Her Majesty has been further pleased to

The Right Honourable Sir Samuel James Way, Bart. (Chief Justice of South Australia), to be Lieutenant-Governor of the State of South Australia and its Dependencies, in the Commonwealth of Australia

The Honourable Sir Samuel Walker Griffith, G.C.M.G. (Chief Justice of Queensland), to be Lieutenant-Governor of the State of Queensland and its Dependencies, in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Sir Frederick Matthew Darley, K.C.M.G. (Chief Justice of New South Wales), to be Lieutenant-Governor of the State of New South Wales and its Dependencies, in the

Commonwealth of Australia. Sir John Madden, K.C.M.G. (Chief Justice of Victoria), to be Lieutenant-Governor of the State of Victoria and its Dependencies, in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Scottish Office, Whitehall, November 5, 1900.

THE Queen has been pleased by Warrants under Her Majesty's Royal Sign Manual to make the following appointments:-

Alexander Edward Henderson, Esq., Advocate, to be Resident Sheriff-Substitute at Edinburgh, in the Sheriffdom of the Lothians and Peebles. Dated 26th October, 1900.

William Darling Lyell, Esq., Advocate, to be Resident Sheriff-Substitute at Paisley, in the Sheriffdom of Renfrew and Bute.

Dated 28th October, 1900.

George Watson, Esq., Advocate, to be Resident Sheriff-Substitute at Newton Stewart, in the Sheriffdom of Dumfries and Galloway.

Dated 30th October, 1900.

John Peter Grant, of Rothiemurchus, Esq., Advocate, to be Resident Sheriff-Substitute at Inverness, in the Sheriffdom of Inverness, Elgin, and Nairn:

Dated 31st October, 1900.

Lawrence Twentyman Napier, Esq., Advocate, Resident Sheriff-Substitute presently Resident Sheriff-Substitute Newton Stewart, in the Sheriffdom Dumfries and Galloway, has been transferred to Kirkcudbright by Warrant under the hand of the Secretary for Scotland.

Dated 29th October, 1900.

Scottish Office, Whitehall, November 5, 1900.

THE Queen has been pleased, by Warrants under Her Majesty's Royal Sign Manual, bearing date 3rd November, 1900, to appoint James Swain Saunders, Esq., to be Ordinary Clerk in the First Division of the Court of Session, and Joseph Antonio, Esq., to be Ordinary Clerk in the Second Division in the Court of Session.

> Board of Education, Whitehall, November 5, 1900.

ELEMENTARY EDUCATION ACTS, 1870-1899.

THE Board of Education have issued an order this day for the formation of a School Board in the undermentioned Parish:-

Wigginton ... York (N.R.) Crown Office, November 2, 1900.

MEMBERS returned to serve in the PARLIA-MENT summoned to be holden at Westminster the 1st day of November, 1900 :-

ENGLAND AND WALES.

County of Anglesea.

Ellis Jones Griffith, Esq.

Borough of Ashton-under-Lyne. Herbert James Whiteley, Esq.

Borough of Aston Manor.

Evelyn Cecil, Esq.

Borough of Barrow-in-Furness. Sir Charles William Cayzer, Knt.

Borough of Bath.

Colonel Charles Wyndham Murray.

The Right Honourable Edmond Robert Wodehouse.

> Borough of Battersea and Clapham. Battersea Division.

John Burns, Esq.

Clapham Division.

Percy Melville Thornton, Esq.

County of Bedford. Northern or Biggleswade Division.

Alwyne Frederick Compton, Esq. (commonly called Lord Alwyne Frederick Compton).

Southern or Luton Division.

Thomas Gair Ashton, Esq.

Borough of Bedford.

Charles Guy Pym, Esq.

County of Berks. Northern or Abingdon Division.

Archie Kirkman Loyd, Esq., Q.C.

Southern or Newbury Division.

William Arthur Mount, Esq.

Eastern or Wokingham Division.

Commander Oliver Young, R.N.

Borough of Bethnal Green. . North-East Division.

Sir Mancherjee Merwanjee Bhownaggree, K.C.I.E.

South-West Division.

Samuel Forde Ridley, Esq.

Borough of Birkenhead.

Sir Elliott Lees, Bart.

Borough of Birmingham. Edgbaston Division.

Francis William Lowe, Esq.

West Division. The Right Honourable Joseph Chamberlain.

Central Division.

Ebenezer Parkes, Esq.

North Division.

John Throgmorton Middlemore, Esq.

East Division.

Sir John Benjamin Stone, Knt.

Bordesley Division.

The Right Honourable Jesse Collings.

South Division. Joseph Powell Williams, Esq.

Borough of Blackburn. Sir William Henry Hornby, Bart.

Sir William Coddington, Bart.

Borough of Bolton.

Herbert Shepherd Cross, Esq. George Harwood, Esq.

Borough of Boston.

William Garfit, Esq.