Whitehall, April 25, 1913.

The KING has taken into His Royal consideration that upon the decease without male issue of Edward Henry Churchill, Baron Crofton, which happened on the 22nd day of September last past, the title and dignity of Baron Crofton devolved upon Arthur Edward Lowther Crofton, now Baron Crofton, as the only son and heir of Charles St. George Crofton, who was at the time of his death brother and heir presumptive of the said Edward Henry Churchill, Baron Crofton, whereby according to the ordinary rules of honour the sisters of the said Arthur Edward Lowther, now Baron Crofton, cannot enjoy that title, rank, place, pre-eminence and precedence, which would have been due to them had their father, the said Charles St. George Crofton, survived his brother, and thereby succeeded to the title and dignity of Baron Crofton. His Majesty has been graciously pleased to ordain and declare that Mabel Georgiana Crofton, Spinster, and Theresa Diana, the wife of Reginald De Blaquire Chichester, Major (retired), The Border Regiment, the sisters of the said Arthur Edward Lowther, now Baron Crofton, shall henceforth have, hold and enjoy the same title, rank, place, pre-eminence and precedence as the younger children of a Baron, to which they would have been entitled had their father survived his brother Edward Henry Churchill, Baron Crofton, and thereby succeeded to the said title and dignity of Baron Crofton.

And to command that the said order and declaration be registered in His Majesty's College of Arms. 207

THE COAL MINES ACT, 1911.

THE METALLIFEROUS MINES REGULATION ACTS, 1872 AND 1875. THE QUARRIES ACT, 1894.

I hereby order and direct that, for the purposes of inspection under the Coal Mines Act, 1911, the Metalliferous Mines Regulation Acts, 1872 and 1875, and the Quarries Act, 1894, the United Kingdom shall be divided into the following Divisions:—

No. 1 or Scotland Division, consisting of the whole of Scotland.

No. 2 or Northern Division, consisting of the counties of Northumberland, Durham, Cumberland, Westmorland, the North Riding of the county of York, the detached part of the county of Lancaster north of Morecambe Bay, and the Isle of Man.

No. 3 or York and North Midland Division, consisting of the East and West Ridings of the county of York (except that portion of the West Riding which was transferred for administrative purposes from the county of Lancaster by the Local Government Act, 1888), and the counties of Lincoln, Nottingham, and Derby (except that part of the county of Derby which lies south of the River Trent).

No. 4 or Lancashire, North Wales and Ireland Division, consisting of the county of Lancaster (except the detached part north of Morecambe Bay); the area which was transferred for administrative purposes from the county of Lancaster to the West Riding of the county of York by the Local Government Act, 1888; the county of Chester (except that portion which includes the parishes of Church Lawton, Odd Rode, and Wildboarclough, and the portion situated on east side of the North Staffordshire Railway from Mow Cop Station to North Rode Station, and south of the North Staffordshire Railway from North Rode Station to Rushton Station); the counties of Flint, Denbigh, Montgomery, Merioneth, Carnarvon and Anglesey; and Ireland.

No. 5 or South Wales Division, consisting of the counties of Glamorgan, Brecon, Radnor, Cardigan, Carmarthen, Pembroke, and Monmouth.

No. 6 or Midland and Southern Division, consisting of so much of the county of Chester as includes the parishes of Church Lawton, Odd Rode, and Wildboarclough, and the portion situated on east side of the North Staffordshire Railway from Mow Cop Station to North Rode Station, and south of the North Staffordshire Railway from North Rode Station to Rushton Station, so much of the county of Derby as is not situated in No. 3 Division, and the counties of Stafford, Salop, Worcester, Leicester, Warwick, Hereford, Gloucester, Northampton, Rutland, Huntingdon, Cambridge, Oxford, Berkshire, Buckingham, Bedford, Hertford, Middlesex, Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Somerset, Devon, Cornwall, Dorset, Wiltshire, Hampshire, London, Surrey, Sussex and Kent.

This Order, which may be referred to as the Mines Inspection Divisions Order of the 23rd April, 1913, shall come into force on the 1st June, 1913, provided that so far as relates to the Manchester and Ireland and Liverpool and North Wales Districts, the Mines Inspection Districts Order of the 19th May, 1910, shall continue in force until such later date as may hereafter be fixed.

R. McKenna,

One of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Whitehall, 23rd April, 1913.

COAL MINES ACT, 1911.

In pursuance of Part I of the Second Schedule to the Coal Mines Act, 1911, notice is hereby given that the Secretary of State for the Home Department proposes to make General Regulations under sections 77 and 86 of the Act, determining what are sufficient and suitable accommodation and facilities for taking baths and drying clothes, and laying down the constitution, powers, and duties of the Committees to be established under section 77.

Copies of the draft Regulations can be obtained on application to the Home Office. Any

3342