DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 AND 1896.

-REFURN of OUTBREAKS of SWINE-FEVER for the Week ended August 18th, 1900, distinguishing Counties (including Boroughs*).

County.				Outbreaks confirmed. No.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.	County. ENGLAND.	Outbreaks confirmed. No.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.
Chester				$\overline{2}$	3	Surrey		7
Derby				ī	- 2	Warwick		11
Essex				2	8	Wilts	1	1
Gloucester				1	4	York, East Riding		3
Kent				1	7	" West Riding	4	13
Lancaster				1	• 5	<i>"</i>		
Leicester		•••		1	1.	•		
Lincoln, Parts of Kesteven 1				1	2.	WALES.		
Middlesex	•••			2	2 · 2 2			
Norfolk				1	2	Denbigh	1	
Rutland				•••	1	Glamorgan	1	1 1
Somerset				4	17 33			
Stafford				1	33	TOTAL	27	130 .

• For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley is considered to be in Worcestershire, Stockport is considered to be in Cheshire, and the city of London is considered to be in the county of London.

Swine-Fever Infected Areas.

THE following Areas are now Areas Infected with Swine-Fever under the above-mentioned Acts :--

- Bedfordshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Old Warden, Southill, Biggleswade, Dunton, Edworth, Astwick, Stotfold, Arlesey, Langford, Henlow, Upper Stondon, Meppershall, Clifton, Shefford, Shefford Hardwick, Campton, and Chicksands Priory, in the administrative county of Bedford (5 July, 1900).
- Cheshire.—(1.) An Area comprising the parishes of Liscard, Poulton-cum-Seacomb, Wallasey, Bidston-cum-Ford, and Noctorum, in the administrative county of Chester; and also
- comprising the borough of Birkenhead (9 May, 1900).
- (2.) An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Chester Castle, Eddisbury, Broxton, Nantwich, and Middlewich and Sandbach, in the administrative county of Chester; and also comprising the boroughs of Chester, Crewe, and Original States (4. July 1900)

• Congleton (4 July, 1900).

- Derbyshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Whittington, Staveley, Brimington, Tapton, and Newbold and Dunston, in the administrative county of Derby; and also comprising the borough of Chesterfield (2 May, 1900).
- Devonshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Lympston, Withycombe Raleigh, East Budileigh, Budleigh Salterton, and Littleham, in the administrative county of Devon (21 May, 1900).
- Dorsetshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Broadway, Radipole, Chickerell, Fleet, and Wyke Regis, in the administrative county of Dorset, and also comprising the borough of Weymouth and Melcombe Regis (14 July, 1900).
- Flintshire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Hawarden (except the de-

tached portion) and Hope, in the administrative county of Flint (26 May, 1900).

Gloucestershire.—(1.) An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Tewkesbury (except the parishes of Twyning and Forthampton), Gloucester, Stroud, Whitminster, Horsley, Dursley, and Berkeley, and the borough of Tewkesbury, in the administrative county of Gloucester; and also comprising the borough of Gloucester (23 May, 1900).

(2.) An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Lawford's Gate and Sodbury, in the administrative county of Gloucester (6 July, 1900).

- Hampshire and Sussex.—An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Chichester and Arundel, the detached portions of the petty sessional division of Worthing, and the borough of Chichester, in the administrative county of West Sussex; and also comprising the petty sessional divisions of Fareham (except the parishes of Wickham, Boarhunt, Fareham, Titchfield, Hook-with-Warsach, Sarisbury, Crofton, Rowner, and Alverstoke), and the parishes of Hambledon, Catherington, Clanfield, Chalton, Blendworth, and Idsworth, in the administrative county of Southampton; and also comprising the borough of Portsmouth (28 June, 1900).
- Lancashire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Wigan (except the parish of Haigh), Leigh, Warrington, St. Helens, Childwall, Prescot, Kirkdale (except the parish of Garston), Ormskirk, Southport, Kirkham, and Amounderness, and the parishes of Inskipwith-Sowerby, Myerscough, and Bilsborrow, in the administrative county of Lancaster; and also comprising the boroughs of Wigan, Leigh, Warrington, Widnes, St. Helens, Southport, Blackpool, and Preston (2 July, 1900).

5194