direction along the Parliamentary boundary of the city defined by the Redistribution of Seats Act 1885 Schedule 5 (Name of Parliamentary Borough Liverpool) to the point of commencement aforesaid.

The Wavertree West Ward

shall include so much of the hitherto existing Wavertree Ward as is contained within an imaginary line commencing at the point aforesaid in the northern boundary of the hitherto existing Wavertree Ward where the Bootle Branch of the London and North Western Railway Company intersects the said boundary near Binnsroad proceeding thence in a southerly direction along the boundary of the Wavertree Ward as hereinbefore defined to the junction aforesaid of Garmoyle-road and Smithdown-road thence in north-westerly northerly and easterly directions successively along the boundary of the hitherto existing Wavertree Ward to the point of commencement aforesaid.

And I the said Commissioner in further pursuance of the terms of the said Warrant and for the purposes aforesaid do hereby assign and apportion all the hitherto existing Councillors of the said West Derby District (comprising the Fairfield and West Derby Wards) among the Fairfield Ward the West Derby Wards and the Old Swan Ward respectively as hereinbefore defined of the city of Liverpool as follows namely:

To the Fairfield Ward: Thomas May Smith, Joseph Hunter, Frank John Leslie.

To the West Derby Ward : (one Councillor to be hereafter elected) (one Councillor to be hereafter elected) (one Councillor to be hereafter elected.)

To the Old Swan Ward: William Ramsden, James Lister, Thomas Utley.

And I also hereby assign and apportion all the hitherto existing Councillors of the said Wavertree Ward among the Wavertree Ward and the Wavertree West Ward respectively as hereinbefore defined of the city of Liverpool as follows namely :---

To the Wavertree Ward : (one Councillor to be hereafter elected) (one Councillor to be hereafter elected) (one Councillor to be hereafter elected.)

To the Wavertree West Ward : Arthur Crosthwaite, Isaac Turner, James Wilcox Alsop.

(Signed) A. B. BENCE-JONES. Dated the eleventh day of August, one thousand nine hundred and three.

Now therefore His Majesty, by and with the advice of His Privy Council, doth hereby approve of the said scheme of the said Commissioner, and doth order the same to be published in the London Gazette accordingly.

A. W. FitzRoy.

At the Council Chamber, Whitehall, the 12th day of August, 1903.

By the Lords of His Majesty's Most Honourable Privy Council.

PRESENT.

Lord President. Lord Balfour of Burleigh. Lord Lister. Mr. Akers-Douglas. Mr. Walter Long.

W HEREAS there were this day read at the Board certain Rules, framed by the Central Midwives Board in pursuance of section three of the Midwives Act, 1902;

And whereas it is provided by the said Act that Rules so framed shall be valid only if approved by the Privy Council:

Now, therefore, their Lordships, having taken into consideration the said Rules, together with a representation of the General Medical Council with respect thereto, are pleased to approve the same as set forth in the schedule hereunto annexed for the period of three years.

A, W. FitzRoy.

SCHEDULE referred to in the foregoing Order.

Central Midwives Board.

Rules framed under Section 3 I of the Midwives Act, 1902 (2 Edw. 7, c. 17).

A.-Regulating the Proceedings of the Board.

1. Chairman.—The Chairman shall be elected by ballot at the first meeting of the Board in the month of April in each year, and shall hold office until the first meeting in the month of April in the year following.

the year following. 2. Honorary Treasurer. — An Honorary Treasurer may be elected by ballot from among the members of the Board at their first meeting in the month of April in each year, and if appointed shall hold office until the first meeting in the month of April in the year following.

3. Casual Vacancies.—Should the office of Chairman fall vacant during the year, it shall be filled by election at the next meeting of the Board, and the member so elected shall hold office for the remainder of the year for which his predecessor was elected. A vacancy in the office of Honorary Treasurer shall be filled in the same manner, should the Board so determine.

4. Meetings.—The Board shall meet on the last Thursday in each month, unless otherwise decided at the previous meeting, and at such other times as may be necessary. The Chairman may at any time convene a meeting of the Board, and the Secretary shall convene a meeting if required to do so by any three members of the Board by writing under their hands.

5. Notice.—Not less than four days' notice of any meeting shall be given to each member of the Board, directed to such address as he or she may from time to time furnish to the Secretary.

may from time to time furnish to the Secretary. 5. Quorum.—The quorum of the Board shall be four.

7. Order of Business.—The order of business shall be as follows :—

(1) Minutes of the last meeting.

- (2) Correspondence.
- (3) Statement of accounts.
- (4) Bills and claims.
- (5) Reports of Committees.
- (6) Business directly arising under the Act.
- (7) Notices of motion.

(8) Any other business.

(9) Date of next meeting.

Provided that the Board may at any meeting vary the order of business on the ground of urgency or convenience.

8. Absence of Chairman.—In the event of the Chairman not being present at any meeting of the Board, the chair shall be taken by the Honorary Treasurer; and if neither the Honorary Treasurer nor the Chairman be present, the Board shall elect a presiding chairman for that meeting.

9. Agenda.—No business which is not upon the agenda paper shall be discussed at any meeting of the Board (except routine business) unless the Chairman shall declare such business to be of an urgent nature, and shall be supported by two thirds of the members present and voting.