86

Sukraj Limbu, Subadar, Burma Military Police.

Maung Aung Ban, A.T.M., Deputy Superintendent, first grade, Burma Police.

Lieutenant-Colonel Albert Edward Woods, C.S.I., Inspector-General, Assam Police.

Hirarup Sahi, Jemadar, Lushai Hills Military Police Battalion, Assam Military Police. Muhammad Akbar, Officiating Sub-Inspector, fifth grade, North-West Frontier Police.

Khan Sahib Boi Khan, Subadar Major, Frontier Constabulary, North-West Frontier Police.

William Alfred Gayer, Deputy Inspector-General, His Highness the Nizam's Government, Hyderabad Police.

Subhan Khan, Constable, Ajmer-Merwara Police.

Abbas Raza Khan, Sub-Inspector, Baluchistan Police.

Gulab Shah, Mounted Head Constable, first grade, Baluchistan Police.

Sant Singh, Sub-Inspector, Punjab Police.

COLONIAL FORCES.

Andrew John O'Byrne, Constable, South African Police.

William Smith, Inspector of Police, Tasmania. Percy John Ernest Grant, Sergeant of Police, Tasmania.

John Watson, Constable of Police, Tasmania.

R. M. Kalu Banda, Constable, Ceylon Police
Force

Mohamed Ali bin Nabi, Constable, Singapore Police Force.

Bela Singh, Constable, Federated Malay States Police Force.

Johnson Osugi Njemanze, Inspector, Police Force of the Southern Provinces, Nigeria.

Samagi, Corporal No. 267, Police Force of the Southern Provinces, Nigeria.

Nyama, Lance-Corporal No. 346, Police Force of the Southern Provinces, Nigeria.

Admiralty, 1st January, 1916.

The KING has been graciously pleased to approve of the grant of the Victoria Cross to Squadron-Commander Richard Bell Davies, D.S.O., R.N., and of the Distinguished Service Cross to Flight Sub-Lieutenant Gilbert Formby Smylie, R.N., in recognition of their behaviour in the following circumstances:—

On the 19th November these two officers carried out an air attack on Ferrijik Junction. Flight Sub-Lieutenant Smylie's machine was received by very heavy fire and brought down. The pilot planed down over the station, releasing all his bombs except one, which failed to drop, simultaneously at the station from a very low altitude. Thence he continued his descent into the marsh.

On alighting he saw the one unexploded bomb, and set fire to his machine, knowing that the bomb would ensure its destruction. He then proceeded towards Turkish territory.

At this moment he perceived Squadron-Commander Davies descending, and fearing that he would come down near the burning machine and thus risk destruction from the

bomb, Flight Sub-Lieutenant Smylie ran back and from a short distance exploded the bomb by means of a pistol bullet. Squadron-Commander Davies descended at a safe distance from the burning machine, took up Sub-Lieutenant Smylie, in spite of the near approach of a party of the enemy, and returned to the aerodrome, a feat of airmanship that can seldom have been equalled for skill and gallantry.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following appointments to the Distinguished Service Order and for the award of the Distinguished Service Cross to the undermentioned Officers in recognition of their bravery and devotion to duty during minesweeping and mine-laying operations:—

To be Companions of the Distinguished Service Order.

Commander (Acting Captain) Richard Huth Walters, R.N.

Commander Edgar Robert Morant, R.N.

Lieutenant-Commander (Acting Commander)
Walter Geoffrey Rigg, R.N.

Lieutenant-Commander (Acting Commander)
Gervase William Heaton Heaton, R.N.

Engineer-Commander John Carmichael, R.N.R.

Lieutenant-Commander Norman Malet Colquhoun Thurstan, R.N.

Lieutenant William Victor Rice, R.N.

To receive the Distinguished Service Cross.

Lieutenant Humphrey John Lancaster, R.N. Lieutenant Robert Jardine Carruthers, R.N.V.R.

Sub-Lieutenant Alexander Daniells, R.N.R. Sub-Lieutenant George Grimshaw Rose R.N.R.

Sub-Lieutenant William Quinn McKeown, R.N.R.

Sub-Lieutenant Harry Beedle, R.N.R.

Gunner (T) Arthur Samuel Edmund Roberts, R.N.

Artificer-Engineer Arthur Lewis Shaw, R.N. Skipper Frederick Wink, R.N.R. Skipper Francis McPherson, R.N.R.

The following awards have also been made for services in connection with these operations:—

To receive the Distinguished Service Medal.

Chief Petty Officer William Westborough, O.N.145272 (R.F.R. Dev. A/3287).

Able Seaman Bezelell Jones, Mercantile Rating.

Chief Engine-room Artificer, 1st Class, Albert Edgar Abraham, O.N.268771.

Chief Petty Officer William Grant, O.N.195507.

Able Seaman George Broomfield, O.N.237502. Petty Officer Samuel Robert Saul Chamberlain, O.N.195022.

Leading Seaman George William Tomsett, O.N.184462 (R.F.R. Ch.B/3055).

Leading Seaman Walter Robert Francis, O.N.231988.

Trimmer Christopher Pratt, R.N. Trawler Reserve, O.N.3680 T.S.