## DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 and 1896.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of SWINE-FEVER for the Week ended November 19th, 1898, distinguishing Counties (including Boroughs\*).

County.			Outbreaks confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.	County.	Outbreaks confirmed.	Swine Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been exposed to Infection,
ENGL	AND.		No.	No.	ENGLAND.	No	No.
Buckingham				98	Surrey	1	1
Chester			2	53	Sussex, Eastern Division	ī	25
Derby			1 1	4	, Western Division	lī	
Durham				55	Warwick	1	13
Essex			2 4 3	159	Wilts	1 •	2
Gloucester			3	75	Worcester	1	
Hants			1	8	York, East Riding		27
Kent			4 3	36	" North Riding	2 2	59
Lancaster			1 3	51	West Riding	2	20
Leicester		•••	·	1 8	l "		
Lincoln, Parts of Holland			2	72	WALES.		İ
Middlesex			1	17	Denbigh	1	22
Norfolk		_	3	72	Flint	1	7
Northampton	414		2	16		_	1
Notts			1	3	SCOTLAND.		
Salop			l ī	3 2	Fife	1	3
Somerset			l ī	13			
Stafford			2	[ -9	TOTAL	46	930

<sup>\*</sup> For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley is considered to be in Worcestershire, Stockport is considered to be in Cheshire, and the city of London is considered to be in the county of London.

## SWINE-FEVER INFECTED AREAS.

THE following Areas are now Areas Infected with Swine-Fever under the above-mentioned Acts:

Bedfordshire and Northamptonshire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional division of Wellingborough, and the parishes of Raunds, and Hargrave, in the county of Northampton, and also comprising the parishes of Shelton, Dean, Yelden, Melchbourne, Knotting, Riseley, Wymington, Podington, Souldrop, Sharnbrook, Odell, Harrold, and the detached part of Bletsoe, in the county of Bedford (4 November, 1898).

Berkshire and Buckinghamshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Bray, and Cookham, and the municipal borough of Maidenhead, in the county of Berks, and also comprising the petty sessional divisions of the Hundred of Stoke, the Hundred of Desborough (First Division), and the Hundred of Desborough (Second Division), and the parishes of Wooburn, Boveney, Burnham, Dorney, Farnham Royal, Hedgerley Dean, Hitcham, and Taplow, in the county of Buckingham, and also comprising the borough of Chepping (or High) Wycombe (10 February, 1898).

Carmarthenshire. — An Area comprising the parishes of Conwil-Elvet, Llanpumsaint, Llanllawddog, Abernant, Merthyr, Newchurch, and Abergwili, in the county of Carmarthen, and also comprising the borough of Carmarthen (5 November, 1898).

Carnarvonshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Pentir, Llanddeiniolen, Llanfair-is-gaer, Llanrüg, Llanfaglan, Waenfawr, Llanberis, Llanwnda, Bettws Garmon, Llandwrog, Llanllyfni, and Clynnog, in the county of Carnarvon, and also comprising the borough of Carnarvon (25 March, 1898).

Devon.—An Area comprising the parishes of St. Budeaux, Egg Buckland, and Weston Peverell or Pennycross, in the county of Devon, and also comprising the boroughs of Devonport, and Plymouth (23 June, 1898).

Kent.—An Area comprising the petty sessional division of Ramsgate, together with the parish of Sarre and any other place which is included in the liberty of a Cinque Port, and is situate within or to the north of that division, the petty sessional division of Wingham except the parishes of Bishopsbourne, Kingston, Barham, Womenswold, Denton, Wootton, Sibertswold, Coldred, Lydden, Temple Ewell, Whitfield, River, Poulton, Houghton-Without, Guston, East Langdon, West Cliffe, Oxney, and St. Margaret at Cliffe), and the boroughs of Margate, Ramsgate, and Sandwich (15 October, 1898).

Lincolnshire.—An Area in the Parts of Holland Division of Lincolnshire, comprising the petty sessional division of Elloe, and the parishes of Surfleet, Quadring, Donington, Bicker, Swineshead, Simon Weir, Wigtoft, Drainage Marsh, Gosberton, Sutterton, Algarkirk, and Fosdyke, and the lands common to the parishes of Swineshead and Wigtoft (8 November, 1898).

Middlesex.—An Area in the county of Middlesex comprising the petty sessional divisions of Brentford, and Spelthorne; and the petty sessional division of Uxbridge (except the parishes of Harefield, and Ruislip) (25 May, 1898).

Montgomeryshire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional division of Pool (Upper Division) and the municipal borough of Welshpool, in the county of Montgomery (7 September, 1898).