DISEASES OF ANIMALS ACTS, 1894 AND 1896.

RETURN of OUTBREAKS of the undermentioned DISEASES for the Week ended January 8th, 1898, distinguishing Counties (including Boroughs*).

ANTHRAX.				GLANDERS (INCLUDING FARCY).			
County.		Outbreaks reported.	Animals Attacked.			Animals which remained	Animals
ENGLAND. Cornwall Devon Lincoln, Parts of Holland Norfolk Northampton		No. 1 1 2 1	No. 1 3 1 2 2	County.	Out- breaks reported	Diseased at the	
Surrey Sussex, Eastern Division Wilts		1 1 1	1 1 1	ENGLAND.	No.	No.	No.
SCOTLAND. Forfar Midlothian		1 3	1 4	Essex Hertford	1 1	1	 1 1 2
TOTAL		12	17	London Middlesex	12	2	17 4 1
RABIES.				Sussex, Eastern Division	1 1	•••	1 1
County.	Cases reported during the Week.		destroyed	Vonla West Diding		ï	
	. Dog	other Animals	as having been ex- posed to Infection.	SCOTLAND.			
ENGLAND.	No	o. No.	No.	Lanark	1	•••	4 6
Hertford	1			TOTAL	19	4	74

^{*} For convenience Berwick-upon-Tweed is considered to be in Northumberland, Dudley is considered to be in Worcestershire, Stockport is considered to be in Cheshire, and the city of London is considered to be in the county of London.

ORDERS AS TO MUZZLING DOGS.

THE Board of Agriculture have by Order prescribed, as from the dates mentioned, the Muzzling of Dogs in the districts and parts of districts of Local Authorities, as follows:—

Berkshire.—The petty sessional divisions of Reading, Wokingham, Maidenhead, and Windsor, and the municipal borough of Maidenhead, in the county of Berks. Boroughs of Reading, and Windsor (New) (1 October, 1897).

Breconshire.—County of Brecon (8 June, 1897).

Buckinghamshire.—The petty sessional divisions of the Hundred of Stoke, the Hundred of Burnham (exclusive of the Chesham Division), the Hundred of Desborough (First Division), and the Hundred of Desborough (Second Division), in the county of Buckingham. Borough of Chepping (or High) Wycombe (1 October, 1897).

Carmarthenshire.—The petty sessional division of Llanelly (and Kidweily), and so much of the petty sessional divisions of Carmarthen, and Llandilo as lies to the south-east of the River Towy, in the county of Carmarthen (17 August, 1897).

City and Metropolitan Police Districts.—County of London, County of Middlesex, City of London, Borough of Croydon, Borough of Kingston-on-Thames, Borough of Richmond (Surrey), Borough of West Ham. Such parts of the Counties of Essex, Hertford, Kent, and Surrey as are situate within the Metropolitan Police District (6 April, 1897).

Derbyshire.—The petty sessional divisions of Repton, and Swadlincote, in the county of Derby, being that portion of the county south of the River Trent (1 June, 1897).

Devonshire.—County of Devon, Boroughs of Barnstaple, Devonport, Exeter, Plymouth, Tiverton, and Torquay (17 August, 1897).

Durham.—The petty sessional divisions of Darlington, Stockton-on-Tees, and West Hartlepool, in the county of Durham. Boroughs of Darlington, Hartlepool, Stockton-on-Tees, and West Hartlepool (21 October, 1897).

Glamorganshire.—The petty sessional divisions of Gower, Swansea, Pontardawe, Neath, and Aberavon, in the county of Glamorgan. Boroughs of Aberavon, Neath, and Swansea (17 August, 1897).

Gloucestershire.—County of Gloucester (except the petty sessional divisions of Thornbury, Sodbury, Lawford's Gate, Stow, and Fairford, and the parishes of Didmarton, Little Barrington, Sherborne, Aldsworth, and Windrush). Boroughs of Cheltenham, and Gloucester (1 June, 1897).

Hampshire.—(1.) The petty sessional division of Odiham, the parishes of Mortimer West End, Silchester, Bramley, Sherfield-upon-Loddon, Hartley Wespall (including a detached part of this parish lying to the north of the parish of Newnham), Stratfield Turgis, and Stratfield Saye, in the county of Southampton (1 October, 1897).

(2.) The petty sessional divisions of Alton, Winchester, Petersfield (including the detached