which has during the preceding twenty-eight days been in any way exposed to the infection of such disease; or

(ii.) movement into or out of a foot-and

mouth disease infected place; or

(iii.) movement of an animal the movement of which is prohibited by notice of an Inspector of the Local Authority or of the Board given under any Order of the Board.

Saving for Orders and Regulations.

8. Movement of animals under this Order is subject to any other Order of the Board, and also subject to any Regulation made by a Local Authority under any Order of the Board for prohibiting or regulating the movement of animals.

Production of Licences; Names and Addresses.

9.—(1.) Any person in charge of an animal being moved, where under this Order a Movement Licence is necessary, shall, on demand of a Justice, or of a constable, or of an Inspector or other officer of the Board or of a Local Authority, produce and show to him the Licence, if any, necessary for the movement, and shall allow it to be read, and a copy of or extract from it to be taken by the person to whom it is produced.

(2.) Any person so in charge shall, on demand as aforesaid, give his name and address to the Justice, or constable, or Inspector or

other officer.

# Offences.

10.—(1.) If a person in charge of an animal being moved, where under this Order a Movement Licence is necessary, on demand made under this Order, fails to give his true name and address, or gives a false name or address, he shall be deemed guilty of an offence against the Act of 1894.

(2.) If any person, with a view unlawfully to evade or defeat the operation of this Order, by washing, or in any other manner, takes out, effaces, or obliterates, or attempts to take out. efface, or obliterate, any mark painted on any animal as required by this Order, the person doing the same, and the person causing, directing, or permitting the same to be done, and the owner of the animal, and the person for the time being in charge thereof, shall, each according to and in respect of his own acts and defaults, be deemed guilty of an offence against the Act of 1894.

# Interpretation.

11. In this Order-

"The Act of 1894" means the Diseases of Animals Act, 1894.

"The Roard" means the Board of Agriculture and Fisheries.

"Animals" means cattle, sheep, goats,

"Slaughter-house" means any premises where animals are habitually slaughtered, and includes a bacon factory.

Other terms have the same meaning as in the Diseases of Animals Act, 1894.

# Revocation.

12. The Leicestershire and District (Footand-Mouth Disease) Order of 1912 (No. 2) is hereby revoked.

### Commencement.

13. This Order shall come into operation on the twenty-fourth day of July, nineteen hundred and twelve.

Short Title, &c.

14. This Order may be cited as the Leices-TERSHIRE AND DISTRICT (FOOT-AND-MOUTH DISEASE) ORDER OF 1912 (No. 4), and shall be read with the Order referred to in Article 1.

LS.

In witness whereof the Board of Agriculture and Fisheries bave hereunto set their Official Seal this twentysecond day of July, nineteen hundred and twelve.

T. H. Elliott,

Secretary.

#### FIRST SCHEDULE.

Zone in which the Modifications Contained in this Order take effect.

## A Zone comprising:-

The parishes of Catthorpe, Swinford, Westrill and Starmore, Shawell, Cotesbach, Mister-Lutterworth, Gilmorton, Bitteswell, Bittesby, Ullesthorpe, Claybrooke Parva, Ashby Parva, Claybrooke Magna, Frolesworth, Leire, Dunton Bassett, Ashby Magna, Broughton Astley, Croft, Cosby, Whetstone, Blaby, Huncote, Narborough, Enderby, Glen Parva, Lubbesthorpe, Braunstone, Birstall, Thurmaston, Humberstone Scraptoft, Keyham, Hungerton, Barkby Thorpe, Beeby, Barkby, Syston, Rearsby, Queniborough, South Croxton, Wanlip, Gaddesby, Barsby, Twyford, Lowesby, Cold Newton, Ashby Folville, Thorpe Satchville, Great Dalby, Burrough-onthe-Hill, Little Dalby, Pickwell with Leesthorpe, Somerby, Cold Overton, Knossington, Owston and Newbold, and the detached part of the parish of Beaumont Leys, in the administrative county of Leicester; and the county borough of Leicester;

The parishes of Thorpe-by-Water, Seaton, Ayston, Bisbrooke, Glaston, Morcott, Barrowden, South Luffenham, North Luffenham, Pilton, Wing, Preston, Ridlington, Leighfield, Martinsthorpe, Manton, Lyndon, Weston, Normanton, Hambledon, Gunthorpe, Brooke, Braunston, Egleton, Oakham, Barleythorpe, and Langham, in the administrative

county of Rutland;
The parishes of Wakerley, Harringworth, Bulwick, Blatherwycke, Deene, Deenethorpe, Little Weldon, Great Weldon, Stanion, Benefield, Brigstock, Sudborough, Lowick, Slipton, Twywell, Warkton, Grafton Underwood, Cranford St. Andrew, Cranford St. John, Barton Seagrave, Burton Latimer, Pytchley, Isham, Orlingbury, Little Harrowden, Great Harrowden, Hardwick, Wellingborough, Wilby, Mears Ashby, Sywell, Walgrave, Hannington, Holcot, Overstone, Brixworth, Moulton, Pitsford, Boughton, Moulton Park, Church Brampton, Chapel Brampton, Spratton, Great Creaton, Teeton, Holdenby, Althorp, East Haddon, Ravensthorpe, Hollowell Coton Guilebrough Winnight West well, Coton, Guilsborough, Winwick, West Haddon, Long Buckby, Watford, Kilsby, Crick, Yelvertoft, Claycoton, and Lilbourne, in the administrative county of Northampton; and

The parishes of Hillmorton, Clifton-upon-Dunsmore, Newton and Biggin, and Churchover, in the administrative county of Warwick.