Major C. A. L. Berringer, Cape Police.

Major T. C. Peakman, Kimberley Light Horse. Major Henry Richings Bousfield, Natal Volun-

Captain and Honorary Major William Price, 24th Middlesex (Post Office) Volunteer Rifle Corps. James Leigh Wood, Esq., care of prisoners of war, Pretoria.

A. L. Langman, jun., Esq., Langman's Hospital.

Chancery of the Order of Saint Michael and Saint George.

Downing Street, June 26, 1902.

The KING has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following promotions in and appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

To be Ordinary Members of the First Class, or Knights Grand Cross of the said Most Distin-

guished Order:—
The Right Honourable Sir John Gordon Sprigg, K.C.M.G., Prime Minister of the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope.

The Right Honourable Edmund Barton, K.C. Prime Minister of the Commonwealth of Australia.

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :-

Major Matthew Nathan, Royal Engineers, C.M.G. Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Gold Coast Colony.

Major Hamilton John Goold-Adams, C.B., C.M.G., Lieutenant - Governor of the Orange River

His Honour Daniel Hunter McMillan, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Manitoba, in the Dominion of Canada.

The Honourable Neil Elliott Lewis, M.A., B.C.L., C.M.G., Prime Minister of the State of Tasmania.

The Honourable Frederick William Holder, Speaker of the House of Representatives of the Commonwealth of Australia.

The Honourable John See, Prime Minister of the State of New South Wales.

The Honourable Alexander James Peacock, late Prime Minister of the State of Victoria.

The Honourable Frederick William Borden, M.D., Minister of Militia and Defence of the Dominion of Canada.

The Honourable William Mulock, K.C., LL.D., M.A., Postmaster-General of the Dominion of

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:

Robert Armitage Sterndale, Esq., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Island of Saint Helena.

William Lamond Allardyce, Esq., Administrator of the Government of Fiji, Assistant Colonial Secretary and Receiver General.

Brevet Colonel (local Major-General) Sir John Grenfell Maxwell, K.C.B., D.S.O., for services rendered while Military Governor of Pretoria.

The Honourable William McCulloch, late Minister of Public Works and Health of the State of

Captain George Augustus Giffard, Royal Navy, for services as Senior Naval Officer engaged in the protection of the Newfoundland Fisheries.

Arthur Ashley Pearson, Esq., of the Colonial Office, for services as one of the British Delegates at the Sugar Bounties Conference, 1901-2.

William Hepworth Mercer, Esq., one of the Crown Agents for the Colonies, for services as Secretary of the Pacific Cable Committees.

Tenry Francis Wilson, Esq., M.A. Secretary to the Administration of the Orange River

Edward Ravile Drayton, Esq., Colonial Secretary and Registrar-General of the Island of (Frenada.

Anthony Musgrave, Esq., Government Secretary of the Possession of British New Guinea.

John Kemyos George Thomas Spencer Churchill, Esq., Colonial Secretary of the Bahama Islands.

Robert Wilson Ievers, Esq., M.A., Government Agent of the Northern Province of the Island of Ceylon.

Charles Riby Williams, Esq., Treasurer of the Gold Coast Colony.

Horace Major Brandford Griffith, Esq., Treasurer of the Colony of the Gambia.

Edward Deshon, Esq., Auditor-General of the State of Queensland.

Edmund Fosbery, Esq., Inspector-General of Police of the State of New South Wales.

George Thompson Hare, Esq., Secretary for Chinese Affairs for the Federation of the Protected States of the Malay Peninsula. Lieutenant-Colonel Frederick White, Comptroller

of the North-West Mounted Police in the Dominion of Canada.

Edward Fortescue Wright, Esq., Inspector-General of Police and Prisons of the Island of Jamaica.

Lieutenant-Colonel Arthur Percy Sherwood, Commissioner of Police of the Dominion of

George Lancelot Eyles, Esq., Consulting Engineer for Railways to the Government of the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope, and to the Crown Agents for the Colonies.

John Brown, Esq., M.Inst.C.E., Engineer-in-Chief, Government Railways of the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope.

Haslitt Michael Beatty, Esq., Chief Locomotive Superintendent, Government Railways of the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope.

William Petch Hewby, Esq., Resident of the First Class in the Protectorate of Northern Nigeria.

Frederick Seton James, Esq., Divisional Commissioner in the Protectorate of Southern Nigeria.

Lieutenant Francis Bartley Henderson, Royal Navy, D.S.O., District Commissioner in Ashanti.

Charles George Harland Bell, Esq., late Civil Commissioner and Resident Magistrate, Mafeking, in the Colony of the Cape of Good Hope.

Bandanaraike, Esq., Solomon Dias Mudaliyar of the Island of Ceylon.

Ricardo Micallef, Esq., Comptroller of Charitable Institutions in the Island of Malta.

Joseph Baynes, Esq., Member of the Legislative Assembly of the Colony of Natal.

Robert Harris, Esq., President of the Royal Canadian Academy.

Richard Darrell Darrell, Esq., Assistant Justice of the Court of General Assize of the Bermuda Islands.

William Kellman Chandler, Esq., LL.D., Master in Chancery and Senior Judge of the Assistant Court of Appeal of the Island of Barbados.

Ernest Leslie Acutt, Esq., Mayor of Durban.

John William Leonard, Esq., on retirement as Chief Clerk and Chief Accountant in the Office of the Crown Agents for the Colonies.