guished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George.

To be Ordinary Members of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order :---

The Right Honourable the Earl of Liverpool, K.C.M.G., M.V.O., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Dominion of New Zealand.

The Right Honourable Robert Laird Borden, Prime Minister of the Dominion of Canada.

General Sir Henry Macleod Leslie Rundle, R.A., G.C.B., G.C.V.O., K.C.M.G., D.S.O., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Island of Malta.

Admiral Sir Day Hort Bosanquet, G.C.V.O., K.C.B., late Governor of the State of South Australia.

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :---

Walter Edward Davidson, Esq., C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Newfoundland.

George Smith, Esq., C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Nyasaland Protectorate.

The Honourable George Eulas Foster, LL.D., Minister of Trade and Commerce of the Dominion of Canada.

The Honourable William Hill Irvine, LL.D., K.C., Attorney-General of the Commonwealth of Australia.

Sir Benjamin Robertson, K.C.S.I., C.I.E., Chief Commissioner of the Central Provinces of India; in recognition of his services in connection with the Indian Enquiry Commission in the Union of South Africa.

Major-General Alexander John Godley, C.B., General Officer Commanding the Military Forces of the Dominion of New Zealand.

The Honourable Charles Eugene Boucher De Boucherville, C.M.G., Senator of the Dominion of Canada.

William Hepworth Mercer, Esq., C.M.G., one of the Crown Agents for the Colonies.

Lieutenant-Colonel George Lancelot Eyles, C.M.G., M.Inst.C.E., Consulting Engineer for Railways to the Crown Agents for the Colonies.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:—

William Barlow, Esq., LL.D., Vice-Chancellor of the University of Adelaide.

Gilbert Edmund Augustine Grindle, Esq., M.A., of the Colonial Office.

Gysbert Reitz Hofmeyr, Esq., Clerk of the House of Assembly of the Union of South Africa.

James Rankine Leisk, Esq., Secretary for Finance, Union of South Africa.

Reginald Popham Lobb, Esq., Colonial Secretary and Registrar-General of the Bermudas or Somers Islands.

William Kirkpatrick McNaught, Esq., Member of the Legislative Assembly of the Province of Ontario.

Major Harry Claude Moorhouse, D.S.O., Secretary, Southern Provinces, Nigeria. Colonel John William Parnell, District Commandant, 3rd Military District, Commonwealth of Australia.

Christopher James Parr, Esq., Mayor of the City of Auckland, in the Dominion of New Zealand.

Albert Edward Stephenson, Esq., Director of Colonial Audit.

Reginald Edward Stubbs, Esq., Colonial Secretary of the Island of Ceylon.

Lieutenant-Colonel George Llewellyn Douglas Swain, Inspector-General of Constabulary, and Commandant of Local Forces of the Colony of Trinidad and Tobago.

Christopher Alexander Sapara Williams, Esq., Unofficial Member of the Legislative Council of the Colony of Nigeria.

To be an Honorary Member of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order :---

His Highness Mohamed Jemalulalam bin Almerhum Sultan Hashim Jalilulalam Akamuddin, Sultan of Brunei.

## Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George,

Downing Street, 22nd June, 1914.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following promotion in and appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George.

To be an Ordinary Member of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order:----

His Excellency the Right Honourable Sir William Conyngham Greene, K.C.B., His Majesty's Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to His Majesty the Emperor of Japan.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :---

Murdoch Macdonald, Esq., C.M.G., M.Inst.C.E., Under Secretary of State for Public Works, Egypt.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:---

Frank Gerard Clemow, Esq., M.D., British Delegate to the Ottoman Board of Health.

Harry Halton Fox, Esq., His Majesty's Consul-General at Chêngtu.

Ernest Miles Hobart-Hampden, Esq., Japanese Secretary to His Majesty's Embassy at Tokio.

Thomas Beaumont Hohler, Esq., First Secretary in His Majesty's Legation in Mexico.

Arthur King Lewis, Esq., Director-General, Egyptian Customs Administration.

Henry Edward Sly, Esq., His Majesty's Consul at Harbin.

Major Lee Oliver FitzMaurice Stack, Civil Secretary to the Soudan Government.