been placed on the Retired List. Dated 9th December, 1914.

Admiralty, 26th December, 1914. Royal Marines.

Temporary Major W. R. C. Murray resigns his Commission in the Royal Marines in order to return to the Grenadier Guards. Dated 19th November, 1914.

Royal Marines.

The undermentioned to be temporary Second Lieutenant:-

Adrian Dingli. Dated 26th December, 1914.

Royal Marine Light Infantry.

Major George James Herbert Mullins to be Lieutenant-Colonel by Brevet under the provisions of Order in Council of the 19th March, 1883. Dated 17th December, 1914.

Admiralty, 27th December, 1914.

The following Engineer Lieutenant Commanders have been promoted to the rank of Engineer Commander in His Majesty's Fleet : -

John Caunter Jenkins. Henry George Radford. Dated 26th December, 1914.

Staff Paymaster Bernard William Gillhespie Cook has been advanced to the rank of Fleet Paymaster in His Majesty's Fleet. Dated 26th December, 1914.

Royal Naval Reserve.

The undermentioned Probationary Sub-Lieutenants have been confirmed as Sub-Lieutenants:

Athol Edwin Gudgeon. Dated 1st April, 1912.

Charles Richardson Cowap. Dated 1st August, 1914.

Reginald Wilfred Lawrence. Goronwy Owen. William Willis Torkington.

Harry Herbert Horley.

Dated 1st September, 1914.

The undermentioned Lieutenant Commanders have been promoted to the rank of Commander :-

William Marshall. Dated 10th October, 1914.

Robert Capper. Dated 12th December, 1914.

In accordance with the provisions of His Majesty's Order in Council of 16th December, 1912, temporary Commissions in the Royal Naval Reserve have been issued as follows:-----

LIEUTENANTS.

Ernest Halliday.
Michael Dennis O'Driscoll.
Charles William Moodie.
Robert Allan.

William James Lindsay. Albert Arthur Crowther. William Arthur Smith. John Anderson. William John Cochrane Pleace Macey. Frederick Richardson Evans.

SUB-LIEUTENANTS.

William Dry. Charles Alfred Read. Robert Clarke Bell. William Horatio Hartman. Ralph Ballick Beck. Reginald Arthur Canner. Duncan Alexander Mackinnon Watt. Magnus Jamieson. James Hunter. Elias S. Souter. William Ingleson. Harry Hunter Bell. William Lawrence Couch. John Holderness Bartlett. George Brand. Frank Stewart Lofthouse. Arnaud Adams. Ian Mackenzie Adie. Brinley John Stanley. Sydney Edward Gaskin. Cedric Naylor. Hugh William Douglas Wilson. Charles Edward Penn. Harry Millen. Albert Charles Clay. Edwin Sprake. John Andrew Little. William Parry. John Eagle Sizer. Archibald Brown Bannatyne.

ENGINEERS.

Adam Tait. James Burns. Thomas Jones. Thomas James Fayle.

ASSISTANT ENGINEERS.

Herbert Lawton. Robert Arnott. David Goldie. William Hugh Owen. Alfred Freeman. George Keig. Joseph Weldon.

ASSISTANT PAYMASTERS.

Alfred Dutton. Andrew Fleming Caldwell. George William Canham. Spencer John Liffer. Evan Edwards.

The following temporary Commissions have been cancelled :-

Lieutenant Robert Allan Chisel. Sub-Lieutenant E. G. Calloway. Engineer Frederick Kennedy.

Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve.

Temporary Commissions in the Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve have been issued as follows:-

LIEUTENANT COMMANDER. Wallace Aldridge Watson.