Ministry of Munitions of War, 19th January, 1917.

The Minister of Munitions, in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by the Defence of the Realm (Consolidation) Act, 1914, the Defence of the Realm (Amendment) No. 2 Act, 1915, the Defence of the Realm (Consolidation) Regulations, 1914, the Munitions of War Acts, 1915 and 1916, and all other powers thereunto enabling him, hereby orders that all persons having in their possession or under their control any photographic lens or lenses of the natures specified in the Schedule hereto shall, within seven days from the date hereof, send in to the Director of Optical and Glassware Munitions, 117, Piccadilly, London, W., returns containing the following particulars with regard to such lens or lenses:-

1) Focal length.

(2) Maximum aperture.

(3) Name of maker.(4) Designation given by maker.

(5) Number given by maker.

(6) Type of diaphragm.

## The SCHEDULE above referred to.

(a) Anastigmatic lenses having focal lengths of from 8 inches to 12 inches inclusive and an aperture of not less than F/4.5.

(b) Anastigmatic lenses having focal lengths of from 18 inches to 24 inches inclusive and an

aperture of not less than F/6.

(c) Anastigmatic, symmetrical, and rapid rectilinear lenses having focal lengths of from 22 inches to 26 inches inclusive and an aperture of not less than F/11.

(d) Anastigmatic, symmetrical, and rapid rectilinear lenses having focal lengths of from 30 inches to 72 inches inclusive and an aperture of not less than F/8.

Admiralty, 15th January, 1917.

Capt. Edward W. E. Wemyss placed on Retired List at own request. 14th Jan. 1917.

Admiralty, 16th January, 1917.

R.N.R.

To be temp. Lieut.— Owmore Wood. 15th Jan. 1917.

Tempy. Sub-Lieuts. to be tempy. Lieuts.— George Brand.

Frank S. Lofthouse, D.S.C.

Arnaud Adams. Ian McK. Adie.

Sydney E. Gaskin.

Cedric Naylor.

19th Dec. 1916.

Charles G. Bonner. James H. Reid. Edward H. Condell. Peter McM. Cunningham. William G. Allen. .

23rd Dec. 1916. Sub-Lieuts. to be Lieuts.—

Thomas V. Roberts. 1st Jan. 1916.

John H. Blair.

Frederick C. Hartley.

1st Sept. 1916.

James R. Harding. 1st Oct. 1916.

Act. Sub-Lieut. (Act.) to be Sub-Lieut.-Thomas F. Balkwill. 31st May 1916.

Act. Sub-Lieut. to be Sub-Lieut.—
Alexander Robinson. 4th June 1916.

To be tempy. Sub-Lieut.— Walter P. Wright. 4th Jan. 1917.

## Coastguard.

Divisional Ch. Officer Edwin J. Hicks (retd.) to be Honorary Lieut. (retd.). 12th Dec. 1916.

## R.M.

The undermentioned to be temp. 2nd Lt.:— Gerald Fountaine Sanger. 13th Jan.

Admiralty, 17th January, 1917.

Act. Sub-Lieuts. to be Sub-Lieuts. --

Esme J. R. Wingfield-Stratford.

Tom B. Okell.

Philip E. F. Walker. John D. F. Dowse.

Douglas M. Branson.

Lycett Gardner.

Gerard Y. Harrison. Alick W. Gush.

Jocelyn S. Bethell.

Morice Blood.

Victor H. Nicholson. Richard F. Carter. James G. Pyke-Nott.

John M. FitzRoy

Robert R. Mulcahy-Morgan. Guy L. Cockburn.

Willoughby N. Barstow.

Nigel D. Bury.

Douglas F. Painter. Douglas K. Trollope.

Herbert C. Pearson.

Maurice J. Parkes-Buchanan.

Somerville W. Davis.

William S. Batson.

Edmund R. Pears.

Ralph A. Payne.

Benjamin C. A. Tweedy.

 ${f Arthur\ Powell}.$ 

George N. Gordon.

William A. Elliot. Victor C. Eddy.

Victor Belfield.

Thomas L. Beevor.

James T. Wright. Patrick H. W. Ferguson.

Gerald O. C. Davies.

John W. Farquhar.

Hubert M. Wilson, D.S.C. George D. Belben.

Alfred S. Russell.

David Gilmour.

Alan C. F. Bruce.

15th Jan. 1917.

Chief Gnr. (retd.) to be Lieut. (retd.)-Samuel Gurowich. 8th Jan. 1917.

## R.N.R.

Sub-Lieuts. to be Lieuts.— Alfred E. Weller. 2nd Aug. 1915.

Philip V. Butler.

David S. Robinson.

1st Apr. 1916.

Sidney F. Allen. 1st July 1916.