

## The London Gazette

## Published by Authority.

## TUESDAY, DECEMBER 30, 1902.

Chancery of the Royal Victorian Order, St. James's Palace, December 30, 1902.

The KING has been graciously pleased to make the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Royal Victorian Order:—

To be Honorary Knight Grand Cross: His Excellency the Marquis de Soveral, G.C.M.G. (Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary of His Majesty the King of Portugal at the Court of St. James's).

To be Honorary Knight Commander:
Rear-Admiral Guilherme Augusto de Brito
Capello (Aide-de-Camp to His Majesty the
King of Portugal).

To be Honorary Commander:
Dr. Friedrich Ilberg, M.V.O. (Physician to His
Imperial Majesty the German Emperor and
King of Prussia).

To be Honorary Member of the Fourth Class: Geheimer Hofrathein Julius Taegen (of the German Imperial Foreign Office).

To be Knights Commanders:
Major-General Hugh Richard, Viscount Downe,
C.V.O., C.B., C.I.E.
Sir John Williams, Bart., M.D.

To be Members of the Fourth Class:

Major David Phelips Chapman, late Cheshire Regiment (Director of Accounts Department, Ministry of the Interior, Egypt).

Major James Henry L'Estrange Johnstone, Royal Engineers (President of the Egyptian Railway Administration).

Captain George Edward Wickham Legg (Secretary of the Soldiers' and Sailors' Families' Association).

Stapleton Charles Cotton, Esq. (on his retirement from the Honourable Corps of Gentlemen-at-Arms).

Buckingham Palace, December 18, 1902.

The KING was this day pleased to confer the honour of Knighthood upon the following Gentlemen:—

Thomas Robert Dewar, Esq., M.P.

Lieuteuant-Colonel Charles J. Owens, Engineer and Railway Volunteer Staff Corps.

Lieutenant-Colonel Charles Frederick Harrison, Engineer and Railway Volunteer Staff Corps.

Charles Hampden Wigram, Esq.

Henry Hall Scott, Esq., of Eilanreach.

Robert Hudson Borwick, Esq., of Eden Lacy, Lazonby, Cumberland.

Thomas Henry Brooke-Hitching, Esq., Sheriff of the City of London.

John Mowlein Burt, Esq.

William Thomas Dupree, Esq., Mayor of Portsmouth.

Walter Gray, Esq., late Mayor of Oxford.

Robert M. Hensley, Esq., Chairman of the Metropolitan Asylums Board.

John Hollams, Esq., of Dene Park, Kent, J.P. for Kent and D.L., London.

James Hoy, Esq., LL D., late Lord Mayor of Manchester.

Edward Letchworth, Esq., F.S.A.

Colonel John Roper Parkington, D.L., J.P., County of London.

Colonel Robert Ropner, M.P.

John Sherbum, Esq.

George Wyatt Truscott, Esq., Sheriff of the City of London.

Max Leonard Waechter, Esq.

Charles J. Follett, Esq., C.B., Solicitor of His Majesty's Customs.

Robert Rowand Anderson, Esq., LL.D.

William John Crump, Esq. Colonel Edwin Hughes, V.D.