No. 3 or Durham District, consisting of the southern portion of the county of Durham (namely, so much of the county as is not included in No. 2 District), Westmorland, and the North Riding of the county of York. No. 4 or York and North Midland District,

No. 4 or York and North Midland District, consisting of the East and West Ridings of the county of York (except that portion of the West Riding which was transferred for administrative purposes from the county of Lancaster by the Local Government Act, 1888), and the counties of Lincoln, Nottingham, and Derby (except that part of the county of Derby which lies south of the River Trent).

No. 5 or Manchester and Ireland District, consisting of so much of the county of Lancaster as is not included in Nos. 2 and 6 Districts; the area which was transferred for administrative purposes from the county of Lancaster to the West Riding of the county of York by the Local Government Act, 1888; and Ireland.

No. 6 or Liverpool and North Wales District, consisting of the south-western portion of the county of Lancaster (namely the parishes of Hesketh-with-Becconsall, Tarleton, Croston, Eccleston, Standish, Wigav, Winwick, and Warrington, and all parishes to the west thereof), and the counties of Chester (except that portion which includes the parishes of Church Lawton, Odd Rode, and Wildboarclough, and the portion situated on east side of North Staffordshire Railway, from Mow Cop Station to North Rode Station, and south of the North Staffordshire Railway from North Rode Station to Rushton Station), Flint, Denbigh, Montgomery, Merioneth, Carnarvon, and Anglesey.

No. 7 or South Wales District, consisting of the counties of Glamorgan, Brecon, Radnor, Cardigan, Carmarthen, Pembroke, and Monmouth.

No. 8 or the Midland and Southern District, consisting of so much of the county of Cheshire as includes the parishes of Church Lawton, Odd Rode, and Wildboarclough, and the portion situated on east side of North Staffordshire Railway from Mow Cop Station to North Rode Station, and south of the North Staffordshire Railway from North Rode Station to Rushton Station, so much of the county of Derby as is not included in No. 4 District, and the counties of Stafford, Salop, Worcester, Leicester, Warwick, Hereford, Gloucester, Northampton, Rutland, Huntingdon, Cambridge, Oxford, Berkshire, Buckingham, Bedford. Hertford, Middlesex, Norfolk, Suffolk, Essex, Somerset, Devon, Cornwall, Dorset, Wiltshire, Hampshire, London, Surrey, Sussex, and Kent.

This Order shall come into force on the 1st June, 1910. It may be referred to as the Mines Inspection Districts Order of 19th May, 1910.

> Winston S. Churchill, One of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State.

Home Office, Whitehall, 19th May, 1910.

The Lords of the Committee of Council on Education for Scotland hereby give notice, with the approval of the Lords Commissioners of His Majesty's Treasury, that the situation of Accountant in the Scotch Education Office has been withdrawn from Schedule B of the Order in Council of the 10th of January, 1910.

Board of Trade (Harbour Department), London, May 26, 1910.

The Board of Trade have received a copy of the following Quarantine Notice, dated May 18th, issued by the Governor of Malta:----

GOVERNMENT NOTICE. No. 120.

Information having been received that an infectious or contagious disease, dangerous to mankind, to wit, cholera, exists at the Russian ports of Berdiansk and Marianopol and on the intervening coast, it is hereby declared that Berdiansk and Marianopol and the intervening coast are infected places within the meaning of Article 1 of the Regulations made under the Fourth Sanitary Ordinance, 1908, and published on the 28th August, 1908.

By command,

E. M. MEREWETHER, Lieutenant-Governor and Chief Secretary to Government.

Lieut.-Governor's Office, The Palace, Valletta, May 18, 1910.

Board of Trade (Harbour Department), London, May 26, 1910.

The Board of Trade have received, through the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, a copy of a Telegram, dated May 21st, from His Majesty's Representative at Constantinople, stating that disinfection, rat-destruction, and five days' quarantine have been imposed on arrivals from Bushire.

Board of Trade (Harbour Department), London, May 26, 1910.

The Board of Trade have received, through the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs, a copy of a Telegram, dated May 24th, from His Majesty's Representative at Rome, stating that the measures imposed against arrivals from Basra have been withdrawn.

LIGHT RAILWAYS ACT, 1896.

Portsmouth and Hayling Light Railway (Extension of Time) Urder.

The Light Railway Commissioners have submitted to the Board of Trade, for confirmation under the above-mentioned Act, an Order made by them reviving the powers granted by the Portsmouth and Hayling Light Railway Order, 1905, for the compulsory purchase of lands and extending the periods limited by that Order for the same and for the completion of the light railway and works thereby authorised.

Any objections to the confirmation of the Order should be addressed to the Assistant. Secretary (Railway Department), Board of Trade, Whitehall Gardens, London, S.W., and must be lodged with the Board on or before the 16th June next. These should be accompanied by