June 1, 1904.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITION.

Navy: Engineer Cadets, William Jeffery Bond, Harry Hunter Wilson.

Post Office : Male Learner, London, Lewis Pugh.

Male Learners, Manchester, Patrick Boner, Percival Bridgehouse, John Wallace Kitchin Nichols, Alexander Renwick.

Male Learners, Newcasile-on-Tyne, Alexander James Horsburgh Bruce, John Gray, Eden Heal.

Male Learners, Frank Sydney Edwards (Birmingham), Herbert Thornes (York).

Female Learners, London, Gertrude Elizabeth Borwell, Grace Annie Palmer.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

Post Office: Male Learners, Patrick Kelly (Kilmallock), Robert Charles Smith (Birmingham).

WITHOUT COMPETITION.

Prison Department, England: Subordinate Officer, Division I, Samuel White.

Post Office: Postmen, London, Reginald Arthur John Hughes, William Robertson.

Sorter-Tracers, London, Albert Edward Grange, Charles Henry Moore, William John Varney.

Telephone Operator, London, Hilda Mary Sansom.

Learners, John George Andrews (Runcorn', Rupert Stanley Collinson (Rotherham), Frederick George Arthur Lockyear (Lyme Regis).

Postmen, Clarence Joseph Elvis (Birmingham), Archibald Hillyer (Godalming), Charles John Mabberley (Bath), Robert Porter Mould (North Shields), William Tedder (Sutton), Sam Worboys (Sheffield).

Temporary Assistant Postman, Lullow, Henry Thomas Burgoyne.

UNDER CLAUSE VII OF THE ORDER IN COUNCIL OF 4TH JUNE, 1870.

Post Office: Postman, Northampton, Arthur Elliott.

29, Southampton Street, Strand. June 3, 1904.

The KING, Sovereign of the Order of Mercy, has been graciously pleased to sanction the award of the Order to the following Lady

Presidents, Presidents, Vice-Presidents, and Members of the League of Mercy:----

Lady Presidents.

Her Royal Highness Princess Alexander of Teck. Her Highness Princess Victoria of Schleswig-Holstein.

The Countess of Dartmouth.

The Lady Harris.

The Lady Florence Pelham-Clinton. Mrs. Charles Wightman.

Presidents.

Colonel Sir Edwin Hughes. Montagu Sharpe, Esq., D.L., J.P., C.A.

Lady Vice-Presidents.

Mrs. Bentall. Mrs. Pritchard Binnie. Mrs. Bishop. Mrs. Gerald Buxton. Mrs. Castle. Miss Cayley. Mrs. Chancellor. Mrs. N. Cox. Mrs. Dawson. Mrs. Norfolk. Miss Swindells. Mrs. J. Wilkinson.

Vice-Presidents.

Sir Theodore Martin, K.C.B., K.C.V.O Wenman Blake, Esq. Captain T. W. Gunton. B. G. Edwal Locke, Esq. R. Mercer, Esq. Dr. Thompson. Frank Turner, Esq., J.P.

Members.

The Marchioness Cassar de Sain. Miss Katie Browne. Miss Dennistoun. Mrs. Walter Farquhar. Miss C. M. Gibbs. Miss Mildred Hope. Mrs. Macnab. Mrs. Payne. Mrs. Skinner. Mrs. Skinner. Mrs. R. Thorne Waite. G. W. Boorman, Esq. J. Smewing, Esq.