to its junction with Scaitcliffe-street, thence in a south-easterly direction along Scaitcliffestreet to the westerly side of the Accrington and Manchester branch of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway, thence along the western boundary of the said railway to the southerly end of the railway viaduct at Shoe Mill, and thence in a direct line in a south-westerly direction to the point first before described.

No. 8.—Spring Hill Ward.

I do hereby determine that Spring Hill Ward shall comprise so much of the said township and borough as lies within the following boundary :—

Commencing at a point on the south-westerly boundary of the said borough fifty yards or thereabouts north of the point where a public footpath, leading from Willows-lane past Sheep Cotes Farm, intersects the said boundary, thence in a north-westerly direction along such boundary line to a point on the northerly side of the Accrington and Blackburn branch of the said railway, thence in an easterly direction along the northerly side of the said railway to Scaitcliffe-street, thence in a south-easterly direction across the said railway and along Scuitcliffestreet to a point opposite Richmond-street, thence in a south-westerly direction along that street to its junction with Willows-lane, thence in a southerly direction along that lane to the said public footpath passing Sheep Cotes Farm, and thence in a westerly direction along the northern side of that footpath and the fence to the point first before described.

And I do hereby further declare that the wards hereinbefore determined and defined are shown upon the plan hereunto annexed and signed by me.; and that the said boundaries of the said wards are clearly set forth thereon.

And I do hereby assign and apportion three Councillors to each and every of the said wards as follows, that is to say :---

To West Ward.

Councillors:-Edwin Welch, Thomas Gordon, William Richards.

'o Central Ward.

Councillors :--- William Wilson, James Waddington, James Henry Lupton.

To North Ward.

Councillors :- Alonzo Langham, Thomas Edward Nuttall, William Henry Dixon.

To Peel Park Ward.

Councillors:—Thomas Edward Higham, James Whittaker, James Dewhurst.

To East Ward.

- Councillors :- John Emanuel Bunting, James Briggs, George Frederick Crawford. To South Ward.
- Councillors:-George Nicholas Slinger, John Clegg Lupton, Charles Haddon Tootal.

To Higher Antley Ward.

Councillors :--- John Randolph Cameron, Doctor Counsell Dewhurst, William Wareing.

To Spring Hill Ward.

Councillors :—Arthur Smith Bury, Charles Francis Bury, Albert Thomas Townsend.

Dated this twentieth day of July, one thousand nine hundred and six.

SAMUEL POPE, Commissioner.

Now therefore His Majesty, by and with the advice of His Privy Council, doth hereby approve

B2

of the said scheme of the said Commissioner, and doth order the same to be published in the London Gazette accordingly.

A. W. FitzRoy.

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 22nd day of October, 1906.

PRESENT,

The KING's Most Excellent Majesty in Council.

W HEREAS by an Order of the King's Most Excellent Majesty in Council, dated the eleventh day of May, one thousand nine hundred and six, His Majesty, in pursuance and exercise of the power vested in Him by the Municipal Corporations Act, 1892, as amended by the Municipal Corporations Act, 1893, and of every other power enabling Him in that behalf, did, by and with advice of His Privy Council, fix the number of wards into which the city of Carlisle should be henceforth divided, and did order and direct that the number of the said wards should be ten :

And whereas the Right Honourable Herbert John Gladstone, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, did, in pursuance of the said Acts of Parliament by Warrant given under his hand and seal at Whitehall on the twentyeighth day of May, one thousand nine hundred and six, duly appoint me, Edward Thornton Hill Lawes, Esquire, Barrister-at-Law, to be a Commissioner for determining the boundaries of and for apportioning the Councillors among the wards of the said city of Carlisle;

Now, I, the said Edward Thornton Hill Lawes, in pursuance of the powers given to me by virtue of the said appointment under the said Acts, do hereby determine as hereinafter mentioned the boundaries of the said ten wards into which the said city is divided, which wards are hereinafter named and numbered as follows, that is to say:—

> No. 1.—Castle Ward. No. 2.—Rickergate Ward No. 3.—Aglionby Ward. No. 4.—Greystone Ward. No. 5.—St. Nicholas Ward. No. 6.—Currock Ward. No. 7.—Denton Holme Ward No. 8.—Murrell Hill Ward. No. 9.—Caldewgate Ward. No. 10.—Newtown Ward.

"No. 1.—Castle Ward.

"I do hereby determine that Castle Ward shall comprise so much of the said city of Carlisle as is contained within a line commencing at a point on the municipal boundary in the centre of the River Eden at Eden Bridge, and running thence in a southerly direction along the centre of Eden Bridge, Rickergate, Scotch-street and English-street successively to a point in Englishstreet aforesaid opposite the centre of Victoria Viaduct, thence along the centre of Victoria Viaduct to a point opposite the centre of Millstreet, thence in a south-westerly direction along the centre of the said viaduct to the centre of the River Caldew, thence along the centre of the River : Caldew in a north-westerly direction and under-neath Caldew Bridge and the Caledonian Railway to a point on the said municipal boundary in the River Eden opposite the said River Caldew, and thence along the said municipal boundary in