Act applies provided that the glasses comply with the requirements, as regards dimensions and otherwise, specified in the Order approving the lamp.

Copies of the Order can be obtained either directly or through any bookseller from Messrs. Wyman and Sons, Ltd., Fetter Lane, London, E.C., and 54, St. Mary Street, Cardiff; H.M. Stationery Office (Scottish Branch), 23, Forth Street, Edinburgh; and Messrs. E. Ponsonby, Ltd., 116, Grafton Street, Dublin.

Whitehall, 9th November, 1914.

Factory Department, Home Office, November 6, 1914.

The Chief Inspector of Factories has appointed Dr. A. N. Fell to be Certifying Surgeon, under the Factory and Workshop Acts, for the Colchester District of the County of Essex.

Admiralty, 6th November, 1914.

The undermentioned gentlemen have been appointed Surgeons for temporary service in His Majesty's Fleet:—

Cecil William Fletcher Greenhill, M.B. John Douglas James Bruce. Walter Croker Poole White, M.B. Thomas Smith Harrison. Edwin Lawrence Sturdee. Gomer Williams, M.B. Harold Garrett Chaplin. Frederick Lancelot Duckworth. Frank Winter Lawson. Strangman Davis Kilner, B.A. William Graeme Robertson, M.D.

Admiralty, 7th November, 1914.

The undermentioned Probationary Flight Sub-Lieutenants have been confirmed in the rank of Flight Sub-Lieutenant:----

Harold Rosher. Dated 18th August, 1914.

Edward Gordon Riggall. Dated 18th August, 1914.

Royal Naval Reserve.

COMMANDER.

Charles H. Dare (Rear-Admiral, retired). Charles James Barlow, D.S.O. (Admiral, retired).

John Mathias (Lieutenant, R.N.R., retired).

ė.

LIEUTENANT.

Hugh McLean. Louis Morton. Henry Fisher. Herbert James Ferguson. Albert James Coles.

SUB-LIEUTENANT.

Herbert John Finch. Stanley Crouch. Howard Uncles. David Esplin. Percy Shadforth Atkins. Charles Francis Le Mesurier. William Jennings. William Sheppard. L. M. Vipan. Harold L. Roberson. Charles Loftus Tottenham. Donald Hunt. Harold George Kennaird. Thomas Hemsley Seaman. Alfred E. L. Williams. Walter George Morgan. William Humfrey Sidney. Herbert Edward Carter. James Nethercoat. Cyril Dudgeon. Edward John Kidby. Ernest Robert Barrow.

CHIEF ENGINEER.

John Horatio Sydney Wilson.

SENIOR ENGINEER.

James Arthur Ahier.

ENGINEER.

Samuel Percy Gledhill. John Wood Duffin. James Henry Rathjen. Thomas Arthur Llewellyn Bailey. Robert James Mitchell. George Philip Rivers. Joseph Aloysius Hansom. Ernest James Starkey. William George Mathias. George Gilchrist Stenhouse.

ASSISTANT PAYMASTER.

Herbert Atkin Stoddart. Harold La Touche Templeton. Sydney Thomas Powell Case. Ernest Daniel Bailey. Thomas Dell. Herne Raymond Williams. Edgar George Ernest Palmer. Seymour Gordon Duprey. Clifford John Green. Frederick Oscar Reese. Reginald Collings Laine. Bertram Willis Fox. Sidney Lionel Flinn Cole.

The following temporary Commission has been cancelled : ----

SUB-LIEUTENANT.

James John Enwoldsen.

Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve. Temporary Commissions in the Royal Naval