2nd Lt. C. V. Hancock to be Lt. next below Lt. J. A. S. Maclean. 1st July 1917. 2nd Lt. E. S. F. Webb to be Lt., next

above Lt. H. R. Guest. 1st July 1917.

2nd Lt. F. O. Townsend to be Lt., next below Lt. H. P. Guest. 1st July 1917. 2nd Lt. J. H. Early to be Lt., next above Lt. M. J. Harrington. 1st July 1917.

2nd Lt. J. E. Mackay to be Lt. 26th July 1917.

Loyal North Lancs. Regt.-Maj. F. W. Foley is seconded. 14th Dec. 1917.

The undermentioned 2nd Lts. to be

A. Ashton.

Manchester Regt.—2nd Lt. W. L. Claus is seconded. 18th Nov. 1917.

Durham L.I.-2nd Lt. D. Wilson to be Lt., with precedence as from 1st June 1916, next above Lt. W. A. Bradley. 1st July 1917.

2nd Lt. G. R. Ayton to be Lt., with precedence as from 1st June 1916, next above Lt. T. R. Welch, and to remain seconded. 1st July 1917.

2nd Lt. C. L. B. Whall to be Lt., with precedence as from 1st June 1916, next below Lt. W. Ridley, and to remain seconded. 18th Sept. 1917. (Substituted for that (Substituted for that which appeared in the Gazette of 24th Dec. 1917.)

2nd Lt. L. T. G. Jefferson to be Lt., with precedence as from 11th Apr. 1917, next above Lt. A. Colter, and to remain seconded. 1st July 1917.

2nd Lt. J. M. Herring to be Lt. 27th Dec. 1917.

Highland L.I.-2nd Lt. R. J. Macdonald to be Lt., next below Lt. A. A. Black. 11th July 1917.

Seaforth Highlanders. 2nd Lt. A. L. Smith

(since deceased) to be Lt. 1st July 1917. 2nd Lt. R. J. Mackay to be Lt., next be-low Lt. C. S. M. Swanson. 1st July 1917. 2nd Lt. R. A. Baillie to be Lt., next be-low Lt. R. W. Mackay, and to remain seconded. 1st July 1917.

2nd Lt. H. Mortimore to be Lt. 23rd Dec. 1917.

Gordon Highlanders .- 2nd Lt. B. G. Chalmers to be Lt., next below Lt. F. W. Law, and to remain seconded. 1st July 1917.

Cameron Highlanders.-2nd Lt. J. Houston to be Lt., next below Lt. A. B. Smith. 1st July 1917.

2nd Lt. A. Borthwick to be Lt., next below Lt. D. Melville. 1st July 1917. 2nd Lt. G. W. Munro to be Lt., next below Lt. A. Henderson. 1st July 1917.

Arg. & Suth'd Highrs.—2nd Lt. H. H. Duff is seconded. 7th Nov. 1917.

2nd Lt. R. Searancke to be Lt., next below Lt. A. Scott. 1st July 1917.

Lt. H. A. Mackintosh to be actg. Capt., with pay and allowances of Lt. whilst holding the appt. of Adjt., vice Capt. H. B. Sandeman. 20th Nov. 1917.

London Regt.-2nd Lt. A. H. Pickard to be Lt., with precedence next above Lt. F. A. J. Stratford. 1st July 1917. í . <u>.</u> . .

2nd Lt. R. E. Stevenson to be Lt. 28th. Dec. 1917.

2nd Lt. S. O. Shave to be Lt., with precedence next above Lt. C. J. Andrews. 1st. July 1917.

2nd Lt. H. C. Bilton to be Lt., with precedence next below Lt. P. F. Wright. 1st July 1917.

Cyclist Bn.-Capt. R. C. White to be Maj., with precedence as from 13th Mar. 1917, next below Maj. P. S. Harrison. 25th Aug. 1917.

ATTACHED LIST FOR THE TERRITORIAL FORCE.

2nd Lt. Laurence A. Speakman to be-temp. Lt. 15th Jan. 1918.

ARMY MEDICAL SERVICE.

The announcement regarding Col. S. S. Hoyland, which appeared in the Gazette of 25th Dec. 1917, is cancelled.

ROYAL ARMY MEDICAL CORPS.

Maj. G. W. Fitzgerald, M.D., is seconded. 8th Dec. 1917.

Qr.-Mr. and Hon. Lt. E. J. Jukes to be

hon. Capt. 1st July 1917. Capt. C. C. Cuthbert, M.D., is seconded.. 16th Jan. 1918.

Maj. (Brevet Lt.-Col.) J. Wilson, M.B., to be actg. Lt.-Col. whilst comdg. a General Hospital. 29th Oct. 1917. Capt. C. R. Handfield-Jones, M.B., re-

signs his commission on account of ill-health, and is granted the hon. rank of Capt. 7th-Dec. 1917. (Substituted for that which appeared in the Gazette of 6th Dec. 1917.)

TERRITORIAL FORCE RESERVE.

2nd Lt. M. A. Jolly (Midd'x R.) to be Lt. 3rd Jan. 1918.

General List.

2nd Lt. M. B. MacLachlan to be Lt. 2nd; Dec. 1917.

War Office,

14th January, 1918.

TERRITORIAL FORCE.

YEOMANRY.

Capt. E. H. C. Rawlinson resigns his commission. 15th Jan. 1918.

Capt. J. R. C. Cowan resigns his commission on account of ill-health contracted on active service, and is granted the hon. rank of Capt. 15th Jan. 1918.

HONOURABLE ARTILLERY COMPANY.

2nd Lt. H. B. Belder (attached Royal Welsh Fusiliers) is restored to establishment. 18th Aug. 1917.

ROYAL HORSE AND ROYAL FIELD ARTILLERY.

Lt. C. H. Poynton is seconded. 30th Sept. 1917.

ROYAL GARBISON ARTILLERY.

Lt. E. E. L. Dixon is restored to the establishment. 4th Jan. 1918.

ROYAL ENGINEERS.

Capt. T. R. Wilton, A.M.I.C.E., to be actg. Maj. whilst commanding a Field Coy. 30th Oct. 1917.