His Honour Colonel John Morison Gibson, K.C., LL.D., Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Ontario.

Joseph Pope, Esq., C.V.O., C.M.G., I.S.O., Under Secretary of State for External Affairs, Dominion of Canada. eorge Vandeleur Fiddes, Esq., C.B.,

C.M.G., Assistant Under Secretary of

State, Colonial Office.

George Townsend Fenwick, Esq., C.M.G.,
Unofficial Member of the Legislative Council of the Colony of Trinidad and Tobago.

The Honourable Thomas Watt, C.M.G., Member of the House of Assembly of the

Union of South Africa.

To be an Honorary Member of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order-

His Highness Suleiman bin Almerhum Raja Musa, C.M.G., Sultan of Selangor.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

Thomas Cooper Boville, Esq., Deputy Minister of Finance of the Dominion of

John Frank Brown, Esq., Member of the Provincial Council and of the Executive Committee of the Transvaal Province, Union of South Africa.

Horace Archer Byatt, Esq., Commissioner and Commander-in-Chief for the Somali-

land Protectorate.

Douglas Graham Campbell, Esq., General Adviser to the Government of Johore.

Harry John Charles Diddams, Esq., Mayor of the City of Brisbane.

William Francis Joseph Fitzpatrick, Esg., Chairman of Railway Commissioners for Victoria.

The Honourable Alexander Hean, Minister of Lands and Works of the State of Tasmania, and recently Acting Premier of that State.

Edbert Ansgar Hewett, Esq., Unofficial Member of the Executive and Legislative Councils of the Colony of Hong Kong.

Major Richard Abercrombie Irvine, Provincial Commissioner, Northern Territories of the Gold Coast.

Thomas Orr, Esq., Member of the House of Assembly of the Union of South Africa.

Lieutenant-Colonel David Prain, C.I.E., F.R.S., Director of the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew.

Daniel Woodley Prowse, Esq., K.C., LL.D., Author of "A History of Newfoundland.

Colonel Alfred William Robin, C.B., Adjutant-General to the New Zealand Military

Tan Jiak Kim, Esq., Unofficial Member of the Legislative Council of the Straits Settlements.

Maurice Edward Wingfield, Esq., recently Acting Colonial Secretary of the Colony of the Gambia.

To be an Honorary Member of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order: --

Salim bin Khalfan, Liwali of Mombasa.

Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George. Downing Street, January 1, 1912.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following promotion in and appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George: --

To be an Ordinary Member of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

Rear-Admiral the Honourable Alexander Edward Bethell, C.M.G., Director of Naval Intelligence.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

ilne Cheetham, Esq., Councillor of Embassy in His Majesty's Diplomatic Ser-Milne Cheetham, vice attached to His Majesty's Agency and Consulate-General at Cairo.

Esq., Frederick Roberts, Majesty's Consul-General at Barcelona

Donald Andreas Cameron, Esq., His Majesty's Consul-General at Alexandria.

Henry Fountain, Esq., Principal Clerk in the Board of Trade.

James McIver MacLeod, Esq., His Majesty's Consul at Fez.

Downing Street, January 1, 1912.

The KING has been pleased to approve of the use and recognition throughout His Majesty's Dominions during tenure of office of the title of "Honourable" in the case of the Chief Justices and Judges of the undermentioned Courts:~

Australia.

The High Court of Australia. The Supreme Court of New South Wales. The Supreme Court of Victoria. The Supreme Court of Queensland. The Supreme Court of South Australia. The Supreme Court of Western Australia. The Supreme Court of Tasmania.

New Zealand.

The Supreme Court of New Zealand.

South Africa.

The Supreme Court of South Africa.

New found land.

The Supreme Court of Newfoundland.

A similar recognition of the title will be accorded in the case of retired Chief Justices and Judges of those Courts who have been or may hereafter be permitted to bear it after retirement.

The following have received permission to bear the title after retirement:

Sir James Prendergast, formerly Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of New Zealand. Sir Matthew Henry Stephen; formerly

Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of New South Wales.

Sir William Owen, formerly Puisne Judge of the Supreme Court of New South Wales.