

The London Gazette.

Bublished by Authority.

FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 7, 1906.

Foreign Office,

August 16, 1906.

The KING has been graciously pleased to appoint-

Berthold George Tours, Esq., to be His Majesty's Vice-Consul at Chungking.

> Foreign Office, September 1, 1906.

The KING has been graciously pleased to

Frederick Dundas Harford, Esq., to be His Majesty's Chargé d'Affaires at Darmstadt and Carlsruhe.

Municipal Corporations Acts, 1882 and 1893. 45 and 46 Vict., c. 50, and 56 and 57 Vict., c. 9. BOROUGH OF ACCRINGTON.

WHEREAS the majority of the Council of the Borough of Accrington, on the 5th day of February, one thousand nine hundred and six, agreed to petitiou, and the Council of the said borough thereupon petitioned His Majesty for an alteration of the number and boundaries of the wards of the said borough.

And whereas His Majesty has been pleased by and with the advice of His Privy Council and in pursuance and in exercise of the powers vested in His Majesty by "the Municipal Corporations Act, 1882," as amended by "the Municipal Corporations Act, 1893," to fix the number of wards into which the borough of Accrington shall be divided, and, to order and direct that the said borough shall thenceforth be divided into eight wards, which order was made on the 11th day of May, one thousand nine hundred and six.

And whereas on the 6th day of June, in the the year last aforesaid, the Right Honourable Herbert John Gladstone, one of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries of State, did duly warrant and appoint me Samuel Pope, Barrister-at-Law, a Commissioner to prepare a scheme for de-termining the boundaries of such wards and for apportioning the Councillors of the said borough among such wards.

Now I, the said Samuel Pope, in pursuance of the powers given me by virtue of the said appointment under the said Acts, do hereby determine as hereinafter mentioned the boundaries of the said eight wards into which the said borough is divided, which wards are hereinafter named and numbered as follows, that is to say:

- 1. West Ward.
- 2. Central Ward.
- 3. North Ward.
- 4. Peel Park Ward.
- 5. East Ward.
- 6. South Ward.
 7. Higher Antley Ward.
 8. Spring Hill Ward.

And where in the following descriptions of the ward boundaries a street is given as the boundary thereof, the boundary is to be taken as the centre of such street, and where any street is described as joining another street, the point of junction is to be taken as the point at which lines, drawn along the centres of the two streets, and continued, would intersect each other, and a point described as being opposite a street is to be taken as opposite the centre of the street.

No. 1.—West Ward.

I do hereby determine that West Ward shall comprise so much of the township and borough of Accrington as lies within the following

Commencing at a point on the westerly boundary of the said borough at the northerly side of the Accrington and Blackburn Branch of the Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway, thence