to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

The Honourable Allen Bristol Aylesworth, K.C., Minister of Justice of the Dominion of Canada; in recognition of services in connection with the North Atlantic Coast Fisheries Arbitration.

Henry Paul Harvey, Esq., C.B., Financial Adviser to the Egyptian Government.

Richard Frederick Crawford, Esq., one of His Majesty's Commissioners of Customs.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:-

Abercrombie Colonel George Samuel Harvey, Pasha, Commandant of the Cairo City Police.

Evelyn Mountstuart Grant Duff, Esq., His Majesty's Consul-General at Buda-Pesth.

Philip Alphonso Somers Cocks, Esq., His Majesty's Consul at Lisbon.

Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Downing Street, January 2, 1911.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George in commemoration of the establishment of the Union of South Africa:

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class or Knights Commanders of the said Most Dis-.. tinguished Order:-

> The Right Honourable Frederick Robert Moor, D.C.L., Senator of the Union of South Africa; one of the delegates from Natal to the South African National Convention.

. Sir James Percy Fitzpatrick, Kt., Member of the House of Assembly of the Union of South Africa; one of the delegates from the Transvaal to the South African National Convention.

The Honourable Nicolaas Frederic de Waal, Administrator of the Province of the Cape of Good Hope.

The Honourable Edward Philip Solomon, Senator of the Union of South Africa.

The Honourable Thomas William Smartt, Member of the House of Assembly of the Union of South Africa; one of the delegates from the Cape of Good Hope to the South African National Convention.

The Honourable Edgar Harris Walton, Member of the House of Assembly of the Union of South Africa; one of the delegates from the Cape of Good Hope to the South African National Convention.

Abe Bailey, Esq., lately Member of the Legislative Assembly of the Transvaal.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:

Albert Browne, Esq., I.S.O., one of the

delegates from the Orange River Colony to the South African National Convention.

> Downing Street, December 31, 1910.

The KING has been pleased to approve the retention of the title of "Honourable" by the following gentlemen, who were members of the Executive Councils of the Cape of Good Hope, Natal, the Transvaal, and the Orange River Colony at the time of the establishment of the Union of South Africa:

Cape of Good Hope.

The Honourable Nicolaas Frederic de Waal. The Honourable Henry Burton, K.C. The Honourable Jacobus Wilhelmus Sauer. The Honourable François Stephanus Malan. The Honourable David Pieter de Villiers

Henry Latham Currey, Esq. Sir Charles Abercrombie Smith, Kt. Sir Ebenezer John Buchanan, Kt. Sir Thomas Charles Scanlen, K.C.M.G.

Sir Jacobus Albertus de Wet, K.C.M.G. Sir James Rose Innes, K.C., K.C.M.G. Sir Pieter Hendrik Faure, K.C.M.G. Sir James Sivewright, K.C.M.G.

William Philip Schreiner, Esq., K.C., C.M.G

Sir John Frost, K.C.M.G Sir Henry Hubert Juta, K.C., Kt. Thomas Nicolas German Te Water, Esq.

Thomas Lynedoch Graham, Esq., K.C. Thomas William Smartt, Esq.

Richard Solomon, K.C., K.C.M.G., K.C.V.O.

Sir Lewis Loyd Michell, Kt. Edgar Harris Walton, Esq. Victor Sampson, Esq., K.C. Colonel Charles Preston Crewe, C.B.

Arthur John Fuller, Esq.

Natal.

The Honourable Charles O'Grady Gubbins. William Arthur Deane, Esq. Thomas Fortescue Carter, Esq., K.C. Colonel Edward Mackenzie Greene, K.C., C.M.G. Albert Thomas Oliff, Esq.

The Honourable Jan Christiaan General Smuts, K.C. Jacob de Villiers, Esq., K.C. The Honourable Henry Charles Hull. The Honourable Johann Friedrich Bernhard Rissik. The Honourable Edward Philip Solomon.

Orange River Colony.

The Honourable Abraham Fischer. General the Honourable James Barry Munnik Hertzog. The Honourable Alfred Ernest William Rams-

bottom.

General Christiaan Rudolph de Wet. Cornelius Hermanus Wessels, Esq.

His Majesty has likewise been pleased to approve the retention of the title of "Honourable " by the following gentlemen:-

The Honourable James Tennant Molteno, Speaker of the House of Assembly of the Cape of Good Hope.