomas Williamson McLachlan. 1st Apr. 1917.

> To be Lieuts. 1st Apr. 1917.

James Bett Gray, Henry Zoro Rycroft.

To be 2nd Lieut.

Cyril Eric Leman. 1st Apr. 1917.

The KING has approved the resignation of . the following officers of the I.A.R.O.:-

11th Jan. 1918.

Lieut. H. G. Gearing.

2nd Lieut. V. A. E. Lindop.

Lieut. P. H. Rice, on transfer to the British Service. 19th May 1918.

The KING has approved the retirement of the following officer of Indian Army Departments:

Dy. Commy. and Hony. Capt. W. J. Collins. 4th June 1918.

> Civil Service Commission, July 5, 1918.

Notice is hereby given, that upon a special recommendation from the National Health Insurance Commission (Scotland), and with the assent of the Treasury, Mr. John Stirling, having served as a Clerk of the Second Division for upwards of eight years, has been promoted to a Second Class Clerkship in the National Health Insurance Commission (Scotland), with a special certificate granted exceptionally by the Civil Service Commissioners.