To be tempy. Asst. Payrs.—
Charles N. Bass.
John C. Bennett.
William F. Danford.
Wilfrid Swire.
Albert H. Tarper.
Lionel Cox.
Oswald Dunkerley.
Murdoch Mackay.
William J. Burns.
Randal A. Porter.
Harry G. F. J. Bower-Meale.
Alexander H. Green.
James Macrae.
Henry G. Swanwick.
Albert C. Osman.
Leighton S. Evans.
18th Aug. 1917.

R.N.V.R.

Tempy. Sub-Lieut. Cuthbert E. L. King, R.N.V.R., who relinquished his tempy. commn. on account of ill-health contracted in the Service, to retain his rank.

Sub-Lieuts. to be Lieuts.—
John C. Denholm. 8th Feb. 1917.
James C. M. Guy. 12th June 1917.

To be tempy. Sub-Lieuts.—
Frank Woodward.
Arthur M. Faulkner.
Aubrey L. C. White.
Cecil G. Gun.
Bryan W. G. Oates.
Alfred E. Thomas,
18th Aug. 1917.

R.N.A.S.

Proby. Flight Offr. to be Flight Sub-Lieut.—Wilfred Righton. 3rd June 1917.

Tempy. Proby. Flight Offrs. to be tempy. Flight Sub-Lieuts.—
Cecil G. Wigglesworth. 3rd May 1917.

Leslie Chivers. 3rd June 1917.

John W. D. Cripps. 3rd July 1917.

Reuben W. Hemsley. 18th July 1917.

Admiralty, 19th August, 1917.

Lieut. (retd.) to be Lieut.-Cdr. (retd.).— Bernard H. Birch. 20th Aug. 1917.

Lieut. to be Lieut.-Cdr.— George Jeans. 20th Aug. 1917.

Admiralty, 20th August, 1917.

Surgeon Wm. H. Cheyne, who relinquished his appointment on account of ill-health contracted in the Service, to retain his rank. 14th Aug. 1917.

To be tempy. Flt.-Cdr., R.N.— Norman Carter Blanch. 30th June 1917.

To be tempy. Surg.—
Geoffrey W. Pratt, B.A. 17th Aug. 1917.

R.N.R.

Commander John F. H. Healey, R.D., R.N.R., placed on the retired list with rank of Captain, R.N.R. 18th July 1917. Eng. Lieut. to be Eng. Lieut.-Cdr.— Charles W. Forbes, R.D. 8th Aug. 1917.

To be temp. Lieut.— Henry O. F. Owen. 20th Aug. 1917.

To be tempy. Sub-Lieuts.— James W. Scott. Ralph Pearson. 20th Aug. 1917.

R.N.V.R.

To be tempy. Lieuts.—
A. H. New. 16th Aug. 1917.
Arthur W. D. Smith. 19th Aug. 1917.

Tempy. Sub-Lieuts. to be tempy. Lieuts.— Harry N. Barry. 29th June 1917. William F. Cockrell. 26th July 1917. William R. Watson. 18th Aug. 1917.

Act. Sub-Lieut. to be Sub-Lieut.— James H. M. Clark. 30th Jan. 1915.

To be temp. Sub-Lieuts.:—
Robert W. Bell.
Cyril McEnirey.
Ambrose J. Turner.
20th Aug. 1917.

R.N.A.S.

Flt. Sub-Lieut. to be Flt. Lieut.—Geoffrey S. Greenland. 15th July 1917.

Proby. Flt. Sub Lieut. to be Flt. Sub-Lieut.—

Michael McMaster. Noel Grabowsky. 4th Apr. 1917.

Edward L. D. Bartley. 19th Apr. 1917. Geoffrey L. Lowis. 4th May 1917. Hugh Gartside-Tippinge. 4th June 1917. Stafford B. Harris. 19th June 1917.

INCOME TAX.

Whereas it has become necessary to renew the List of Persons to supply Vacancies amongst the Commissioners appointed to act in the Division of Blackbourn, in the County of Suffolk, as Commissioners for the General Purposes of the Acts of Parliament for granting to His Majesty duties on Profits arising from Property, Professions, Trades, and Offices: Now we, two of the Commissioners of Inland Revenue, in pursuance of the Powers vested in us in that behalf, do hereby convene a Meeting of the Land Tax Commissioners for the County aforesaid, being respectively qualified to act as such Commissioners, to be holden at the Police Station, Ixworth, on Monday, the 27th day of August, 1917, at 11 o'clock in the forenoon, for the purpose of choosing fit and proper Persons to be Commissioners to supply vacancies amongst the Commissioners for the General Purposes of the Income Tax for the Division of Blackbourn aforesaid.

> N. F. Warren Fisher. R. V. Nind Hopkins.

Inland Revenue, Somerset House, London, W.C.2. 18th August, 1917.