## DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1994 AND 1896.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of SWINE-FEVER for the Week ended October 23th, 1898, distinguishing Counties (including Boroughs\*).

confirmed.	or as having been ex- posed to Infection.	County.	Outbreaks confirmed.	Slaughtered as Diseased or as having been ex- posed to Infection.
No.	No.	ENGLAND.	Ņo.	No.
1 4 2 1	15 69 3 2	York, North Riding , West Riding	. 2	24
2 1 1 10 1	16 25 21 231	Candidan	1 	18 3 1
1  4 1	2 68 38 9	SCOTLAND.	1	17 560
	1 4 2 1  2 1 1 10 1 1	No. No.  1 15 4 69 2 3 1 2 2 2 16 1 25 1 21 10 231 1 2 68 4 38	No.   No.   ENGLAND.	No.   No.   ENGLAND.   No.

<sup>\*</sup> For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley is considered to be in Worcestershire, Stockport is considered to be in Cheshire, and the city of London is considered to be in the county of London.

## SWINE-FEVER INFECTED AREAS.

THE following Areas are now Areas Infected with Swine-Fever under the above-mentioned Acts:—

Berkshire and Buckinghamshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Bray, and Cookham, and the municipal borough of Maidenhead, in the county of Berks, and also comprising the petty sessional divisions of the Hundred of Stoke, the Hundred of Desborough (First Division), and the Hundred of Desborough (Second Division), and the parishes of Wooburn, Boveney, Burnham, Dorney, Farnham Royal, Hedgerley Dean, Hitcham, and Taplow, in the county of Buckinglam, and a'so comprising the borough of Chepping (or High) Wycombe (10 February, 1898).

Carnarvonshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Pentir, Llanddeiniolen, Llanfair-is-gaer, Llanrüg, Llanfaglan, Waenfawr, Llanberis, Llanwnda, Bettws Garmon, Llandwrog, Llanllyfni, and Clynnog, in the county of Carnarvon, and also comprising the borough of Carnarvon (25 March, 1898).

Devon.—An Area comprising the parishes of St. Budeaux, Egg Buckland, and Weston Peverell or Pennycross, in the county of Devon, and also comprising the boroughs of Devonport, and Plymouth (23 June, 1898).

Glamorgan. — An Area comprising the petty sessional divisions of Miskin Higher, Miskin Lower, Caerphilly Higher, and Caerphilly Lower in the county of Glamorgan (23 April, 1898).

Kent.—An Area comprising the petty sessional division of Ramsgate, together with the parish of Sarre and any other place which is included in the liberty of a Cinque Port, and is situate within or to the north of that division, the petty sessional division of Wingham except the

parishes of Bishopsbourne, Kingston, Barham, Womenswold, Denton, Wootton, Sibertswold, Coldred, Lydden, Temple Ewell, Whitfields River, Poulton, Houghton-Without, Guston, East Langdon, West Cliffe, Oxney, and St. Margaret at Cliffe), and the boroughs of Margate, Ramsgate, and Sandwich (15 October, 1898).

Lincolnshire.—An Area in the Parts of Holland Division of Lincolnshire, comprising the parishes of Spalding, Cowbit, Pinchbeck, Surfleet. Quadring, Donington, Bicker, Swineshead, Wigtoft, Gosberton, Weston, Moulton, and the detached part of Sutterton, and such part of the parish of Deeping St. Nicholas as is situate within that Division (29 October, 1898).

Middlesex.—An Area in the county of Middlesex comprising the petty sessional divisions of Brentford, and Spelthorne; and the petty sessional division of Uxbridge (except the parishes of Harefield, and Ruislip) (25 May, 1898).

Montgomeryshire.—An Area comprising the petty sessional division of Pool (Upper Division) and the municipal torough of Welshpool, in the county of Montgomery (7 September, 1898).

Stirlingshire.—An Area comprising the parishes of Larbert, Bothkennar, Falkirk, Polmont, Muiravonside, and Slamannan, in the county of Stirling, and also comprising the burgh of Falkirk (24 September, 1898).

Yorkshire.—(1.) An Area comprising the borough of Scarborough (15 February, 1897).

(2.) An Area comprising the civil parishes or townships of Ardaley, Barugh, Billingley, Cudworth, Carlton, Darton, Dodworth, Darfield, Great Houghton, Little Houghton, Hoyland Nether, Monk Bretton (including its detached part), Stainbrough, Silkstone, Worsbrough, Wombwell, Brampton, West Melton Denaby, Hooton Roberts, Rawmarsh, Swinton,