THE LONDON GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY, MARCH 14, 1898. 16'9

- The Honourable Sir Richard John Cartwright, K.C.M.G., Minister of Trade and Commerce for the Dominion of Canada.
- Sir William Robinson, K.C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Hong Kong.
- Sir Henry Arthur Blake, K.C.M.G., Captain-General and Governor-in-Chief of the Island of Jamaica.
- The Honourable Sir Oliver Mowat, K.C.M.G., Minister of Justice for the Dominion of Canada.
- To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :--
- Sir William Lambert Dobson, Knt., Chief Justice of the Colony of Tasmania, who has on several occasions administered the Government of the Colony in the absence of the Governor.
- Sir Frederick Matthew Darley, Knt., Lieutenant-Governor of the Colony of New South Wales and Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of that Colony.
- Colonel Frederick Cardew, C.M.G., Governor and Commander-in-Chief of the Colony of Sierra Leone.
- His Honour The Honourable George Airey Kirkpatrick, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province of Untario, in the Dominion of Canada.
- William Alexander Baillie Hamilton, Esq., C.B., C.M.G., Chief Clerk of the Colonial Department.
- Sandford Fleming, Esq., C.M.G., for services connected with the Dominion of Canada.
- Frederick Richard Saunders, Esq., C.M.G., Treasurer of the Island of Ceylon.
- Frank Athelstane Swettenham, Esq., C.M.G., Resident-General for the Federation of the Protected States of the Malay Peninsula.
- Clement Courtenay Knollys, Esq., C.M.G., Colonial Secretary of the Colony of Trinidad and Tobago.
- Count Strickland della Catena, C.M.G., Chief Secretary to the Government of the Island of Malta.
- Cavendish Boyle, Esq., C.M.G., Government Secretary of the Colony of British Guiana.
- Charles Gage Brown, Esq., M.D., C.M.G., Medical Adviser to the Colonial Office. Walter Peace, Esq., C.M.G., Agent-General in London for the Colony of Natal.
- Godfrey Yeatman Lagden, Esq., C.M.G., Government Secretary and Accountant of Basutoland.
- The Honourable Horace Tozer, Colonial Secretary of the Colony of Queensland.
- The Honourable Lewis Henry Davies, Minister of Marine and Fisheries for the Dominion of Canada.
- The Honourable Henry Cuthbert, Solicitor-General of the Colony of Victoria.
- Edward Montague Nelson, Esq., for services in connection with the Australasian Colonies.

To be an Honorary Member of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Distinguished Order :---

His Highness Ibrahim, Sultan of the State and Territory of Johore.