appointing, according to the regulations of the said Income Tax Act of 1842, such number of fit and proper persons to be Commissioners for General Purposes for the said division of Amounderness, and of persons to supply vacancies amongst such Commissioners, as may be sufficient to increase the number of such Commissioners to any number not exceeding fourteen, and of persons to supply vacancies amongst such Commissioners to any number not exceeding fourteen.

Bernard Mallet.

E. E. Nott Bower.

Inland Revenue, London, January 1, 1908.

Admiralty, 31st December, 1907.

The following Commanders have this day been promoted to the rank of Captain in His Majesty's Fleet:—

Charles Edward Monro.
Rudolf Walter Bentinck.
Guy Lutley Sclater.
The Honourable Algernon Douglas Edward
Harry Boyle, M.V.O.
George Percy Edward Hunt, D.S.O.
Edmund Percy Fenwick George Grant.
Edwin Veale Underhill.
The Honourable Herbert Edward Holmes
A'Court.
Henry Lancelot Mawbey.
Herbert John Savill.
Frederick Laurence Field.
The Honourable Hubert George Brand,
M.V.O.
Henry Blackett.
Henry William Grant.
Charles Martin de Bartolome.

The following Lieutenants have this day been promoted to the rank of Commander in His Majesty's Fleet:—

Sydney Stewart Hall.

Cecil Francis Lacon Watson. Edward Alexander Thomas. John Alexander Webster. Laurence Leopold Dundas. Walter Egerton Woodward. Arthur Beckett Hughes. Wilfrid Nunn. John Henry Loftie. Henry Charles Russel Boucher. George James Todd. Archibald Cochrane. Charles William Trousdale. Rupert Stanley Gwatkin-Williams. Reginald Louis Crichton. Spencer Dundas Forbes. Cyril Asser. David Thomas Norris. John Alexander Ingles. Percy Tufton Hamilton Beamish. Arthur Edmund Wood. Thomas Erskine Wardle. David Monteith Hamilton. Ernest Augustus Taylor. Albert Percy Addison. Frederic Charles Dreyer.

The following Sub-Lieutenants have this day been promoted to the rank of Lieutenant in His Majesty's Fleet:—

Lionel George Dawson.
Hector Richard Monro.
Gilbert Esdaile Venning.
Robert Henry Taunton Raikes
Francis Edmund Blechynden Haselfoot.
John Graham Bower.
Ernest Walter Kirkby.
Cecil Philip Chearnley.
Granville Murray-Browne.
Henry James Maitland Makgill Crichton.
Christopher John Francis Eddis.
Reginald Paul Whiting.
Gerald Harper.
Arthur Gerald Harris.
George Augustus Saltren-Willett.
Ronald Hamilton Curzon Hallifax.

The undermentioned Engineer Lieutenants have been advanced to the rank of Engineer Commander in His Majesty's Fleet:—

Ernest David Mallinson. Dated 17th December, 1907.

Henry Wright Heyes. Dated 23rd December, 1907.

Paymaster James Henry Griffiths has this day been promoted to the rank of Staff Paymaster in His Majesty's Fleet.

Royal Naval Reserve.

Assistant Engineer William Edward Lloyd Polley to be Engineer. Dated 30th December, 1907.

Royal Marine Artillery.

Captain John Brough on return from the Seconded List to be Supernumerary to the Establishment. Dated 1st January, 1908.

Admiralty, 2nd January, 1908.

In accordance with the provisions of Herlate Majesty's Order in Council of 21st July, 1876—

Commander Frederick Rigaud Gransmore has been allowed to assume the rank of Captain on the Retired List of His Majesty's Fleet. Dated 1st January, 1908.

Royal Naval Reserve.

In accordance with the Regulations for the Royal Naval Reserve, the undermentioned Officers have been placed on the Retired List, viz.:—

Lieutenant Derwent Simmonds. Dated 11th December, 1907.

Lieutenant James Chapman Kerkham. Dated 27th December, 1907.

Lieutenant Lionel Bramston Clarke. Dated 30th December, 1907.

Staff Paymaster William Daniel Thompson.
Assistant Paymaster John Moulton Kelly.

Assistant Paymaster Harry Sampson Murley.

Dated 1st January, 1908.

Engineer George Albert Vine to be Senior Engineer. Dated 1st January, 1908.