AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Sorting Clerk and Telegraphist (Postal), Bradford, Henry Amos Haigh Thomas.

Male Learner, Tipton, William Francis Sanders.

Female Learner, Camborne, Elizabeth May Eustice.

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Customs: Preventive Man; John Patrick Collins.

Post Office: Postmen or Porters, London, Edward Chapman, Albert Ives.

Postman, London, John Augustus Barnett.

. Skilled Telephonist, Tunbridge Wells, Fanny Ellen White.

Telephonist, Falkirk, Elizabeth Bowie Arthur Kay.

Learners, Frederic Vernon Benbow (Alfreton), William Reynolds (Faringdon).

Postmen, Alfred Henry Bennett (Kidderminster), Herbert Cooper (Hull), John O'Grady (Dublin), Robert Sinclair (Glasgow), William George Taylor (Swansea).

Under Clause VII of the Order in Council of 4th June, 1870.

Admiralty: Civilian Schoolmasters in His Majesty's Naval Mechanical Training Establishments, William Harry Thomas Pain, Charles Wesley Willsteed.

Storehouseman in the Naval Ordnance Store Department, William Charles Noise.

Board of Trade: Third Class Engineeer Surveyor, David James Harris.

War Office: Forewoman in the Army Ordnance Department, Bessie Davies.

Post Office: Postmen, Arthur Noah Wilson Baker (Larne), James Biluey (Glasgow).

For Registration as Temporary Boy Clerks.

Leonard Butler Duckles, William Noel Edwards, Albert George Trotter.

II.—ASSIGNMENTS OF SECOND DIVISION CLERKS.

Admiralty, Albert Edward Day.

Agriculture and Fisheries, Board of, Alexander Ferguson, Harry Percy Foale, Frank Herbert Hough, and (for temporary duty) Edward Cecil Briggs, Richard Charles Buckley, Arthur William Bull, Robert Henry Burden, Charles Edgar Doughty, John Matthew Drennau, William Jack Fast, Hubert William Warwick Fisher, Original Charles Fletcher, Sidney Arthur Garrett, Arthur Grimsdale, Arthur Henry Henbest, Eric Alfred Henry, Hubert Anderson Mackintosh Hutber, Robert Mackinuon, Solomon Nabarro, Leonard Arthur Pavey, William Rose, Hubert Henry Tibble, Donald Edward Vandepeer, and Arthur Stanley Wood.

Constabulary Office, Ireland, Robert Paul.

Foreign Office, Reginald Fitzroy Jarrett.

Persons, Registry, Charles Edward

Home Office, Frederick Owen Crocker.

Irish Land Commission, Lionel George Paterson Morris.

Paymaster - General's Office, Horace Kennett Beecham.

Post Office, Juan William Percival Chamberlin, James Maxwell, Edwin Francis Moody, Allsop Aubrey Murray, David George Ewart Robertson, Robert Paterson Smith, Edgar Joseph Walker, and Eric William Wotton.

Registrar-General's Office (England), Sijil Theodore Arthur Abdul-Ali, Richard Norman Barcham, Ernest William Booker, William Cecil Edwards, Herbert Charles Gregory, Alexander Johnson, Richard Thomas Johnson, Richard Henry Jonas, John Edmund Laycock, Ernest Hooker Lee, Joseph Harold Lingwood, Charlie James Martin, and Wilfrid Allan Smoker (all for temporary duty).

Trade, Board of, Herbert William John Holt, Reginald Arthur McGuire, and Percy Balme Perfect.

III.—TRANSFERS OF SECOND DIVISION CLERKS:—

Agriculture and Fisheries, Board of, Leonard Marchant, from the Inland Revenue.

Irish Land Commission, Arthur Francis Hinton, from the Post Office.

IV.—PROMOTIONS OF SECOND DIVISION CLERKS under Clause XII of the Order in Council of 29th November, 1898:—

Army Accounts Department, Sydney Septimus Ayles, Robert Ivor Brenton, Harry Percy Fennell, Frederick Heron Kerr, and Robert James Bird Snow to be Second Class Assistant Accountants.

V.—TRANSFERS OF ASSISTANT CLERKS (ABSTRACTOR CLASS):—

Civil Service Commission, Henry George Goodger, from the Inland Revenue.

Irish Land Commission, Michael Burns, from the Stationery Office; Nicholas James Clery, from the Local Government Board (England); and Hugh Hehir, from the Prison Board (Ireland).

Post Office, George Brodie (Edinburgh), from the Office of Works; Christopher Davis, from the Registrar-General's Office (England); Thomas William Dickson (Edinburgh), from the Customs; Arthur Henry John Hubert, from the Registrar-General's Office (England); and Cecil William Lovett, from the Board of Trade.

Prison Board (Ireland), Richard Ryan, from the Irish Land Commission.

Scotch Education Department, William John Covington, from the Exchequer and Audit Department.

Supreme Court Pay Office, Edward Quinn, from the Exchequer and Audit Department.

Trade, Board of, Frederick Robert Barnes, from Exchequer and Audit Department.

Works, &c., Office of, Charles Edward Kichenside, from the Board of Education.